We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews, but our pre-cruise stay was great. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and helped with bags. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the elevators worked well and room service breakfast was quick and tasty. We had drinks in the comfortable seating area near the bar and a good but expensive dinner in the restaurant. The fitness center was great and the pool was fine. The concierge arranged a reasonably-priced van service to the pier that had a trailer for luggage. We needed it! And freshly-baked cookies were available at the front desk. To reassure those of you who read about bedbugs on a previous post, I did a search of my room, as I always do these days in hotels, and there was absolutely no evidence of bedbugs. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    280
    153
    63
    42
See reviews for
154
168
70
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the DoubleTree Miami Mart Hotel during March 2010. After placing a bid on priceline.com and then reading the previous reviews of this hotel, I must say I was very worried and anxious of the stay. Upon arrival the hotel desk workers were very friendly. Upon receiving our room key and heading to the room, we were pleased to see that we had indeed received a non-smoking room with a King size bed (as I had requested via telephone call to the hotel directly). However, I soon noticed that our room was facing the landing area for the Miami Airport. So I decided to call down to the front desk to request a room change to something on the oppposite side of the airport. The request was quickly noted and I was advised that I could immediately obtain a key to the new room. (Very helpful in my mind- opposite of those opinions listed in previous reviews). We chose not to pay $12.00 a day valet fee but instead parked in the parking lot directly next to the hotel with "in-and-out" priviliges for $8.00 a day. The parking lot is neither dark nor extremely lit but does have a security guard on premises at all hours of the day/night. The bed and multitude of pillows were very comfortable. The TV was not the "latest and greatest" but on my vacation I did not plan on sitting infront of it all day anyway! The bathroom is a moderate size with a seperate area right outside (which was accomodating while 2 people were getting ready each day). The ONLY issue that we came across was the renovation of the elevators. There are 3 elevators total but only 2 are in use. Out of the 2 in use, there were times throughout the day that 1 would break down and would make coming to/from your room longer than needed. OVERALL: Our experience with the DoubleTree Miami Mart Hotel was a very pleasant surprise after reading all the negative reviews listed. If you are like me and would get worried prior to your stay, please do not take all of the negative comments to heart. Most individals will only take the time to post on websites such as this whenever they are frustrated and most individuals who had a nice visit forget to advise others of their own stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Big hotel, seems alittle dated in terms of their "Miami Mart" nothing was really open. The rooms were nice and spacious but overall this hotel didn't leave much of an impression. Good for business travelers or for those just staying 1 night - the cookies at check in were great though :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were in one of their larger rooms. It was spacious and comfortable.TV was not a flat screen. The bathroom was a standard small room with only one sink. When the restaurant and the food at the bar becomes unavailable ( about 11:00 PM) you can still order from room service. The bar has some comfortable seating areas. Its good for relaxing with a beer or wine.
Breakfast staff were very helpful. I was able to special order eggs even though breakfast
was buffet style.
We used the shuttle which runs every half hour. It is located a few miles form the airport.
We took the shuttle back to the airport in the morning to rent a car since a previous post warned of the parking fee.
We was told its not in a great neighborhood but we did not venture out of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Hotel is not in good shape, the guy who checked me in seemed like he was doing a sacrifice and when I asked him to add my mileage program to the reservation he got angry with me. Unfortunately he was the same guy who checked me out the next morning.
On a side note, he was clearly a Spanish-speaking person. When I addressed him in Spanish, he was offended and replied back in English.
The Elevators were horrible; the Rooms, ok, but the TV and remote in definitely a horrible shape.
Nice cookies (warm), by the way.
This hotel needs improvements. I wouldn't choose it again for the time being.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tferrara10, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
I should first like to apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay - your points on the elevators and tv's were well taken - however I need to advise you that wehave opened 3 completely renovated new elevators on April 12th, 2010 and now feature the newest elevators in Miami - also we are in process of installing new 37" HD LCD TV's at this time - Look forward to serving you in the future, when your travel brings you back to the Miami area-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Road
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

The room was clean, but for some reason the entire hotel is very dark. They charge you for parking in a vacant parking lot and you have no other option but to park there, I decided to go to the bar for a drink and dinner. When I got the bill, I noticed that they included the 15% tip in the price.
Never again, there are too many other properties in Miami to have to deal with this.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed here before leaving for 1 week in the Domincan Republic. Reception and check in were great, and the cookies were yummy! Hotel common areas were clean and well kept overall. Elevators were obviously from another generation, but were in the process of being renovated. Our room (309) smelled damp and the carpet was wet.
Woke up at 4:15 am to get ready for our 7 am flight, only to discover lots of BED BUGS crawling all over the bed and padded head board. Ran into the bathroom to discover other bugs there as well. We captured a few in a tissue and went down to confront reception. Hotel staff quickly appologized and refunded our night's stay. Seemed like they knew about the problem......
I will never stay at a Doubletree hotel again, especially this one! Watch out if you are in room 309, or any room at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.