We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Bourbonnais, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel one night prior to our cruise. Arrangements were made through norwegian cruise line. We paid $200. It is very close to the airport but the planes really didnt bother us. While the hotel was nice, I would not consider it a "luxury hotel" as it claims. All Staff we encountered were quite nice and efficient. The public areas, ie bar and seating area, restaraunt, and pool area (while small), were quite nice. The rooms themselves were fine, but nothing more spectacular than your newer Holiday Inn or Best Western. Would stay again if our purpose was the same. To me, this was an expensive hotel, but I really have no idea what a nice hotel in Miami should go for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    972
    337
    125
    74
See reviews for
670
854
189
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Good shuttle service- easy check-in. Got in late and left early, but no complaints other than kind of noisy neighbors in the morning. Staff was very personable and friendly. Really liked the restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Sofital Miami twice this month. We chose it because its convenient to the Miami International Airport, and we've had good experiences with Sofital hotels in the past.

Our first night at the Sofital in Miami was not great. Not awful. But not what we expected from past stays at this hotel. The room, though clean, was on a lower floor and needed to be updated. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. We ordered steaks, medium rare. They arrived tough and gray with a few limp vegetables on the side.

I sent an email to the Manager of the hotel, expressing my dissatisfaction, and I got a nice reply, thanking me for my feedback.

When I returned two nights ago, I was given a beautiful room on the 15th floor, nicely renovated. We had dinner at the same restaurant, and this time, we ordered scallops and mahi mahi. They were delicious! I wish they had a better wine list for wine by the glass. I ended up paying $21 for one glass of wine because the wine by the glass offerings were pretty bad,but that said, the restaurant and the hotel are back on my list of places to stay when i'm passing through Miami. I will, however, always ask for a renovated room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Outstanding service from the bus shuttle feb.03/2012 from the airport to the miami sofitel hotel.The staff at the front desk are so helpfull and friendly.The rooms are very nice and the beds are like sleeping on a cloud.The hotel is so nice from the rooms to the lounge area,pool area,restaurant everything was outstandind.Also on feb.03/2012 the winnipeg jets were playing in miami and we are from winnipeg.The hotel made arrangements for travel that night to and from the game for 10 of us.For a fee that was a lot cheaper then taking 3-cabs to and from the game.That was just great.Then on feb.04/2012 we checked out they had a bus to take are group of 18 and luggage to the carnival cruise line for a small fee.Because i was thinking how are we going to get this large group of people and all this luggage to the carnival pier.The miami sofitel hotel had everything under control this was not the first time they had to deal with a large group of people and luggage.Would i reccommend the miami sofitel hotel?Right away in a heart beat.The next time i go to miami i will be staying at the miami sofitel hotel*****Just Outstanding*****Thank's,Mr.Gauthier,Winnipeg,Manitoba.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield Uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We came off our cruise ship at 9am & our flight home to the UK wasn't until 9pm. we booked a dayroom at the Sofitel & were so glad we did ! It gave us an extra days holiday rather than hanging around the airport or trudging round a shopping mall with our luggage. We arrived at 9.30am & although check-in was 10am the lovely receptionist Justine gave us our room straightaway along with info about the pool, bar, restaurant etc.
The room was fine for an airport hotel & the bathroom was spacious & plenty of nice toiletries.
The pool area was pleasant with comfy padded loungers, tables & chairs & canopied day beds.
There was no bar service at the pool but the lobby bar was just a few steps away as was the restaurant with indoor & terrace seating.
We had a lovely relaxing day by the pool, a good lunch & aroom to shower & change before leaving for the airport on the hotel's free shuttle which arrived bang on time.
We have never booked a dayroom before but it was worth every penny of the £70/$107 we paid & we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Massachussetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Booked Sofitel when our travel from the Caribbean to Boston required a Miami overnight. Greatly exceeded the "in airport" options at similar price. The staff has customer-service to a tea...all with a Francais Flair. Lovely room, restaurant, and attentive front desk. An easy 4:30 AM shuttle back to the airport. Some airport noise overnight.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I used to stay here all the time but haven't been to Miami recently and was a little wary to stay here seeing as some of the reviews say it's a little run down and it'd been a few years so thought it might have been. We got a great deal, however and it was only night so we took the chance and weren't disappointed. I requested a room where no pets or smoke had been present since I have allergies - so I'm not sure if this helped, but our room was very clean and the furniture did not look worn. Bed was amazing. We had a partial view of the airport - I'm a light sleeper - and was not disturbed by the planes. The staff's great, the free airport shuttle a bonus (although most hotels within the area offer this). And the $10 roundtrip shuttle to Dolphin mall was also good for us (although other hotels in the area also offer this).
I only recommend for a short time because if you're actually visiting Miami, you'll probably want to stay in a different area, closer to hotspots like the beach and downtown, but if you want to stay close to the airport and some of the bigger malls and aren't looking to do much while in town, stay here! We also didn't have a car, but if you had one there are many areas within driving distance worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.