We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just way less than I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just way less than I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I attempted to check in as I was there for a convention, so they knew to expect a crowd and my room wasn't ready until almost 6pm! It was ridiculous.

The area around the hotel is very busy and there is construction going on so be prepared.

The parking lot did offer a reduced rate for hotel guests and I think I paid $14 for the two days I was there. Cash only and prepay.

My room was spacious, but it was not clean. There were hairs everywhere, in the bathroom, on the bed, it was just gross. The next day after housekeeping was in, the hairs were still in the bathroom.

There was what looked to be a coffee stain on the base if the lamp that was never cleaned and the phone by the bed did not work. The sink drain was very slow to drain.

Outlets - in this day and age it is a given that people have electronics and need to plug them in so it is beyond me why the closest outlet was hidden behind a wall of curtains. I ended up unplugging the lamp to use the outlet that is behind the bed, total fire hazard in my mind.

By far the worst thing was the first morning I was leaving my room at 7:15am and being I was down the hall near the fire exit, the brightest, blinding light was beaming through the window of the fire exit. It was like a spot like on a train heading down a track at night. It made my eyes hurt to look towards it.

For a Doubletree I just expected more....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    368
    190
    79
    48
See reviews for
199
211
83
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel as really nice, amazing rooms and really clean. The only this was the front desk agent that check us in was rude and unprofessional, other than that we had a great experience in this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randaberg, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The check in went ok. A little slow, but they did have a busy night when we arrived. Both of us did get each our executive room as ordered. My room was located on the top floor. The room was as big as a little appartment. But..
The walls had seen better days. The wallpaper had faded and somewhere started to fall of the corners. The carpet had stains and lamps and desks had allot of dust. Trying to connect my charger i found an electrical mess behind the bed as well. Seing my friends room, my room looked kind of forgotten. The bar had an simple menu both with drinks and burgers. We had some beers and ordered burgers. Home made and tasted excellent.
For breakfast they had a big buffet and omlette to order. Both food and service was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the DoubleTree Miami convention Center. The only issues I had with the hotel itself are as follow: 1. Parking. Not that it is much but I had to pay US$14.00 for parking while I stayed at the hotel..Never had this happed before and I have travelled a lot for work. 2. Room smell. When I would return to my room from the office the room would smell like water down beer..there is no other way to explain it. After a few minutes in the room I would not sense the smell. 3. Hallway rugs- They were clean but heavy marks of luggate on the center part of the rug same that were quite visible due to the dark color of the rug.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
235 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a very good 4 star hotel with very friendly staff. Check-in was quickly made. My room was quite big and the aircon worked perfectly. If you want to shop there is small mall attached to the hotel, but I walked 1 min to the adjacent gas station and bought water etc. Beware that this hotel is located an area with some business buildings and lakes but nothing else. So you need a car if you want to go somewhere than the airport. The surroundings are quiet and I went for a nice evening jog. I can definetely recommend this hotel for one or two nights

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed overnight as a result of a missed international connection at MIA.
On the plus side: No bugs were seen. The hotel store is open till midnight.
The negatives: called the hotel and waited > 20 min for a shuttle. TIp- take a TAXI if it's late and you are tired. It's not that far.
The food at the bar is worse than what is at the airport, ( and the restaurant doesn't look that great, but we didn't use it) so EAT BEFORE you leave the airport. The airline's voucher is good at the airport or the hotel.
The vending machines were out of water on floors 2, 4 and 8. Floor 6 is closed altogether. Water can be had more cheaply at the store. You will need it- it's really dry in the hotel. Other peeves- the telephone was disconnected. There are no outlets available near the bed - well, see my pics to find them.
All in all, eat elsewhere before you arrive, take a taxi if you are sent here by the airline and go somewhere else if the choice is yours.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Excellent Stay - Very good Food - Need to have additional servers and Bar Tenders during the evening / Wednesday and Thursday during the AG Show. Overall the staff was very responsive and well trained. Check in Was great rooms were available early and rooms were well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.