We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Airport close by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We just stayed at the Doubletree during a layover in Miami. This is a huge convention center style hotel. We found the staff to be pleasant and the foyer/lobby floor fairly modern. They have a nice bar and restaurant on the premisis which is very convienient. The rooms were clean but in all honesty getting a bit outdated and "long in the tooth"- the room was quiet however and we got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rolesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We came a day early for our 7 day Norewgian Cruise. We got their early and could not check in, which we understood. The hotel was great for what we needed. We did not like the fact that they closed the pool for a private party. We did not like that you had to pay for parking. Most guests did not speak English. The room was nice. We ate at the bar downstairs. The food was good and the price was reasonable. The problem started when we checked out. We had rented a car. We are in a big hurry, because we want to get to the ship early and we had to return the rental car to the airport. I went back to the front desk. He told me to talk to the Concierge, who told me to talk to the valet parking attendant! By this time I am livid!! The attendant was busy. By the time I am able to talk to him 45 minutes has passed. He told me there was nothing he could do that a previous guests had taken his jumper cables. I went back to the concierge, who acted like there was nothing he could do. The bellman that took our luggage to the room talked with the concierge and said he could help me. We went back to the car to discover that my husband had already made arrangements with Alamo to pick up the car. I JUST COULDN'T BELIEVE IT TOOK SO LONG TO GET SOMEONE TO HELP ME!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were set up to stay here by American Airlines when they made us miss our connecting flight. The front desk was friendly and the hotel looked very nice. The room seemed clean until I got into the bathroom. There were multiple hairs in the shower and on the bathroom floor. A total gross out!!! Luckily, the bed seemed to be clean and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marhuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here while in town for a wedding, with expectations that we would have decent accommodations at a reasonable price. I was unpleasantly surprised by our experience given that I often stay at DT hotels for work.

Positives:
- it looks nice enough from the lobby
- the front desk staff was very friendly
- there are a couple of restaurants on site (one for breakfast, one for dinner)
- the water pressure in our room was great.

Negatives:
- the blinds were the long, vertical hang down type, with about 30% of ours missing. Those that were there did not actually function, so we couldn't turn them to block the sun. Fortunately, I don't think there was any way that people outside could see into our room, but it was still annoying
- our sink drain was busted, so water could only slowly drain
- we were gone from 10AM to midnight one day and our room was never cleaned
- ants in the room
- server at restaurant clearly had no desire to be there

I'm hoping that many of these problems are a function of the hotel getting ready for a massive remodel. For the time being, I cannot recommend the hotel unless you're going to a convention at the hotel and just staying there out of convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachedmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was in Miami for work for the week and decided to bring my family along with me. Everything went wrong while I was there. I had reserved a boardroom for two days that I was hosting for numerous out of state associates. The rep that reserved my boardroom never disclosed to me that the room was all the way in the convention center beside the hotel. Needless to say this info was not communicated to my associates flying in either and they were all lost trying to figure out where to go for the meeting. They told me that they would resolve the issue and made a commitment to take care of breakfast for my family while we stayed for the rest of the week and then emailed me later that day to tell me that they couldn't. Not a fan of empty promises. The front desk manager was rude and the communication amongst the staff is terrible. They need some serious training. Will definitely avoid this Hotel in the future. I also found a big roach in my room the final day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank EllaGR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
First I should like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during the course of your stay. Our goal at the Doubletree is to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations and in this case we apparently failed to reach our goal. However, I did review your stay in detail and there are several items that I need to mention regarding your correspondence - the first - it was very clearly stated in the meeting room contract that you signed, when you booked the boardroom accomodations, that the event was to take place at the convention center, this should not have been a surprise. Secondly due to the size of the property's public area, we take great care to provide directional assistance throughout the property via signage, maps and electronic concierge boards which are set daily to respond to any group inquiry. In addition we of course have the traditional concierge which are ready to assist. Again I apologize for any confusion you may have experienced. In regard to the comment on breakfast - you had inquired at the time of booking regarding free breakfast and you were offered the bed and breakfast rate but elected to book the corporate group rate which did not include breakfast. After several comments to our guest service agents we did provide you with a complimentary breakfast in the interest of guest relations, In closing we appreciate the opportunity to serve you while in town for your business travels. While we strive to offer guests the best experience and pride ourselves in our competent staff, we know there is always room for improvement. Your feedback lets us know we need to focus our efforts on consistency in all areas of our operation. I have specifically addressed your concerns with our front office and engineering team members. We hope that you will return to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the Miami area. If I may be of any further service, please contact me at 305-260-8912 or via email at TFerrara@Doubletreemacc.com

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Double Tree. We were greated courteously and given wonderful warm cookies when we arrived. Our room was perfect and clean and with all we needed for a restful night. The restaurant was reasonable as are the others there. We had a great meal also. They had choices for breakfast too and we enjoyed a simple breakfast for a reasonable price. Thanks to all for making our stay so nice. A five star hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 100kennethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. We were greeted with warm cookies and a very warm welcome. The accomodations were great and the restaraunt was reasonable and good too. The hotel provided a way to the Port for the ship and made that part easy for us as well. I would recommend to all. five stars

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 100kennethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Hilton Miami Airport
#39 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing