We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware the Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Doubletree is usually a great hotel to stay at! ...Not this time around. The physical appearance was great, the housekeeping staff were impeccable, but the restaurant food was horrible, and the staff at the front desk were lacking in their knowledge and ability to correct a serious issue. While the quality of the ingredients of the food was great, the chef's preparation was horrible. The soup tasted like it was canned or frozen. The crab cakes didn't taste fresh, and the so-called guava glazed pork chop was basically a dry piece of bark smothered in the worst bottled barbecue sauce in the world! Don't blame the wait staff, they were amazing! As for the shoddy service at the front desk, I asked about dry cleaning services on the weekend, they told me I was guaranteed to get everything back by 16:00 Saturday. I gave them my clothes on the Friday night, but almost didn't get them back when I was checking out the Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
First I should like to apologize for the inconvenience that experienced during the course of your stay regarding the handling of you Laundry with our 3rd party cleaning service. Our goal at the Doubletree is to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations, in this case we certainly did not attain our goal. Our staff did react and retrieve your laundry in time for you departure and we did award you 10,000 honors points for you inconvenience, again My apologies. I was somewhat surprised by your comments on the food service as are award winning culinary team is widely recognized as the food service leader in the Miami Airport area. In particular we normally receive very high marks for our crab cakes which are prepared “Maryland Style” with fresh Jumbo lump crabmeat, our soups are made fresh daily and also draw high praise and the Guava Glazed Pork Rib-Eye is a popular local flavor which apparently you did not find to your liking. Again I apologize for your experience. I have passed you comments along to our executive chef for review with his team. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you while in town for your leisure travels. While we strive to offer guests the best experience and pride ourselves in our competent staff, we know there is always room for improvement. Your feedback lets us know we need to focus our efforts on consistency in all areas of our operation. We hope that you will return to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the Miami area. We look forward to serving you then –
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    374
    194
    81
    48
See reviews for
204
213
84
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bradenton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

very nice hotel with great staff and accomadations. would definitely stay here again in the future. we stayed here before our flight out of miami on vacation and would do it again.one of our party left their phone on the shuttle and they quickly found it and held it for them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Double Tree Miami Convention Center was an amazing hotel. The staff was very attentive and took care of our every need. We were there on business and first impressions were important. Double Tree delivered a great first impression. We look forward to our next opportunity to work with the Double Tree in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Elegant Hotel with Lots of Services: Shuttle to Airport 24H a day , every 1/2 hour. Park and Fly for your Car in their parking lot as well if you need it! Great Beds and very quiet rooms. Restaurant is So so, the food, but elegant and the Staff all over the Hotel is just the BEST! Nice Bar , Good Concierge and A warm Welcome with a nice warm Cookie upon your arrival! There is a huge shopping Gallery in the back if you have time to kill and some snack foot and espresso counter too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

No honesty from the employees. I forgot my apple tablet charge at room. I call next day to stop by to pick up. The answer was...we did not found anything in the room.....I was furious because I new I left there...one 100% ..... The manage did not do anything about it. I will not stay at this hotel anymore..

Room Tip: No honesty from the employees(room services, housekeeper etc)' and very poor management. For me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
First, I sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience during your stay at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the situation quickly. I have reviewed the security reports regarding the security officer's in-room search for your lost charger. We routinely retrieve hundreds and hundreds of lost chargers annually from our hotel rooms and return them appropriately to their owners, I am sorry that yours was not among them. Please contact me directly so I may assist you further in this matter - I may be reached by telephone at 305-260-8912 or via email at Tferrara@doubletreemacc.com

Sincerely
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The checkin process was terrible. I arrived in the evening at the airport and was told earlier in the day that the shuttle came every 30 minutes. I ended up waiting over an hour for the shuttle and had to call the hotel several times for statut updates even though they said it was on its way. When I arrived at the hotel, there were (no exaggeration) 2 lines of 25 people to check in because a flight had been cancelled. I waited over an hour to check in to the hotel. Other than the checkin process, it was a good hotel experience; however, after a day of traveling, it was not a good first impression.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I should first like to extend my sincere apology for the inconvenience you expereneced during your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that first impressions can be lasting impressions and we certainly do apologize for the shuttle and check-in delays you encountered. I can assure you we were experiencing an abnormal situation involving accommodation for 200+ passengers from cancellled flight at the time of your arrival, but I fully understand your frustration. We are reevaluating your current processes and ways in which we can better deploy our resources. Again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope you'll come back and see us again for a better experience.

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

room smelled old damp and musty....dead roaches in plain sight in hallway upon arrival. Still there upon departure. View from room was horrible. Parking lot had a huge pot hole that you couldn't avoid scratched my front bumper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
First I woudl like to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problems are addressed. We'll also keep in mind your concerns about the parking lot maintenance so we works towards future repairs.

Sincerely

Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.