We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff - hotel under construction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, United States
1 review
“great staff - hotel under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel appeared to be under construction. The staff was amazing and did everything possible to make the experience nice. The overall condition of the guest rooms and common areas were in poor condition - hall lights hanging off the walls, bathroom fixtures not secured, a/c that barely cools the room, shower curtains installed below the shower fixture (therefor soaking the bathroom floor.) Maybe when the hotel is completed, it will be more functional and prepared for travelers. If it was not for the staff - check-in, maids, restaurant and so forth, I would have moved to another hotel and just drove back and forth for the event I was attending.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    332
    177
    73
    48
See reviews for
184
188
81
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was surprised that the hotel has not yet installed newer, higher efficiency toilets (water is at a premium in Miami) and although there the room is pre-wired for it, there was no ceiling fan (which would have blended well with the tropical feel of the other furnishings and carpeting). Likewise, there are few electrical outlets near the tabletop writing desk, had I not brought my own 3-outlet wall tap I would not have been able to plug in my laptop. Nonetheless, everything else seems to be top-notch. The beds are comfortable (love the four large pillows) and the towels are luxurious. The toiletries provided are the most extensive that I've seen. The hotel is conveniently located in the Fontainebleau area by the Miami International Airport, near the interchange of the Dolphin Expressway and the Palmetto Expressway with easy access from either of those main arteries. The hotel must not be in the flight path of the major airlines as I didn't hear a single plane take off or land. The grounds and property are neatly kept and well maintained for a convention hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I travel a lot for work & I have stayed at this hotel before. It seemed ok. This last stay was awful! There were small ants in the room by the desk & the sink. The carpets were not really clean & I could hear everything going on in the hallway. I woke up this morning because I had pulled the blankets ups & was hit with this awful smell. While I'm laying there figuring out it was the blankets that smelled so bad I see a ROACH crawl across the floor! At this point I was done! I couldn't check out faster. I told the very nice clerk at the desk what happened & she comped me a day off of my 5 day stay. All I could think was how exactly is that helping me since it was a business trip & my work was covering the room anyway.

I thought I was safe staying at a Hilton but clearly I was wrong! Never Again will I stay at this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Rooms were clean and updated. I Liked having the shopping mall on the premises. The Delicious cookies were a very nice touch. Beds are comfortable. Staff were pleasant. The nearby construction can make it confusing to get to the hotel but our GPS guided us there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennesaw, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is great. Nice staff. Over 30 stays in the last two years and only problem has been transportation timing and a/c. Vans have not had air conditioning! Closest shopping restaurant is two miles away. They do want to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are looking for a decent hotel near the airport for a decent price, then this will fill the requirements. If you are looking for a "Hilton experience" then pay a higher price and find another hotel. Upon entering the parking lot where we had to pay $7 a day for parking in a lot, the hotel is not too attractive. The foliage needed some attention and weeds were plenty. The lobby, restaurant and bar area were very clean and nice looking. It was easy checking in and the staff was helpful. Upon getting off the elevators to the room, it started looking a little bit dilapidated. Wallpaper seams were popping all over the place, baseboard molding was missing, and carpet had stains. The king size room we had was huge, nice linens on the bed and pillows were great. Desk had free wi-fi. Arm chair looked nice, but not the most comfortable to sit in. It was quiet for sleeping. There seemed to be some work going on during the day because we could hear a hammer drill at times. We had to pay $25 for a dorm sized fridge to be brought up to keep our drinks and snacks cold. Wide flat screen TV was good. There was a small area with a granite countertop for the coffee maker outside the bathroom. The granite countertop had dropped down a good half inch and we were afraid to put the dorm fridge on it for fear of it collapsing from the weight of it. The bathroom countertop was long and the mirror and lighting were good. Soaps and lotion were by Crabtree and great. The grout in the shower could of used a good toothbrush scrubbing because it was dirty. We had the AC set at 67 and it appeared to be about five degrees warmer in the room. The downstairs bar area had good seating and was a nice place to sit outside the room. Stores attached to hotel did not seem to have the kinds of items we were attracted to, but maybe some people would enjoy shopping in them. Au Bon Pain coffeeshop cafe was a lifesaver with coffee, sandwiches, salads and pastries not over the top expensive. We did not go into the hotel restaurants because the foods offered were not to our liking and fairly expensive. The Royal Poincianna ballroom where our activity was held seemed to have issues with the ceiling leaking and stains on the ceiling. If I was renting the ballroom out for an event I would look carefully at that ceiling. Overall, it was adequate and priced accordingly for Miami and close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

In the middle of a long term highway upgrade, the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasure. I would definitely make this a number one choice for future trips. I will also recommend this to any colleague.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#39 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.