We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 130 hotels in Miami
Hamilton, bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“oasis in miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff are all very well trained and anxious to assist.
The food is terrific and the bar and restaurant staff excellent.
It is a conference hotel and can be busy but it is our favourite hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for naming us your favorite hotel in Miami. I will proudly share with our restaurant ambassadors your compliments on the quality of the food and their excellent service.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Best regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    799
    863
    310
    119
    67
See reviews for
582
779
166
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Sofitel is NOT a luxury hotel. My room, called suite by the hotel was incredibly disappointing, the bathroom absolutely substandard. No mini bar, no coffee maker in room.
The only nice thing apart from friendly staff are the bar, lounge, pool and restaurant areas.
The entrance, check in área looks very cheap indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami. I am truly sorry to read about your disappointment with the room, bathroom and main lobby. I can assure you that I take your comments very seriously.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust in our product. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation. I will personally ensure your next visit is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the time were were picked up at the airport to the time they took us back, we were treated like special guests. They made our reservations for dinner and even provided a hotel car to take us and pick us up after dinner at no charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We strive to be known for a service tailored to our guests’ needs. I will be honored to personally compliment our ambassadors for anticipating your needs and making your stay so special.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of the properties that I stay at for business. They offer large meeting rooms and smaller rooms for break-out sessions. I like the reception area, the lighting is very inviting. The reception staff is well uniformed and professional. There is a very nice sitting area which can be accessed by stairs or elevator. It has a bar where you can order food and drinks, and on the opposite side are complementary computers. There is free shuttle servce. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Cathy-Ann:

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Miami as your choice of accommodation for all of your business trips. I am very pleased to know that the diversity of size and shape of our meeting rooms is meeting your needs. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our daily candle ritual in the lobby, celebrating the change of light at sunset.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Once again we enjoyed our stay at a Sofitel hotel. Although this hotel appears somewhat older than others we have enjoyed, the hospitality of the staff, cleanliness and amenities were exceptional. No coffee/tea making accomodations in the room, however a coffee pot was delivered quickly when requested. Room service food was very good and very nicely presented. Airport shuttle also much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our amenities and will keep excellent memories of your in-room dining experience.

We truly value your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami. All of our ambassadors are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The refreshing service at this hotel is what will bring us back to stay again. The pool area is a bit tired, but the lake is scenic and the waterfall does a nice job of masking the noise of the nearby runway. The fitness facilty was very clean and well ventilated and the fresh fruit that was a nice touch. The shuttle to the Port of Miami was a nice surprise as we thought we were going to have to call a taxi. We very much enjoyed the art deco and the clean, quiet room. But most of all, we enjoyed the eloquent service. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back, and we will do our very best to ensure that your next visit is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I love Sofitel hotels and this was no exception. She finds the bests the best she has ever slept in and talks about wanting one for our home. The bar and restaurant here offer excellent food, especially when you have arrived in Miami after a trans-continental flight on an airline where the only food you get is what you buy and you are definitely getting of lesser quality than what you find in airports, especially the new part of San Francisco International. What chilled us was the air conditioning turned up so much that the wait staff in the bar was nearly frozen and we finally the second night we really wanted some snacks taking refuge in our room after walking through what seemed like Miami's equivalent of Siberia in the hallway outside our room's door. (It was only the AC venting air directly on us for about 15 feet after we left, but it was supremely chilly.) I mentioned this problem at the desk on checking out and received a very gracious explanation and apology. They had turned down the AC the night before but it took a great deal of time for the hotel to cool off. If you decide to stay here and you chill easily, be sure to bring extra layers to counter the possibly cold environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Sofitel. It was sincerely an honor to host you during your recent visit to Miami, and I am delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of your stay with us, despite the chilly temperatures we recently experienced in South Florida.

The Sofitel “MyBed” concept is essential to the image of our brand, and I am very pleased to inform you that most of our bedding is available online to enjoy in the comfort of your home. Please visit our “Soboutique” website.

We hope to welcome you again really soon!

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.