We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bathrobe or slippers provided as per norm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    980
    340
    126
    74
See reviews for
675
861
190
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We tried to check in early and were told 3pm is the earliest check in, we had a walk round the hotel and felt on 1st observations this hotel needs a makeover, we went shopping and came back at 4pm, checked in and given our room key, the room was dated, smelt stale, basic furniture, couldnt open the window to allow fresh air in, the killer was when my wife picked up a pillow and smelt it...yuuk!
Did'nt remove the pillow case as we were scared as to what it might hide.

Other areas of the hotel were dirty which showed a lack of supervision and attention to detail.

The bar down stairs leading out to the pool was a mess, the touch screen till was filthy and I mean filthy, wonder what a swab of that screen would show up?, I dread to think, the bar area floor was dirty with bits of debris and food on the floor,we asked to see the manager and explained that the hotel was not up to the usual Sofitel standards we have come to expect, he agreed and said the hotel is in line for refurbishment sometime in the future, well until that takes place I for one will not be giving them my custom.

Used my i-pad and checked into The Epic Hotel Downtown.

A little more expensive but a 100 times better!!!!!

I will write a rview on my great experience at the Epic shortly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read about your disappointments and your detailed observations. We are always thankful for constructive feedback as it helps us to improve upon our high standards for quality, and I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss some of your comments in order to prevent any future occurrence.

I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at H0889@sofitel.com at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here one night back in 2008 and returned early this year (2013) for one night when in town for the BCS championship. Great proximity to Miami airport with free shuttle. Room was in great condition, very clean. Bed was super comfortable - wish I could have taken it with me! Really though what makes this hotel great is the service. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. The in hotel Starbucks is a perfect convenience and the pool atmosphere is really nice, with a good view of the Lagoon. For the price, this hotel exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lagoon/pool area so you don't have to look out onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It was sincerely a pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Miami for the BCS championship. We hope you enjoyed the game.

The Sofitel “MyBed” concept provides the ultimate sleeping experience as a soft cocoon of fluffy feathers envelops your body. Most of our bedding is available online to enjoy in the comfort of your home. Please visit our “Soboutique” website.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at Sofitel before our cruise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room needs updating but the best part of our stay were the oh so comfortable beds which we needed after long flight! The breakfast buffet was overpriced and mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us before embarking on your cruise. I am really sorry to hear that the buffet breakfast we offer occasionally on weekends did not meet your expectations. We will immediately take the necessary measures with our Executive Chef to review quality standards and ensure consistency.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and our entire team stands at your service with any special request you may have.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels around MIA since we travel extensively. We were pleasantly surprised with our entire experience at Sofitel, just a short 7-8 minute ride from the airport. Polite and prompt shuttle service, followed by very professional, well trained and friendly front desk clerks especially Priscilla who went beyond the call of duty in getting us checked in and helping with our long-term parking. We enjoyed an awesome dinner as well as a great breakfast buffet the following morning. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip passing thru Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I can assure you that I will personally recognize Priscilla for her exceptional dedication to customer service. We are very proud to have her in our team as a true Ambassador to the Sofitel Miami.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This airport hotel is more a *** than **** hotel and definitely no ***** hotel, which is what the brand sells so often. The rooms need renovation, the service is mediocre, not comparable to European Sofitel standards.
The hotel shuttle from the airport did not work out either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Miami. I am truly sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

The quality of our service is of up most importance to us. Therefore, I would really appreciate if you could please take a couple of minutes from your busy agenda to e-mail me at H0889@sofitel.com with more details regarding the challenges you encountered during your stay. This will help me better understand what happened in order to anticipate any future occurrence.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#29 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.