We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, and Accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 NW 21st Street, Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Thomaston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, and Accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As a Starwood Preferred Guest I am quite used to their product. This hotel is great for quick overnights close to the airport. The shuttle service was on time and well run. The rooms were clean and amenities plentiful. The restaurant served decent food quite late which was appreciated since by arrival was delayed by storms. Due to storms and several delayed planes, several people arrived at the same time. The staff processed the line of people quickly and professionally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonW338, General Manager at Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We were delighted to read your review and so pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Jon K. Wubbena, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    788
    322
    101
    54
See reviews for
546
472
155
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean hotel and good experience. One employee who went above and beyond was Cecilia Suarez at Sheraton Miami. Sheraton should be very proud to have an associate Like Cecilia working for them. Overall we had a great experience at the this property. Clean rooms, helpful staff. Great food!. This a great Sheraton restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonW338, General Manager at Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and appreciate your recognition of our associates. I will share your comments with our teams and especially with Claudia from our restaurant. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jon K. Wubbena, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It took a full 20 minutes before the ice cold water in the shower at the Sheraton Miami got a little bit warm. Forgiveable, but wasteful.

The air conditioning here didn't work at all. I kept setting it lower and lower throughout the night, hoping for any relief from the hot, humid and very stuffy room. Couldn't get a breeze from outside either - the windows don't open.

Don't stay here if you're an asthmatic!

In the morning, I told someone at the desk the A/C didn't work - and she said they know, the whole building's A/C has been broken for days. She said she was sorry and they're working on it. Honestly it really would have been nice to know that when I was checking in - I would have opted for another hotel or sleeping at the airport.

Then she charged me for a couple of local calls.
Fab!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonW338, General Manager at Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience but it is apparent in this case that we fell short. We apologize for the deficiencies you encountered and hope that you will us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jon K. Wubbena, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our stay here was for 1 night, we had flown in from Orlando and we drove the next day to the keys so that we could enjoy the scenery! Back to our stay, it was ok. Definitely does NOT meet Starwood's level of service! The 1st room we entered had a very loud door that squeaked loudly every time it was opened, there were cleanliness issues, dusting was obviously not on housekeepings to-do list. The linens were clean but after about 2 hours the family and I were all stuffed up so I just happened to look up at the HVAC vent and could see the filter was extremely dirty! I removed it and took it immediately to the front desk where I was greeted by a nice gentlemen that then asked how he could help me I asked if the GM was still there and he was not so I asked that the filthy filters that had a change date if the beginning of May 2 months old be given to him and that he should have look into maintenance schedule for changing these filters! The desk clerk was very apologetic and moved us into a hypoallergenic room. Upon arriving in this room it seemed at first to be a step up from the other room but then we ran into overall cleanliness issues again with gum under the corner of the night stand, filth on the plugs and light switches, the bottom of the tub had dirty spots, the phone was so disgusting that I wouldn't even use it in an emergency! We did not bring these issues to the attention to the staff because we just wanted to get a good night rest and didn't want to deal with it! I would probably not stay here again! I can say that the staff was friendly, lobby was clean and up to date, the noise from planes landing and taking off did not penetrate into the hotel either! The pool looked well maintained but the pool towels looked old and were frayed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonW338, General Manager at Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it appears that we missed several opportunities with your visit. We are terribly sorry for the deficiencies you encountered with your room and we shared your findings with our operations team so that we may avoid a recurrence. Please know that your experience is in no way indicative of the quality we provide for our guests and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to better serve you on a future visit to Miami.

Kind regards,
Jon K. Wubbena, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As a Starwood Preferred Guest found compared with other Sheraton Airport property very deluding. Poor drinks offer at the bar, poor amenities in the room. All carpet close to the window totally wet after the rain storm that occurred before our arrival.

Room Tip: Very disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Unfortunately, Lufthansa sent me (and a whole lot of other passengers) after cancelling their A380 MIA-FRA on June 30th to this hotel. The events at the airport post-cancellation was a struggle, but why Lufthansa chose to make their passengers suffer more by sending us to this hotel is puzzling.
First of all the hotel shuttle driver was totally unhelpful. All luggage had to be be lifted into and stowed in the shuttle - no luggage compartment or trailer. The hotel obviously didn't bother sending more shuttles when they got the news about hundreds of passengers coming their way at the same time. There were long lines in the reception - as could be expected. And the two female receptionists - for unknown reasons - went out of their way to find people who were not among the Lufthansa passengers to let them bypass the lines. What kind of customer treatment is this? I'm a SPG member, and was quite provoked by the receptionists treating the stranded passengers as second-rate guests.
Anyway, I was assigned a room. The airconditioning had not been turned on, so the room was hot and uncomfortable - and had a strange smell. I switched on the a/c - which turned out to be very noisy. There was also an air purifier unit in the room - why I wouldn't know.
The hotel is located close to the airport - and there's absolutely nothing of interest in the vicinity.
I can't wait to check out in the morning and get out of here. But I expect there to be long queues in the reception for check-out and I don't look forward to another ride on the horrrible hotel shuttle.
There are lots of nice hotels in the vicinity of MIA, but this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The best part about this hotel is the people working there. Every one of the staff I interacted with treated me as if I was the most important person that they talk to that day.

The room I stayed in was on the club floor. It was a fine room. A little dated, but clean, and no odor. The noise from the planes was minimal.

The lounge provided complementary continental breakfast and cold and hot drinks throughout the day. It had a nice view of either the planes taking off, or the golf course at the back. It's a relaxing place to enjoy a drink in the evening or finish off some work on the computer.

The walk from the parking lot is pretty far, and if you are returning at night, it is not lit well at all at the best of times. One night, they forgot to turn the lights on at all so we had to walked in the dark.

In summary, if you are looking for luxury, keep on looking. But if you're looking for a nice hotel to get a good night sleep, put this one on your list.

Room Tip: Take a club room. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel

Address: 3900 NW 21st Street, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Miami's airport, our hotel provides the perfect venue for business meetings, conferences, and seminars. Contact us to day to plan the perfect event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Miami
Miami Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.