We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - convenient to the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #51 of 129 hotels in Miami
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - convenient to the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Needed an airport near the hotel for an early morning flight and this one was perfect. Very helpful staff, nice and quiet rooms. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    272
    147
    63
    38
See reviews for
151
164
70
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
floRida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I have hosted a banquet at the Doubletree every November for the past three years. Their customer service in catering is fantastic. This time I stayed in a king room with my husband. Great room with a comfortable bed. We had forgotten to put out room service tag for breakfast so we called and got no answer. Call the front desk, they apologized and said someone would call me. We were doubtful but 1 minute later our phone rang and it was room service. Being a Sunday morning they were very busy. The woman took my order efficiently and said it could take 40 min. 20 min later we got a call that our breakfast was on the way up. They are always polite and helpful. Close to airport but also to highway which can get you anywhere in town quickly. I will book them again for next year. Have never had a problem. Overnight parking is $7. Most other hotels are $13 to $30.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Arrived at the hotel after a full day of travel in my rental. They seemed to push the valet, as there was no good place to conveniently park to check-in. I ended up parking in a no-park zone to quickly check-in. After a smooth check-in, I was directed to a fairly remote lot to pay for parking (hate that).

My room was basic. The bed was very comfortable. The carpet was filthy. The bathroom was tired. Decent channel selection with HD signal on big flat screen. The hotel looks like it was nice in the past.

The fitness room was big, and had a lot of well maintained or newer equipment, and an extensive area for exercising, including a big selection of free weights.

Loved the fitness center. Everything else was average at best, and a little disappointing to be honest.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I needed a hotel for an overnight layover. Hotel has a free airport shuttle. Room was clean. Staff were nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

WARNING! IF YOU MUST ATTEND A CONFERENCE AT THIS HOTEL, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, OR YOU COULD HAVE A FINANCIAL SHOCK!

To SUMMARIZE, the MIAMI DOUBLETREE AIRPORT HOTEL surreptitiously misused a Guest Check-In Authorization Form (specifically designed for charging incidentals to a credit card and an indemnification on room charges) AS A MEANS TO TRANSFER A DISPUTED BALANCE of their corporate client, (a conference organizer), on an entirely different contractual matter to all the innocent victims attending the conference.

NINE MONTHS AFTER attending a conference held at the Miami DoubleTree Airport Mart Hotel, the hotel surreptitiously charged $900 to my credit card as well as approximately 100 other guests of a seminar held at the hotel! The hotel billed our credit cards for huge amounts without any notice of intent or other contact.

The hotel will not provide any documentation nor speak to us, the victims, to explain their accounting method, nor actual cost vs. the INFLATED CHARGES APPLIED to the victims of their credit card fraud.

Apparently, many other complaints by other Miami visitors discovering bogus charges are well-documented against this hotel according to The Miami Visitors Bureau. At least one Miami attorney has 2 cases against the hotel at the moment.

It is my understanding that the conference company was (rightfully) displeased with the exposition area services and disputed some of their charges followed by attempts at negotiation for a mutually beneficial settlement. (The hotel's expo center was absolutely dreadful).

Rather than negotiate with the conference company regarding their balance, some of which was a bogus up-charge, and the other, a disputed amount over the sorry conditions and services of the expo conference area, the hotel's NY investment group, INSTEAD, TRIPLED THE DISPUTED AMOUNT. This tripled amount of bogus charges was randomly and surreptitiously applied to the guests' credit cards 9 months later without any notice, correspondence, or explanation what so ever.

It has been a negative experience for all of us (national & international guest) to deal with the HILTON / DOUBLETREE / NY Investors, who will not budge on the bogus charges applied to our credit cards. . A class-action lawsuit could be inevitable to straighten out the greed behind the hotel fraud, but the damage to their brand image is long term.

Do you still want to risk staying at the Miami DoubleTree Airport Hotel? If so, continue to read similar negative reviews validating our complaints. The red flags are flying high!

PS / I expect the hotel manager to post his defensive slant, but just note how often he has to post an apology in response to this property's negative reviews. You may note that complaints against this property are posted on websites all over the world. If the property does the right thing and refunds the absconded funds to the conference guests, I will post those updated results.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tferrara10, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
ABOSLUTELY NO CREDIT CARD FRAUD - The author of this response was an associate of a group, a conference organizer for the medical industry. THE FACTS ARE that a medical conference was held at the Doubletree Miami Mart in November of 2009 and that all charges for guest rooms, products and services had be verified and agreed to by representatives of the conference organizer at the conclusion of the event. Then, the organizing group stopped returning telephone calls and emails and they simply did not fund payment for the agreed upon charges. The Hotel attempted to obtain the payment due over the course of the next 9 months without success.

The individual who authored this response was part of that group and was a guest in the room block contracted by the conference organizer for their corporate employees. After 9 months of the conference organizers failure to meet it’s obligations, the personal charges for lodging, products and services were returned to the individual room folios, where they had been transferred from, and they became a matter of individual responsibility (this is standard operating procedure in all hotels in the event of non-payment of folio charges). Each guest had signed a statement guaranteeing that they would be responsible for the payment in the event that the group failed to pay their personal and respective charges. The hotel then sent each guest a letter detailing the situation, a copy of their respective signed guarantee and a copy of their folio charges. The charges were then posted to the credit card that each guest had provided to the hotel as a guarantee for their folio and incidental charges.

In addition, the author of this response challenged the hotel charges through his credit card company. The credit card company examined the hotels documentation for all charges and the correspondences and ruled the matter in favor of the hotel maintaining the charges on this individuals account.

In short, there were no bogus charges, no cases pending, no fraud on the part of the hotel, only that perpetrated by the organizing group for this event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Lobby area, etc. Dirty and really needs a good cleaning! Guests sleep in the lobby, and hang out on soiled furnishings. Staff nice and friendly, but utterly slow and they don't get the customer experience. Business Center - of the 4 computers - 4 were broken. Rooms were at best one star - soild carpeting, outdated, and just make me feel like something would crawl if I turned off the lights. Clearly they don't have enough maintenance and housekeeping staff on board. Pool area was disgusting - unkept, and appeared unsanitary. Good price for the dollar, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Would happily stay here again when in the Miami area. Great shuttle service from airport to Alamo Car rental to cruise port. Very nice bedding. Highly recommend this hotel. The resteraunt 777 had great fish for a reasonable price too. Really good gym with lots of equipment, and an indoor basketball court my husband just loved. The hot tub and pool were nice too. We had a really great experience here and we booked through priceline and got a great deal! A whole mall is connected to the hotel, its cool!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.