We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    1,134
    414
    161
    99
See reviews for
794
1,018
218
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The service was outstanding, and while the lobby area was nice and the service outstanding, this hotel is far from most things except the airport and Dolphin Mall (which is worth a trip). It is far from any decent public transportation that we could find so we spent a lot on cab fare. There is no recycling in the rooms so even though i sorted paper, plastic, bottles, etc I think it just went into one pile of garbage :( The internet is pricey as is the food. No coffee makers in the rooms which force you to spend more money. The pool is ok - not as nice as the pictures - smaller and things are a bit aging in parts of the hotel, including the pool. However, I must reiterate how amazing the staff are - service was outstanding!

Room Tip: choose one facing the lagoon, not the skyline (which is actually the parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us. I can assure you that I take your comments and concerns very seriously.

Our concierge will gladly make recommendations on the different transportation modes available based on your destination. Please feel free to contact him at any time during your next visit.

Also, we offer Lite wireless internet access for basic browsing at no charge. Only the faster connection with our Enhanced wireless internet access has a fee. You should have been informed of both services upon your arrival. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future, and our entire team stands at your service to ensure that your next stay at the Sofitel Miami is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked online and received a 23% discount for a superior king room and was able to pay at that time. A single overnight near the airport at a hotel with a shuttle. The shuttle was a bit of a wait then when we arrived at the hotel there were several guests ahead of us checking in. As soon as "our" ambassador, Priscilla, was available she came over and retrieved us from the melee. I must say from that moment on the experience became excellent. Priscilla was very quick and efficient at finding our reservation and acknowledged that we had paid in full but that just in case additional charges were incurred we must leave a credit card at the front desk. OK. Standard procedure. She directed us to the wonderful restaurant, LA RIVIERA. The restaurant was excellent, quiet for dinner and efficient - not overly so. Food was fresh and well prepared tho' we only had several appetisers and a glass of wine since the next day would be very early and long flights and big meals prior don't really work for us. Priscilla also check with transportation regarding our early return to the airport and made sure we understood the schedule or would we prefer a taxi. We accepted the shuttle and it was right on time. She scheduled us a wake up call and then a 15 minuted check up call after the initial wake up. When we got to the room we found it to be quite to our liking, clean, spacious, efficient and I must say the bed was quite oppulent...probably one of those "heavenly" beds. We both slept very well for the short time we had. I would certainly stay with this crowd again.

Room Tip: We booked online and prepaid for a discount and got exactly what we asked for. We overlooked the Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. At Sofitel Miami, we strive to be known for the quality of our service and, we are really proud to have Priscilla in our team, as a true ambassador to our hotel. It is with great pleasure that I will personally recognize her on your behalf for her dedication to customer service and passion for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you a Magnifique New Year 2013.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise from Port Miami. Excellently located close enough to MIA but didn't experience the aircraft noise mentioned by some people. Typically excellent America service, always with a smile and nothing to much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff. Well positioned for some pre-cruise shopping at the nearby Dolphin Mall with a handy shuttle service for only $10 and $5 for kids to and from the Mall. Nice little touches all over the hotel, from complementary water and coffee machines in room to the fresh olives and bar snacks with drinks. Additional benefit of shuttles to and from Cruise Port make this a perfect venue for the non-packaged traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction with your stay at the Sofitel Miami. We are working diligently to ensure that all of our guests leave with good memories. I am sincerely happy to know that we were able to surpass your expectations. Please come back to visit us again really soon.

Our entire team is joining me to wish you a very happy New Year!

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked here after missing a flight and were happy with everything. It was clean and close to the airport. Everyone was very friendly. Only thing that we would have liked is a coffee maker in the room, but beyond that we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to mention your preference for a coffee maker at the time of reservation. Our Front Office ambassadors stand also at your service with any request you may have.

With all my best wishes for the New Year,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a day room here as we arrived from a cruise in the morning and our flight to the UK wasn’t until 8pm that evening.

Check in was quick. Our room was spacious, well equipped and clean. However, there were areas within the room and elsewhere around the hotel that definitely require refurbishment.

The pool area was lovely but there weren’t many loungers.

The complimentary airport shuttle runs every 30 minutes most of the day.

All in all this hotel was ideal for our requirements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
When availability allows us, we gladly offer day rooms to our guests with long lay-over at Miami Airport. I am delighted to know that we were able to accommodate your request and that you enjoyed your day with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit for an overnight stay next time you are in Miami.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,496 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
#39 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.