We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #51 of 129 hotels in Miami
Randaberg, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outdated room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The check in went ok. A little slow, but they did have a busy night when we arrived. Both of us did get each our executive room as ordered. My room was located on the top floor. The room was as big as a little appartment. But..
The walls had seen better days. The wallpaper had faded and somewhere started to fall of the corners. The carpet had stains and lamps and desks had allot of dust. Trying to connect my charger i found an electrical mess behind the bed as well. Seing my friends room, my room looked kind of forgotten. The bar had an simple menu both with drinks and burgers. We had some beers and ordered burgers. Home made and tasted excellent.
For breakfast they had a big buffet and omlette to order. Both food and service was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    271
    147
    63
    38
See reviews for
151
163
70
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed my stay at the DoubleTree Miami convention Center. The only issues I had with the hotel itself are as follow: 1. Parking. Not that it is much but I had to pay US$14.00 for parking while I stayed at the hotel..Never had this happed before and I have travelled a lot for work. 2. Room smell. When I would return to my room from the office the room would smell like water down beer..there is no other way to explain it. After a few minutes in the room I would not sense the smell. 3. Hallway rugs- They were clean but heavy marks of luggate on the center part of the rug same that were quite visible due to the dark color of the rug.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
219 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a very good 4 star hotel with very friendly staff. Check-in was quickly made. My room was quite big and the aircon worked perfectly. If you want to shop there is small mall attached to the hotel, but I walked 1 min to the adjacent gas station and bought water etc. Beware that this hotel is located an area with some business buildings and lakes but nothing else. So you need a car if you want to go somewhere than the airport. The surroundings are quiet and I went for a nice evening jog. I can definetely recommend this hotel for one or two nights

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently stayed overnight as a result of a missed international connection at MIA.
On the plus side: No bugs were seen. The hotel store is open till midnight.
The negatives: called the hotel and waited > 20 min for a shuttle. TIp- take a TAXI if it's late and you are tired. It's not that far.
The food at the bar is worse than what is at the airport, ( and the restaurant doesn't look that great, but we didn't use it) so EAT BEFORE you leave the airport. The airline's voucher is good at the airport or the hotel.
The vending machines were out of water on floors 2, 4 and 8. Floor 6 is closed altogether. Water can be had more cheaply at the store. You will need it- it's really dry in the hotel. Other peeves- the telephone was disconnected. There are no outlets available near the bed - well, see my pics to find them.
All in all, eat elsewhere before you arrive, take a taxi if you are sent here by the airline and go somewhere else if the choice is yours.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Stay - Very good Food - Need to have additional servers and Bar Tenders during the evening / Wednesday and Thursday during the AG Show. Overall the staff was very responsive and well trained. Check in Was great rooms were available early and rooms were well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel. Rooms are large. Several restaurants on property including an au bon pain. It is connected to the Miami Merchandise Mart, which has lots of little boutiques and there's a gift shop as well. Had a lunch buffet at Impressions and it was tasty. For $14, there was a salad bar, grilled chicken, ribs, pasta, soup and grilled veggies. Pool area looked nice and tropical as well. Only negative was slow counter service- 1 person working at arrival and departure. Shuttle service was every half hour. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a standard airport hotel with half-hourly shuttle service. There's little of interest in the area (office buildings, warehouses, etc. typical for an airport location) and if it's a quick in-and-out like I needed, you'll be fine. Check-in/out were both a little on the slow side (only one person on duty). The room was done in brown and tan. Oddly, the lay-out was such that a good portion of the wall opposite the (very comfortable) bed was just that -- a wall. There were two nicely framed black-and-white photos for art work (tropical vegetation and a yacht in a stormy sea). As is often the case, lighting voltage is woefully inadequate for real work or reading. Does the lodging industry expect everyone to work or read in the bathroom - the only place with decent lighting? Is this some trend I've missed? There was no light convenient to the easy chair and oddly, there was a floor lamp shoved in the opposite corner illuminating NOTHING but the chest of drawers. There was an easily accessible socket for my C-PAP machine and the staff very kindly brought me a mini-fridge to chill my insulin for which there was no charge. My flight schedule was such that I couldn't sample any of the in-house dining options which I'd like to do on a future visit should Hotwire ever assign me here again. But I didn't get the usual chocolate chip cookie when I checked in which would have been a nice touch (as it usually is at Doubletrees). My one disappointment was that the Showtime programming guide by the TV was for June, 2014 and I stayed there on July 28. Also, the alarm clock showed the incorrect time and I found it impossible to re-set it. Moreover, the alarm went off at midnight. NOTE TO MAIDS: please check alarm clock settings in rooms! I've learned to always travel with my own battery-powered alarm clock any more. Needless to say, Miami was hot a humid and I was grateful for the efficient air conditioning throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.