We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 129 hotels in Miami
Eastport, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were booked here for a night , pre cruise stay. Very well appointed room, clean and well stocked. Staff was very plesant and efficent. Dining was very nice as well. For just one night was a very good accomidaton. Was close to airport & cruise ships.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Jim:

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Sofitel in Miami, and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    896
    317
    120
    68
See reviews for
609
790
172
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were rather disappointed in this hotel which has seen better days. It was clean and the staff at breakfast was pleasant, but our room certainly was banged up and in need of renovation. It did not match up to my expectation based on other Sofitel visits. Worked OK for one night transit from airport, but there are better options nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sofitel Guest:

We are very thankful for your loyalty to Sofitel, and I am extremely disappointed to learn that your experience in Miami did not meet the Sofitel’s high standards of quality you are so familiar with. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. When your travel plans bring you back to Miami, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will personally ensure that your next stay with us exceeds all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barataria, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel since 2007, and will continue to do so once its available when I am in Miami. It's close to the Miami International Airport, mostly quiet. French Restaurant, bar, Room Service (excellent - 24hrs), Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport. For those interested in shopping, Dolphin Mall has a shuttle that does a return trip several times during the day for a very, very reasonable price. Dadeland Mall is close by and a us$20-$30 (one way) cab ride away.

From the moment you walk into the Lobby (or if you are picked up at the airport) to when you check out - its warm, friendly service. The staff are willing to assist with any request or difficulty you may have. The toiletries are divine -this trip it was L'Occitane bath products.
I have allergies to feathers and wool - the room was de-feathered upon request at no extra cost. I did not have any allergy issues.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Flat screen television, floor to ceiling windows, lounge area, spacious toilet & bath.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side overlook Blue Lagoon and the southern runway of Miami International Airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are extremely thankful for your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami and truly appreciate you took the time to share your satisfaction on TripAdvisor. I hope to have the pleasure of personally meeting you during your next visit. Please do not hesitate to ask for me.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel conveniently located close to MIAMI airport. Warm friendly welcome from all staff who showed a Can-Do attitude and were always attentive. Concierge service is outstanding and the bell hops are always willing to drop you at nearby locations, offices or restaurants free of charge, which was amazing and definitely a value added service. Comfortable lounge and bar area with a coffee and pastry shop in the lobby. Rooms are well appointed, clean and tidy with good sized bathrooms, desk with free Wi-Fi and a Chaise longue that looks good but is actually uncomfortable and would prefer a traditional armchair! Bed is comfortable but pillows aren’t great, but that’s a personal choice. Breakfast is menu based and served at your table, which is unusual on most large hotels where buffet style breakfast seems to be the norm. I was surprised that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, unusual for U.S hotels, but one call to housekeeping and a coffee machine was placed in the room, which was fine. Complimentary bottles of water were replenished every day. Mostly a business hotel Monday thru Friday and then a cruise ship transit point at weekends. Pool area looked fine, albeit was raining during my visit! Stayed 3 nights on business and would strongly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon - Higher floors provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay with us. On your behalf, I will proudly recognize our concierges and bellmen for their dedication to customer service and can-do attitude.

Please do not hesitate to contact our housekeeping department during your next visit. They will gladly offer you a selection of different pillows in order for you to fully enjoy the Sofitel MyBed concept.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with a group of eighteen headed on a mission trip. The check-in was easy. The hotel is pretty and our room was situated over looking a small lake. We arrived just in time to see a beautiful sunset. The bedding is fabulous. I can't say for sure if this was the cause, but nine of us got sick with symtoms of food poisoning. The French restaurant there was the only place we all ate together that day. Who knows-maybe we all caught a stomach flu that had nothing to do with the food. Would surely stay at this hotel again, but would be leary of the food next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

the room was average and not that appealing. The price was a good deal. Stayed there on the outbound and on the return at the close by Hilton which is MUCH nicer.
Airport bus is only every 1/2 hr. (free).
Room faced the runway and was very noisy.

Room Tip: see above re. room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for making the Sofitel your choice of accommodation during one of your recent visits to Miami. I sincerely regret that you did not have the opportunity to experience the Luxury service we strive to be known for. Please allow me to express my deepest apologies.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next reservation. I will personally make sure that you receive a quiet room facing the lagoon and away from the airport. Our relationship with our guests is of up most importance to us.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.