We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My expectations weren't that high but I was pleased. A lot of areas within the hotel have definitely been updated, including my room. The bathroom had a relatively new counter and tile, the fixtures were all new, the carpeting looked good, the bed was nice, and the TV definitely less than a year old. Didn't have a problem at all with the facility. It's location is a little close to the airport which means you do hear some airplane noise - but other than that it was a decent property available at a good value/price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    309
    169
    66
    45
See reviews for
169
178
79
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Beautiful rooms, friendly and helpful staff members. my only criticism is that I would have liked to have seen the normal restaurant (not only the high end one and bar) open for dinner. I will say the food in both restaurants was excellent and the price on-par with restaurants in this type of facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Shuttle pick up from airport was very quick (11 pm). The Lobby was noisy and crowded - people wearing swimming attire and towels, and others spilling out from the bar. Loud music coming from somewhere, couldn't hear ourselves speak. Check in staff courteous and concierge very helpful. Large room, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Buffet breakfast was good, but expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were warmly greeted upon arrival and check in. Julian at the front desk provided exceptional service. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive. The bed and linens were especially nice. The hotel room was quiet and we were not disturbed by noise from the hall. We had a very good dinner downstairs and also enjoyed meeting friends at the bar for drinks. The hotel is set up with everything necessary for a relaxing stay: great spaces for socializing with friends and a comfortable room at the end of the day. The staff are warm and helpful. It's location is very good as we enjoyed visiting Coral Gables for dinner and shopping. You'll hear no airport noise but it is close by.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What I thought was going to be a nightmare because I missed my connecting flight in Miami, turned out to be the rest I needed. The airline provided a room at the Double Tree. Room was awesome and spacious. The hotel on a whole was wonderful, and the voucher I was given for dinner enabled me to purchase a great meal. Staff was wonderful, checkout a breeze, and a shuttle to take you to the airport. Will get stuck there anytime. In fact, will go there on purpose.. Just told a group of friends that this is where we need to stay next year for a cruise we are planning.

Room Tip: It's near the airport, and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

From the outside this is a nice large hotel near the airport with a convention center, shopping mall, outdoor pool, free shuttle, etc. What could go wrong? Nothing major, but...

The registration desk was crowded when I went into the lobby with 2 regular lines and 1 Hilton Honors line. I got in that one since I've been a member for many years. Bad move. The one person in that line was either having issues or the clerk was because nothing happened for about 10 minutes. Meanwhile the other regular lines were zipping through with all sorts of people getting checked in. That's ok - I'm not the impatient type and who knows if it was a hotel or guest issue. But I was surprised that when I finally got up to the counter the clerk did not apologize or acknowledge that I (and a guy behind me) had been waiting a long time. Big rule of customer service - always be aware of who or what is next and be ready to smile, greet, and apologize if there's been an abnormal wait or problem. The clerk was nice enough, but simply acted as if everything was a routine transaction.

So I entered my room which was a large corner location (near ice/vending) with huge full-length windows. Wonderful! Lots of natural light. Not enough furniture to fill the room, though - but more floorvspace. Speaking of floors, I noticed a bottle cap next to the armchair on the carpet and when I looked a little closer all around I found some debris that looked like food around the desk. Now I realize the vacuum cleaners won't pick up bottle caps or large chunks but really???

I hung up some clothes and noticed the ironing board hanger was broken - one side had pulled loose so it was propped against the wall. At least the iron worked!

The toilet ran intermittently so I opened the tank and adjusted the valve and flapper a bit and that seemed to work. The next morning in the shower I only got lukewarm water - not at all a comfortable temperature and it wasn't consistent - going from cool to warm and occasionally a 1-second blast of hot. Reminiscent of an old house with outdated plumbing. After the shower I noticed the faucet was leaking even when I tightened the knob.

There was some dirt and leftover hairs around the toilet and sink. No fun to have to clean a hotel bathroom yourself! But there were plenty of towels to wipe up. Better have long arms as the toilet paper holder is far away from the toilet. The shampoo and conditioner were fine but no lotion - instead the 3rd bottle was actually shower gel. I'd rather have lotion.

To me the bad was comfortable but mattress might be too soft for some people. The 5 pillows were ok but very collapsible so I piled up 2 or 3. TV was ok but some buttons on remote like the sleep function did not work. The fixtures were outdated - no outlet near the bed (most newer hotels have lamp bases with plug-ins) and just an old power strip mounted under the desk.

I suppose overall the lack of good housekeeping, maintenance, repair, and customer service (checkin) can be attributed to being a large hotel and maybe untrained staff. I usually rate hotels 4 or 5 but this time I can only do a 3.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I understand with the warm climate there could issues with bugs, but i woke up to go in the bathroom and found a roach near the bathtub. I also found a few hairs in the tub. Not clean. Honestly afraid to walk around with shoes. :(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.