We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly decent for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #51 of 129 hotels in Miami
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly decent for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Got a smokin' rate thru Hotwire and then learned I'd booked at the Doubletree. Looked up the hotel on TripAdvisor and was a bit concerned by the reports about bedbugs. Actually found the hotel to be perfectly fine. Definitely dark interior that could use a major refurb, but everything worked (including free high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel), staff was friendly and it's convenient to MIA airport. Would do it again for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    271
    147
    63
    38
See reviews for
151
163
70
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

If you catch a discounted price in sites as priceline or hotwire is a good option for who want go shopping in outlets and also to explore Miami.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on January 17 and woke up to see I had been bitten by bedbugs and the sheets were spotted with blood after I killed them. Two were small, about one eight of an inch and another one was much larger, about half an inch. The incident was reported, they came to the room to take some pictures and I filed a report. I did not expect this as the Doubletree was supposed to be a high end hotel. I do not recommend this hotel at all, as the personnel was indifferent to my complains.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcalibo, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
I wanted to follow up with you to let you know that the procedures that were put into place following your report have been successful. This area of concerns has affected the hospitality industry, hospitals, private residences from multi-million dollar condos to private family homes. It is an invasion that is affecting the country, so individual reports and the immediate response from hotel management is vital. Health and Safety is our primary focus and is headed up by a committee of our finest departmental directors. Security and Loss prevention, Housekeeping, Engineering, Human resources inconjunction with Sales and GM.
We utilize the most current and affective preventive solutions to make sure our guests comfort is better than their on homes as we inspect and clean on a daily basis.
We would love to have you back and gain your confidence again.
Mark Calibo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We spent a night here due to an airline travel voucher, and were very pleased with the accommodations and customer service we received. The bar normally closes at 11pm, but Theresa kept it open another hour because there were so many patrons. Wayne in the restaurant was super friendly, and the breakfast buffet was excellent- really fresh fruit, and good selections. We took advantage of the pool & hot tub the next morning before our flight, and would stay here again if it were our decision.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were put up in this hotel by the airline as our flight was cancelled. The check-in could not cope with a plane load of passengers and we were all made to feel unwelcome - and no chocolate chip cookies!

The wait for the restaurant which had a buffet, was over an hour, and they did not want to serve anything from the al a carte menu. By the time we got into the restaurant it was 9pm and quite empty even though the staff were telling everyone it was full. The staff were more interested in setting the tables for the next day than serving anyone. It was quite apparent that they wanted everyone to have the buffet food which looked very unappetising and as though some of it had been there for hours. Also, the buffet area was not very clean. We waited a long time, despite several requests, for someone to take our order. 30 minutes later our meal, which included a salad starter, still had not been served and no-one, especially the maitre d' seemed to care. In the end, we ate the 'breakfast' pack of which we were all provided with as the flight was going early the next morning.

The restaurant could not cope and did not make any effort to try. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 10pm but I think they all wanted to go home early.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here everytime we visited Miami for over 2 years.

MY BIGGEST ISSUE..
Dog ticks and fleas trying to eat you alive on the beds. I have seen for myself, some guy with 2 BIG dogs, (not medium as written on the website) Dirty, wanting a nice groom, with ticks "vampiring" their skin... Other friends and colleagues told me abouyt this, they complaned in the past, but nothing happened.. This time we had just about enough.. cause there was one wandering around on my pillow (imagine if it got into my ear!!)

Some of the staff is nice and courteous, some have very bad manners, especially at the front desk and the shuttle drivers, these drivers drive like maniacs, feels like your in the fast and the furious movie... and they tend to curse at you when you don't tip or if you don't tip enough.

Housekeeping lady, sometimes on floor 8, sometimes 9.. Apparently hates it when the wifey is there, you get 1 towel instead of 2, room barely cleaned, soap thrown on the counter... I can go on for days....

The Parking thing, OMG, $7 per day.. are you guys crazy, and they guy at the gate wants you to pay $7 again before they 24hr period...

Internet connection is whack...

They only nice things about this hotel is the Breakfast, and the Miami airport view...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tferrara10, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
First I should like to apologize regarding any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay at the Doubletree Miami Mart. Since I have been at this hotel (September of 2009) and we have NOT had a complaint regarding fleas or ticks anywhere in the property, much less been "infested". We still have not – in reviewing the 2 months prior to you trip-advisor report there we no complaints of this nature registered with guest assistance, our front second effort system, or with the Medallia guest comment email solicitation system. It is unfortunate that if you had an instance of this nature that you did not seek assistance from our property management team, who would have been happy to assist you and make the situation right, so that you can enjoy your stay. In addition it should be noted that we are a “pet friendly” property and that we appropriately “treat” each guest upon the guest/pet departure to insure that other guests do not have a problem of this nature. In regard to the other comments valet, housekeeping and parking – I apologize again for any inconvenience and would like to note the we do charge for parking and that charge of $7.00 is the lowest overnight parking charge of any full service hotel in the Miami Airport Area. If I may be of any future service in assisting you, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich,UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel was a steal at the price but we will remember it more for the bad points than the good. We were bemused by the parking arrangements and like lots of other guests we observed did a circuit or three past reception. There seems to be nothing but valet parking (90% of the spaces seemed empty). Finally when you do work out where to park you pay for the pleasure. The reception area is very nice and the reception staff are very polite and helpful and the free cookies a nice touch. It is a shame the rest of the staff does not share the same positive attitude. We booked a room for 3 on the 8th floor. When unpacking I realized there was no iron so I phoned the helpline and a very grumpy person turned up with it quite quickly. We later noticed there were only 2 towels so again called the helpline this time the same man did turn up and on answering the door he was shaking his head like I was a naughty schoolboy. Both tiomes he refused to talk to me. The list goes on: no coffee machine, no cups and the most horrible bedding of a yellowing duvet between 2 open sheets. We noticed a notice by the front door saying the bar had a happy hour with 2 drinks for 1. When we went to the bar we were told there is no happy hour but maybe there will be in the future. We asked could she report this to management and she said lots of people had complained but to no avail. The list goes on but in summary this could be a fantastic hotel if it wasn’t for the appalling attitude of some of the staff. Maybe they should replace the management with the reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.