We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to relax in before or after a long flight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 129 hotels in Miami
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Hotel to relax in before or after a long flight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The pool area was not taken care of in the best way. E.g. The chair towels were not changed after use of a guest, only folded back on the chair.
The dinner was excellent as well as the dining room service. The "SoQuick" breakfirst was well designed.
The suite was nice and the bed very comfortable.
The airport shuttle function much better now compared to one year ago when it was difficult to know where at the airport the bus could be entered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for making the Sofitel your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Miami. The pool towels should have been changed after each use. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and will immediately address the issue with our Director of Housekeeping in order to better coach our ambassadors.
Thank you also for your compliments on our SoQuick breakfast, very convenient for our guests on the go.

Best regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    891
    317
    120
    68
See reviews for
606
787
172
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadillac, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was very convenient to the Miami Intn'l Airport and the bed was comfortable. However, The rooms could do with a little sprucing up. New coat of paint and carpet would go a long way. Even in the hallways the carpet looks a little wore out. The lobby area and bar are really nicely appointed. The pool area is very nice and comfortable. The work out room was adequate for a quick work out to work out the kinks. Consierge service was very helpful. Overall I didn't feel that the room was worth what they charged. The bathroom tile was very worn and the door and vanity were scratched and dented. Like I said if they would do just a little updating it would really be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We truly value the feedback of our valued guests as it allows us to continue to improve each day. We have recently renovated some of our bathrooms and are planning other projects for the upcoming months.

We hope you will visit the Sofitel Miami again soon.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for a few nights before our Caribbean cruise and whilst it is a distance from the hotspots of Miami it is a beautiful hotel and the standard of service is exceptional.
What you lose out on with location is made up for with the cost saving which is significant compared to SoBe prices.
We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us before embarking on your cruise. We were delighted to host you while in Miami and hope to have the pleasure of your visit again very soon.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is close to the airport, although there is a trafic Jam around.the early check-in is more than 70% of a day, so it is better to book a extra day. Very comfortable and quiet. The parking lot is very cheap, it is around 7 dollars per day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We truly appreciate that you took the time to write this review following your recent stay with us. When availability allows us, we gladly extend complimentary early check-in after 11am or at a small fee of $50 between 6am and 11am. Please feel free to contact our Front Office Manager who will gladly explain the different options available upon your arrival.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here with our family of four after long intercontinental flight. Hotel is located just 10min drive of the airport. Hotel has all the services you need for a short stay: bellboy, concierge, shuttle, starbucks, bar, a la carte restaurant, gym, pool etc. Room was clean and beds were awesome. Had a little snack at the bar which was okay but I truly recommend a la carte breakfast which was good. Only minus is that the pool outside is not heated. Otherwise everything was as it supposed to be.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you and your family were able to enjoy some well-deserved rest after traveling for so long. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The room is very plain; internet wifi was hard to get along with since it went on and off frequently + an extra password was needed for my wife!!
The hotel also charges $9/day for parking and $5/package received thru mail - I just hate when hotels need to make money on such basic things/services that you'd expect from a regular international hotel. Ok, if we were in downtown NY, Paris or Rome I'd understand the parking issue/lack of space but we are in Florida and the parking outside, was never full!!
There is also no buffet breakfast option, a la carte options are not cheap and if you are in a hurry, just give up because it is going to take forever to get your breakfast.............

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above 6th floor or else you will end up seeing vents and the roof!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have reviewed your concerns and can assure you that I take them very seriously.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the lack of service you may have experienced during breakfast. We have immediately taken the necessary measures to address the situation with our Restaurant Manager in order to prevent any future occurrence.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.