We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Nights Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #31 of 131 hotels in Miami
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Nights Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a cruise. As usual the Sofitel beds are the best. The hotel itself is trendy and clean. We didn't eat in the hotel, just grabbed coffees from the Starbucks downstairs in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    764
    824
    286
    123
    65
See reviews for
525
713
153
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed one night following a cruise- the hotel is very convenient to the airport, and they were gracious to allow us to check in to our room quite early. The hotel isn't fancy- and even a little tired. That said, the staff were very friendly, the room was clean, nice amenities (L'Occitane), comfy bed, and the airport noise wasn't a bother for us. The concierge arranged a one day car rental for us, and what was supposed to be a 15 minute wait for the shuttle to take us to our car ended up being an hour, which was annoying. As others have reported, the airport shuttle was also a little loose in terms of its schedule - it was supposed to come every 30 minutes, but that seems more like an aspiration. And given how many people and bags they jam onto each van, it's more like an hourly shuttle. We ended up taking a cab for $15- money well spent in my mind, and definitely eased the stress of transitioning to the airport.

The highlight of our stay was by far the dinner we had - the food was just outstanding- as was the service. It very much exceeded our expectations for an airport hotel, and more than made up for the issues I mentioned above. The food was interesting, well prepared, the bread was made in house, and the staff were very professional- it's not cheap, but was such a nice surprise that we didn't mind the expense at all. The food easily competed with the food we had during our pre-cruise stay at the Ritz Carlton in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed hotel. The the porters were very helpful indeed especially Ricardo. Would recommend. Myself and partner enjoyed stay. Even helped to get us to the airport on time.

Room Tip: Lovely clean bedrooms. Very good room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed one overnight at this hotel en route to Haiti. I actually didn't choose it myself, but was traveling with others who made the choice. First, the shuttle didn't seem to come all that frequently. I waited 30 minutes-plus for it. Check-in was quite easy though as an Accor member they had me wait at the desk for a welcome letter which was really nothing more than that, so it seemed like a bit of a waste. The room was not great. Not super clean (pillows on the bed had visible stains on them). The carpet was old. Overall it was just a bit run down. Toiletries were nice though. The worst part, is unlike some other MIA airport hotels, you were literally on the back of the airfield. I didn't sleep more than a few hours. The hotel wasn't that cheap so I suspect you can find better deals else where near the airport where you will actually be able to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in transit on our way from Los Angeles to our home in Curacao. I saw that this hotel offered an airport shuttle, and knowing that Sofitels were "nicer" hotels, I booked it, considering it was only $180 and the Red Roof Inn was $150! First, we waited for an hour at the airport, at the hotel shuttle curb and the Sofitel shuttle never came. We then paid a $20 cab to drive us there, and upon informing the front desk that the shuttle never came, he said, "that can't be!" Anyway, that was annoying, but not enough to say it was a "bad" hotel.

The lobby was nice and the pool in the back was cool as well; with a large waterfall-type-thing. However, the restaurant is pretty bad (we're not picky eaters!), and Sofitel, the place seemed to just be falling apart: crown moldings were coming off, some wires were hanging in the hallway by the elevator, the carpets looked dirty - it just wasn't what we expected. On a positive note, the bed was reeeeeally comfortable and the black-out curtains are nice. All in all, you'd be much better off paying $150 to stay at the Marriott or Hilton MIA.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Just recently stayed at this hotel for one night before flying out to the caribbean. We checked in late at night and was shown to a nice room. However there was a really bad smell in the room that wouldnt not go away! As this was in the middle of the night i didnt want to go down to check in and find another room. I told the manager the following day and to be fair they gave me a big discount on the price i paid.

Apart from that the hotel is beautiful and near to everything in Miami and obvioulsy the airport!

Would recommend and would definately stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything about the hotel is amazing except the rooms. The first room I was put in had more scuff marks and stains then any hotel room I'd ever been to. And I've been inside too many. The furnishings from the bathroom counter to the desk lamp were rusty, dilapidated, or falling apart. The room also lacked all the standard hotel room amenities.

Front desk moved me to another room that actually felt like a hotel room. Like someone actually took care of it. Unfortunately, the room layouts are cold and unforgiving. Looks like the hotel spent some money trying to update the look and failed miserably. A big, fat F on interior design... said the designer.

The lobby, restaurants, meeting facilities, outdoor pool and gym are all on the level of great or outstanding. Even more outstanding is the hotel's quality of customer service. The best I've come across in quite some time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport
Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.