We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 129 hotels in Miami
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Sofitel Miami is still a very good hotel. It was my third or fourth time at the hotel. It's near the airport, it has a very friendly staff and nice rooms. Maybe it is because I'm a LeClub Accor Platinum member, but everytime I checked in, there's always a bottle of a nice water, some breads and fancy cheese waiting for me in the room. No big deal, but in the end, this kind of stuff make us feel more comfortable. Plus, the hotel has one of the best and most comfy beds I've ever sleeped in. I'll definitely come back any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Bruno C:

Thank you very much for your membership to our Le Club loyalty Program. We truly value your fidelity to Sofitel and are delighted to know that you enjoyed the cheese amenity, a “French touch” offered to our platinum members.

The comfort of our guests is also extremely important to us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    895
    317
    120
    68
See reviews for
609
790
172
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Most hotels try for Excellence, at SOFITEL guests can experience true EXCELLENCE and superior service. Fadil goes above and beyond to ensure all your needs are met. Staff is always warm friendly and smile all the time too. for now on I am only staying here...a 5 star experience indeed...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for, and it is with great pleasure that I will personally recognize Fadil for his dedication to customer service and passion for excellence. He is a true ambassador to the Sofitel Miami.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I sped one night in this hotel with my wife during our trip from NYC to mexico. Very nice hotel, close to the airport, clean rooms and nice hotel stuff. The only thing which I didn't like - outside pool, it had some leafs and so on, so I didn't try it it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ivan:

Thank you very much for staying with us on your way to Mexico. We truly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay, and I can assure you that we have already taken all the necessary measures to prevent any future occurrence. We hope you will be back soon and that you will be able to fully enjoy our pool by the lagoon.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What can we say? After two sleepless nights we just had to leave.

Ok, i accept that we arrived at a bad time, with a whole load of flight cancellations due to Sandy and the start of the cruise season, the hotel was very busy and we found ourselves with a corner room overlooking MIA runway (24/7). Some of the heavies actually made the fittings shake when taking off!

That aside, the room was large, nicely fitted with a recently refurbished bathroom.

Staff were really very friendly and helpful. Menu a little disappointing and could use a facelift, perhaps offering dishes also for the less sophisticated. Shuttle bus would benefit from better frequency.

Room Tip: If you stay and want to sleep, ask for a room on the lagoon. The runway is still there, but the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Dave Y:

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. As a property in close proximity to the airport, we are unable to completely avoid the noise. However, as you recommended, rooms on a lower floor and on the South side of the building can be quieter. Please feel free to mention your preference when making your next reservation. Our reservation agents will make sure your request is fulfilled.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Miami and stand at your service.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A convenient treatmet by the staff, big rooms, close to the airport, good value, nice view of the Blue Lagoon, silent and quite, shuttle to the airport, near Dolphin Outlets, easy access to downtow/southbeach (avoid traffic peak hours).

Room Tip: Blue Lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Cencecegana:

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Miami and the beautiful view on the Lagoon.

Our relationship with our guests is utmost important to us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

It's a very good hotel , but abuses for its proximity to the airport. The food is extremely expensive. The rooms are very good and big, the mattress was very good that was thankful after 12 hours delay at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our soft beds and spacious rooms.

We offer a large selection of dining options with different price range at our restaurant "La Riviera", our lounge "Le Bar" and other outlets. Please do not hesitate to stop by our concierge desk at any time during your next visit. They will gladly explain all the menus available, and our Executive Chef stands at your service with any special request you may have.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here after we missed our connection with American Airlines. American airlines paid for the room and meal. The lobby was grand, the staff were great, but our room made me feel like I was in a random motel 6. The ceilings are low and claustrophobic. The room smelled like horrible A/C mildew. The tiles were popping off the shower wall and floor. We had about 5 hours to sleep and shower and I'm glad that was it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I take your comments very seriously and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the smell in your room. We are inspecting all our air conditioning units on a regular basis, and I can assure you that it is not related to mildew as we are taking all the necessary preventive measures. We will immediately investigate any other possible source.

Our relationship with our guests is extremely important to us, and it is our hope that you will give us the privilege to better serve you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance during your next visit.

With all my best regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.