We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service is second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If outstanding service is what you are looking for, you won't be disappointed with the Sofitel. From the bell staff to concierge, front desk, to housekeeping, there is a profound emphasis on service. My family stayed at the Sofitel before and after a Disney Cruise and the hotel staff was every bit as attentive as the Disney Crew. It is very near the airport and there is a CVS, a Publix, and several fast food restaurants within walking distance. We ordered Pizza Hut and the delivery driver was allowed to come straight to the room which was very convenient. The pool was too cold for me, but my kids enjoyed it. The grounds are gorgeous. The beds and comforters are among the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation, and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    1,121
    410
    158
    96
See reviews for
781
1,008
215
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pre Cruise we stayed @ Sofitel. is was SO convienent . Their shuttle picks you up at Miami airport and brinhgs you directly to the Hotel. It has been redone and is clean, and very very nice. We relaxed at their pool, had dinner in their French Rrestaurant you can enjoy either outside or inside. Food was very good Service was Excellent!. Next day we had a great breakfast and the bus takes you direcly to the Miami Pier ! We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and it is with great pleasure that I will share your compliments with our Chef and our restaurant ambassadors. At Sofitel, we strive to be known for our fine cuisine and excellent service. Your comments mean a lot to us.

Thank you very much and have a Magnifique day!

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Sofitel is a well run and good value airport hotel. The staffare friendly and well trained and the rooms are clean, a decent size and quiet. For the money, I cannot fault it. We ate both in the hotel (typical of this sort of place - a little over priced but passable) and out, notably at Doral Thai, which is a tenminute cab ride away. All in all a good airport stop-over place. Close to Dolphin Mall too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GeorgeHerbert:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Miami. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to visit different places around the area.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spacious room. Very very good bed and pillows, slept so good. Its very close to miami airport , yet you don't hear anything in the room , which is wonderfull. Nice view of the lagoon and swimming pool from the room. The staff was very helpfull as well as the concierge. There is a free shuttle to the airport. There is also parking which is convinient but is costs extra (9$ p/d) which is reasonable. No breakfast, but they have small Starbucks inside the hotel. I think the bath although it had all the amenities could have been more modern as well as the corridors of the floors which look old.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for making the Sofitel Miami your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Miami. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our quiet and spacious rooms, comfortable beds and beautiful pool by the lagoon.
Breakfast is served daily in our restaurant La Riviera or in room service. We hope you will have the chance to experience our homemade and freshly baked pastries during your next visit.
Please come back to visit again really soon!
Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've been at this hotel for pleasure, business, lunch and receptions. So convenient to the airport and a great place to park your car if you live in Florida and travel abroad, Sofitel offers French ambiance with South Florida cool surroundings. Art Deco styling in the lobby and bar area is signature Miami. The restaurant is very nice and the menu creative.

The rooms are nice but I've stayed in nicer Sofitel rooms and this is where the hotel can aspire to a 5-Star rating by simple refurbishing of hallway carpeting and room decor upgrades.

This is not a knock on this beautiful property but a gentle nudge to see it advance to its full potential.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest. At Sofitel, we strive to demonstrate French Elegance with a touch of our local culture. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience every time you visited.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Prior to our Caribbean cruise earlier this month, my husband and I decided to stay one night in Miami and were referred to the Sofitel Miami through the cruise line. While the hotel is clearly an older building, the amenities were very nice, the staff extremly professional and customer oriented, and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a drink in the lobby bar the night we arrived and found it to be a very pleasant atmosphere. The breakfast buffet the next morning was very good, with a large selection, and again the restaurant staff was very courteous. The only negative I can think to mention is that finding the hotel shuttle at the airport was a bit frustrating, but once we were in the bus, everything else was a breeze. I highly recommend the hotel and if we find ourselves in Miami in the future, we would stay at the Sofitel knowing it will be a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: ask that your room not be directly above the hotel entry - voices travel up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I hope you had a very pleasant cruise in the Caribbean, and thank you very much for staying with us before sailing out.

We strive to be known for a friendly, professional and personalized service. It will be my pleasure to share your compliments with our restaurant and bar team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Mom, girlfriend, sister, brother-in-law and I went on a cruise for my Mom's 60th b-day. Due to the transfers from the airport and to Port of Miami, we (Mom) chose to stay at the Sofitel prior to a cruise to the Bahamas.

The hotel is very close to the airport and only a $20-25 cab fare to downtown Miami. Ultra was in town last weekend when we were there!!! I think all five of us were pleased with the property. If you are expecting beach front then this is not your property. However, there are nice water views and the hotel has a classy feel to it. It was extremely clean and aside from paying $7 for the FIJI water I so desperately needed in the morning after Ultra, I have no complaints! Well...our view from the room was the stucco roof above the restaurant, but our other room had a great view to the front of the hotel...but we were only in the room to sleep.

The concierge and other bellman were awesome. Everyone of the staff members were really friendly. I asked them where the nearest liquor store was and we were driven there and he even came back to pick us up! Of course we took care of him for his gesture :). The bar and restaurant were very nice and the breakfast we enjoyed outside on the patio was outstanding!

I know there are more than enough properties to choose from in Miami, but overall you cannot go wrong at the Sofitel; I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel or if in the backside have a room on one of the higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.