We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best airport vicinity hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Probably the best airport vicinity hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent 1 night there last month when traveling through Miami. Typical Sofitel Hotel ... relatively expensive, nice grounds, well-maintained, good rooms, and excellent breakfast. It was somewhat difficult to find at night when you are driving a rental car in an unfamiliar area, but we made it. Right off the Dolphin Expressway, but you don't notice freeway sounds. Gated parking made you feel your vehicle was secure. Relatively large king room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were great. Staff was friendly and competent. Airport shuttle available. A much better choice than a multiple of cheaper hotels near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear DrLDH:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel Miami on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests, therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    906
    325
    120
    70
See reviews for
618
799
175
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff are all very well trained and anxious to assist.
The food is terrific and the bar and restaurant staff excellent.
It is a conference hotel and can be busy but it is our favourite hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for naming us your favorite hotel in Miami. I will proudly share with our restaurant ambassadors your compliments on the quality of the food and their excellent service.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Best regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Sofitel is NOT a luxury hotel. My room, called suite by the hotel was incredibly disappointing, the bathroom absolutely substandard. No mini bar, no coffee maker in room.
The only nice thing apart from friendly staff are the bar, lounge, pool and restaurant areas.
The entrance, check in área looks very cheap indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami. I am truly sorry to read about your disappointment with the room, bathroom and main lobby. I can assure you that I take your comments very seriously.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust in our product. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation. I will personally ensure your next visit is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the time were were picked up at the airport to the time they took us back, we were treated like special guests. They made our reservations for dinner and even provided a hotel car to take us and pick us up after dinner at no charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We strive to be known for a service tailored to our guests’ needs. I will be honored to personally compliment our ambassadors for anticipating your needs and making your stay so special.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of the properties that I stay at for business. They offer large meeting rooms and smaller rooms for break-out sessions. I like the reception area, the lighting is very inviting. The reception staff is well uniformed and professional. There is a very nice sitting area which can be accessed by stairs or elevator. It has a bar where you can order food and drinks, and on the opposite side are complementary computers. There is free shuttle servce. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Cathy-Ann:

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Miami as your choice of accommodation for all of your business trips. I am very pleased to know that the diversity of size and shape of our meeting rooms is meeting your needs. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our daily candle ritual in the lobby, celebrating the change of light at sunset.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Once again we enjoyed our stay at a Sofitel hotel. Although this hotel appears somewhat older than others we have enjoyed, the hospitality of the staff, cleanliness and amenities were exceptional. No coffee/tea making accomodations in the room, however a coffee pot was delivered quickly when requested. Room service food was very good and very nicely presented. Airport shuttle also much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our amenities and will keep excellent memories of your in-room dining experience.

We truly value your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami. All of our ambassadors are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The refreshing service at this hotel is what will bring us back to stay again. The pool area is a bit tired, but the lake is scenic and the waterfall does a nice job of masking the noise of the nearby runway. The fitness facilty was very clean and well ventilated and the fresh fruit that was a nice touch. The shuttle to the Port of Miami was a nice surprise as we thought we were going to have to call a taxi. We very much enjoyed the art deco and the clean, quiet room. But most of all, we enjoyed the eloquent service. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back, and we will do our very best to ensure that your next visit is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.