We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near airport and cruise port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #34 of 130 hotels in Miami
olympia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place near airport and cruise port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Ten minutes from Miami airport and twenty minutes to cruise port. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Arrived at hotel early and they did their best to get us in our room by 10:am. Flew all night so that was a real treat. They make arrangements to travel to cruise port, which was handy. Walking distance to a couple real good restaurants, (Chinese and Italian), plus grocery store. Even though next to the airport, was not noisy at all.
Customer service was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    826
    885
    315
    125
    71
See reviews for
579
772
162
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itu, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Excelent, I always use this Hotel when I am in Miami

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, DF, Brazil
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My son and I needed a hotel near Miami International Airport and the Sofitel was very convenient. All the employees at the hotel were very helpful and polite. The rooms could be in better conditions; the carpet was a bit worn but the bathroom was very clean and working just fine. There is free parking available and shuttle to and from the airport. I would definitely stay there again; by the way, it was my son's second time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The staff and dining were great, as is the location. We did walk to stores and a small mall. There are convenient shuttles to malls and South Beach which is nice. The hotel is older than photos would have you believe and does show wear, like grime around the windows. For that reason, I do believe the price is high.

The bed was broken! Surely, they will fix that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have been staying at the Sofitel Miami several times a year over the last decade. The reason I keep going back is because of their fluffy down bedding, flat screen tv, airport shuttle service and familiarity. The Sofitel is far more airport hotel than luxury hotel, but this is reflected in their rates. Over the years their shuttle has downgraded and the rooms are getting close to being in need of an upgrade. There are not many shops/restaurants in the vicinity and eating/drinking in the hotel can quickly add up to more than your room. They are very good about accommodating late check out requests. The worst change has been in their loyalty program, the old program was great, they knew I was a frequent visitor, provided quick check-in at the concierge, frequent room upgrades, and a free drink coupon. Since the change to A Club they have now forgotten I am a frequent visitor and decided to not transfer any points to the new program, so I have decided it is time to check out the competition after a decade of loyalty.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade over looking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMiami, Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear A/Club member:

We truly value your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami and would appreciate the opportunity to review your membership status and make the necessary arrangements for you to receive the benefits you are entitled to. At your convenience, please contact me directly at 305.264.4888 or pierre.jotterand@sofitel.com. It will be my pleasure to personally assist you.

With all my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered,

Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed here along with my niece, mother and sister ( we shared 2 rooms) as we were waiting t take a cruise the following day. Rooms were a bit dated and the beds were OK. The rest of the hotel was beautiful and the location was fantastic. Included in our room rate was transfers from the airport, as well as to the Port Of Miami the next day and breakfast in their restaurant. All of which was wonderful, convenient and well organized. The staff was wonderful also. Would definitely stay here again for the same purpose.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our one year wedding anniversary before flying out of miami international airport. Our room was beautiful and when we arrived they had champagne, a sampling of desserts, and fresh flowers for us! The style was very sheek and the bed was comfortable with a down comforter which gave it a European feel. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We also dined at the hotel restaurant, La Riveria, and were pleasantly surprised with delicious french fare and at such a good price. It was also sleek yet romantic. We dined outside, the seating was comfortable and the waterfall from the pool made for nice background noise. The service at the restaurant was exceptional. Overall a very pleasant stay. My husband and I plan to stay here again when we travel throught MIA. Thanks Sofitel for a memorable anniversary!

Room Tip: We had a city view which was spectacular. We were able to watch the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.