We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected in a high end hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected in a high end hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We came here with friends and found this place lacking in many ways especially with staff, service and our room. Our friends arrived first and had difficulty their first morning getting anyone to serve them coffee or water during breakfast (Which is overpriced for what you get anyway.) With a few exceptions, we found most of the staff lacking in courtesy and attentiveness at the hotel bar and in their Impressions Cafe. When requesting towels or purchasing room service expect a very long wait time. The first time we requested towels we were ignored and had to take towels directly off of the maid's cart. The second time we waited and had to call twice before anyone came. Also the air conditioning didn't work well in the lobby and it didn't work well in our room either making our stay a bit uncomfortable. We talked to the front desk about coming to fix it in the room but no one came to look at it. The door to our balcony was difficult to open and close and there was an ant problem in our room. For an expensive hotel we were not impressed, and probably will not come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    308
    168
    66
    45
See reviews for
168
177
79
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed here for one night because AA canceled a flight and gave us a voucher for this place. The room was fine, the check-in agents were good - no complaints here. But the "restaurant" was awful. I am not sure if it was because there was a $48 limit on our AA dinner voucher and they didn't care to serve the "cheap" customers. It was 10 minutes to bring us water, 10 more to bring us rolls and another 15 minutes before a waiter was assigned to our table. She took our order and brought the soup we ordered soon enough, but holy smokes ... it was loaded with salt to last us 4 days. 20 more minutes passed and the kids started to get restless. In the meantime, she made some excuses about a chef leaving and that pizzas will be there soon, but our pasta would take longer. We smiled and said OK. We then decided to take the kids to the room, asked for to-go boxes and one of us waited for the food. Eventually, she brought the pizzas and I took them upstairs. I came back to get the pasta and waited 10 more minutes. The food itself was terrible - we ordered 2 kids' cheese pizzas, and they were very different; I am sure from frozen boxes. And instead of angel-hair pasta that we ordered, we got spaghetti. We got such a small portion for $15 that we wondered if they just put someone else's leftovers in a box. We are generous tippers, but these folks got nothing from me (they did charge a 15% gratuity on the bill itself - I am not sure for what). If you are staying a the Doubletree and need to eat, take the trouble to go elsewhere. Rioja Grill is the worst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
First I should like to apologize for any inconvenience that experienced during the course of your stay. Our goal at the Doubletree is to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations, in this case we certainly did not attain our goal. I was somewhat surprised by your comments on the food service as are award winning culinary team is widely recognized as the food service leader in the Miami Airport area. In particular we normally receive high marks for Rioja Grille, our fine dining restaurant, which features the finest in Local Fare, Steaks and Fresh Seafood. I was further suprised by your comments on pizza service - in particular since we do not serve pizza on any of our outlet menus - apparently your server was attempting to accomodate your needs and that apparently went arwy, causing a delay in your service. Again I apologize for your experience. I have passed your comments along to our executive chef and restauarant manager for review with their respective teams. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you while in town for your business or leisure travels. While we strive to offer guests the best experience and pride ourselves in our competent staff, we know there is always room for improvement. Your feedback lets us know we need to focus our efforts on consistency in all areas of our operation. We hope that you will return to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the Miami area. We look forward to serving you then –
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a convenient and comfortable hotel near MIA. Just don't be in a hurry to be picked up by the free shuttle. We waited over 1h:20 min to be picked up and were repeatedly told wait 5-10 min. The next shuttle will get you. They never did, always filled the shuttle with guests from another part of their airport first. Upon check in they did not want my hhonors number because I was on a hotel voucher. I assured the receptionist I would be spending $$ in the hotel (and did). It took 3 tries to get him to put the number on record. Finally, we requested info on when to leave for the airport, were given a time, but did not receive the requested wake up call and were not told that the shuttle didn't run then.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We requested a suite and were told that this was the best suite in the hotel. The view out the bedroom window was a rooftop, there was no frig, the closet was in the living room and there were no towel bars in the sink area and we could her noise in the net room. The livingroom furniture was very dated looking and ugly. Very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were here for a weekend, the room was clean and comfortable. We saw a character from HBO hit show The Wire the service was good no complaints. We did not eat at the hotel I prefer the DoubleTree on Biscanye Bay but its just a preference. A lil far from south beach but the expressway was close, this hotel sits in the back so we passed it & had to call for directions. Our overall experience was a good one, we'd stay again if we couldn't find a hotel closer to the attractions in Miami

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

So, this story begins with my wife and I flying on our way back from Dominican Republic. The flight from Santo Domingo with American Airlines had been delayed for over an hour due to a maintenance issue so we were extremely late when we finally got to the Miami airport. We had to run all the way to the other side of the airpot (which is extensive) while stressing out about whether we were goig to make it or not to try and get to our flight but, sadly, they had just closed the door when we arrived. Since it was the airline's fault we missed our flight, they gave us vouchers for a free night's stay at DoubleTree along with dinner and breakfast vouchers.

I decided to call the hotel to see if they had an airport shuttle that we could catch instead of having to pay for a taxi which, luckily, they did. The representative said that she would have a shuttle sent out for us shortly so we made our way to where we needed to meet up with it. Many people had missed their flights this day so that ground transport area was almost a warzone. We watched two DoubleTree shuttles go by us saying that they were full until finally we were able to board the third one (about 30-45 minutes later). It was no wonder we had to wait so long, the shuttle only fit about 10 people but when the shuttle we got into came up, over 30 people were trying to board it. Due to the confusion, only a few people were able to actually board but other people's luggage had been put into the back. There was a short tiff regarding this but the luggage was taken out and we were on our way. In all, the situation was a bit stressful since people were hostile and even running after the shuttle which did not help us try to calm down from the stressful feelings we had experienced already from the runaround we had experienced earlier.

Finally, we arrived at the hotel and it was not what we had expected at all. When an airport gives you a free night somewhere, you expect it to be some nasty, disgusting hotel but this was actually quite upscale and nice. As we walked in, there was a short line but we were easily distracted from that by two large pitchers of drink (a fresh lemonade with lemon slices inside and strawberry infused water with fresh strawberries). They looked delicious! You could tell that the strawberries and lemons were fresh too because they didn't have that dingy/moldy look of fruit that has sat in liquid for awhile. The only downside was that there were no cups!
We finally reached the receptionist who was cheery and happy dispte the many disgruntled new guests who were peeved and angry about missing their flight and decided to take it out on her and the other receptionists. She gave us free cookies and chips as a welcome present and "sorry you missed your flight" gift. The whole check-in was over within 2-3 minutes in which she advised of where our room was, the layout of the hotel, and even got us cups for the drinks!

We decided to get some food since we had the vouchers so we went to the tapas restaurant. Although the menu was on normal printed paper, the food was pretty good. We got the sampler platter, wings, fried yuka and a burger. it was all delicious albeit the wings were a bit salty. The waitress actually used both our dinner and breakfast vouchers for this one meal which was a nice and unexpected surprise since we had not planned on getting breakfast anyways.

We adjourned to our room which I must say also exceed my expectations. The room was nice and quaint with an internet tv (though you have to pay to use that service). Upon entering, being a seasoned traveler, i did an immediate inspection of the room and the bed for bugs (bed bugs especially) and other warying things. Everything came up clean! The comfortable with amazingly soft and comfy so my wife and I went straight to sleep and woke up refreshed. Check out was just as quick as check-in and we were able to catch our flight and make it home.

All in all, although missing the flight and having to stay somewhere unexpectedly overnight was an extremely stressful experience, DoubleTree was definitely able to help keep the end of our vacation from souring completely. If i was ever in the area again or somewhere with a DoubleTree hotel, I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Doubletree is usually a great hotel to stay at! ...Not this time around. The physical appearance was great, the housekeeping staff were impeccable, but the restaurant food was horrible, and the staff at the front desk were lacking in their knowledge and ability to correct a serious issue. While the quality of the ingredients of the food was great, the chef's preparation was horrible. The soup tasted like it was canned or frozen. The crab cakes didn't taste fresh, and the so-called guava glazed pork chop was basically a dry piece of bark smothered in the worst bottled barbecue sauce in the world! Don't blame the wait staff, they were amazing! As for the shoddy service at the front desk, I asked about dry cleaning services on the weekend, they told me I was guaranteed to get everything back by 16:00 Saturday. I gave them my clothes on the Friday night, but almost didn't get them back when I was checking out the Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
First I should like to apologize for the inconvenience that experienced during the course of your stay regarding the handling of you Laundry with our 3rd party cleaning service. Our goal at the Doubletree is to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations, in this case we certainly did not attain our goal. Our staff did react and retrieve your laundry in time for you departure and we did award you 10,000 honors points for you inconvenience, again My apologies. I was somewhat surprised by your comments on the food service as are award winning culinary team is widely recognized as the food service leader in the Miami Airport area. In particular we normally receive very high marks for our crab cakes which are prepared “Maryland Style” with fresh Jumbo lump crabmeat, our soups are made fresh daily and also draw high praise and the Guava Glazed Pork Rib-Eye is a popular local flavor which apparently you did not find to your liking. Again I apologize for your experience. I have passed you comments along to our executive chef for review with his team. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you while in town for your leisure travels. While we strive to offer guests the best experience and pride ourselves in our competent staff, we know there is always room for improvement. Your feedback lets us know we need to focus our efforts on consistency in all areas of our operation. We hope that you will return to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the Miami area. We look forward to serving you then –
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.