We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to go Back to Sofitel Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hutchinson Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait to go Back to Sofitel Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We live in Florida and always look forward to staying at the Sofitel before and after our flights. Price is reasonable, Rooms are wonderful, staff is super friendly and helpful, food at bar was great (late night great sandwiches, appetizers, etc. and restaurant was fantastic for breakfast. Mother's Day Brunch was so fabulous that we decided just to stay overnight in the future just to enjoy the facility and great food. This is one of the most reasonable and elegant places to stay in Miami. You do need a car to tour since this hotel is five minutes from the airport and not near South Beach, etc. Noise from planes was not an issue. This is one of the finest hotels we have stayed in because of their service and proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    1,125
    410
    159
    96
See reviews for
782
1,011
216
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san carlos, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Have stayed at this propertly on serveral occasions as the location is close to the airport and office that I need to visit. The decor is nice, service is friendly however the overal hotel needs a massive makeover. There gym is small but has decent amount of equipment however it is not maintained properly (machines that stick, missing dumbells...). Have ordered room service a number of times the food if very good, however pricing is expensive and is difficult to expense as they break out each tax, delivery fee seperatly on your bill (kind of highlights how they nickle and dime you on the meals). Also one pet peeve of mine is no coffee maker in the room, its hard to face the world without my morning cup. Overall this hotel does have the amentities and great service that supports a 4 star rating but there are much nicer choices out there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Close to airport. Super chic. Great atmosphere. Great value. Rooms were modern. Food was great. Pool area fantastic. Don't let exterior fool you, this place is modern and happening

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed in Sofitel Miami for 2 nights and I had a wonderful experience! The service is first class, starting from the concierge, to the bar staff, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is delicious and good price. Service is definetely FIRST CLASS....Great place to relax and enjoy a weekend in Miami!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel looks better in the pictures on the website than in reality. The rooms need updating. Our room had a weird smell, the carpet looked like it was 20 years old, there was no coffee maker in the room, and the furniture was pretty worn. There were no beverage machines in the hotel at all (most hotels have them by the ice machines on each floor). If you wanted pop, juice or bottled water, etc you had to go to the lobby and purchase those items from the little store. It was expensive and not open 24 hours. Outside at the pool, all the chairs were cushioned, and they looked old and soiled. The pool furniture was old and had duct tape around the arms of the chaise lounges were they were broken -- I guess I should give them kudos for at least using brown tape that matched the color of the chairs. If you're looking for a 'luxury' hotel, this isn't it, even though they call it that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My daughter and I had an overnight flight, and after being less than satisfied with other airport hotels in the past (especially in the Miami area) we were not really holding our breath on this one. What a pleasant surprise the Sofitel turned out to be. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like celebrities. Our luggage was whisked away at the door and ended up in our room shortly after ( Bell man service seems to have dissappeared at other airport hotels!). Front desk staff was excellent at both checking in and out. Special kudos to the concierge on duty, he allowed my daugther to play with the "marimba" on his desk, with a big smile on his face. She is just beginning to learn French and was thrilled to be addressed as"madmoiselle"
We ended up having a light dinner in our room, yet when it arrived, the tray contained not only the tasty foods we had ordered but also a nice selection of bread and even a pretty orchid.
Thank you Sofitel staff for making our stay so special evenn tough we were there for only an overnight visit. In the future the Sofitel will be our hotel in Miami!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before joining a cruise the following day. We arrived at the hotel from Heathrow at what would have been around 3am our time. Can't fault the hotel except that there was a wedding/ party on and the noise was horrendous, just what you need when you need sleep. I asked the receptionist the next morning about the noise and she said that this is the norm for the hotel. I then said that it should not be used as an airport hotel with people flying in from many different time zones. Our room overlooked the pool, I am unsure as to whether there is a quiet side.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.