We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Checkin Process” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Jacksonville
1 review
“Poor Checkin Process”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The checkin process was terrible. I arrived in the evening at the airport and was told earlier in the day that the shuttle came every 30 minutes. I ended up waiting over an hour for the shuttle and had to call the hotel several times for statut updates even though they said it was on its way. When I arrived at the hotel, there were (no exaggeration) 2 lines of 25 people to check in because a flight had been cancelled. I waited over an hour to check in to the hotel. Other than the checkin process, it was a good hotel experience; however, after a day of traveling, it was not a good first impression.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I should first like to extend my sincere apology for the inconvenience you expereneced during your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that first impressions can be lasting impressions and we certainly do apologize for the shuttle and check-in delays you encountered. I can assure you we were experiencing an abnormal situation involving accommodation for 200+ passengers from cancellled flight at the time of your arrival, but I fully understand your frustration. We are reevaluating your current processes and ways in which we can better deploy our resources. Again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope you'll come back and see us again for a better experience.

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    399
    204
    83
    49
See reviews for
220
225
89
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

room smelled old damp and musty....dead roaches in plain sight in hallway upon arrival. Still there upon departure. View from room was horrible. Parking lot had a huge pot hole that you couldn't avoid scratched my front bumper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
First I woudl like to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problems are addressed. We'll also keep in mind your concerns about the parking lot maintenance so we works towards future repairs.

Sincerely

Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is good for the price. However, it is not what you'd expect from a DoubleTree Hilton Hotel. The rooms are not fresh smelling, the A/C doesn't cool properly, and the corridors are not vaccuumed. But again for the price it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed several times at this hotel for meetings held at the convention center. Very close to the airport and Turnpike, this hotel had spacious and comfortable rooms; though I agree that the rooms might be in need of some renovation. Also shuttle service to the airport is frequent and reliable. We didn't use the spa, salon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. They property is overall very nice looking. The room was spacious but a little run down. I had gotten a good deal on the rate and was only there for one night so I didn't care too much about looks. The room was well laid out and had everything I needed. Room service was prompt and nicely done.
It is convenient to the airport. The bellman can set up a shuttle to the Port of Miami. The shuttle is only $10 and the trip to the port only takes about 15 minutes or so. I believe it left at 11:00am so you will get to the port with plenty of time to board.
Great hotel if you are arriving a night before a cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My team and I had the opportunity to stay at the Doubletree for a conference being held at the Miami Airport Convention Center. It's conveniently located near the airport and easy access to the convention center.

It's clear that a good deal of money was spent on the lobby in a recent renovation. The quality of the design is well done and creates and open and vibrant atmosphere. However, the rooms were a disappointment. While they are very spacious, they are in need of a refresh- the carpet is showing wear and the mattresses are needing to be replaced. I was surprised that there wasn't an ergonomic desk chair. The bathroom is dimly lit, however, the bath amenities were outstanding. The hotel was very responsive when my bathroom light burned out and my guestroom HVAC unit stopped working - they repaired both items in a timely fashion. The guestroom corridors are also showing some wear.

This hotel has a lot of potential, especially if some investment is made into renovating the guestrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very close to the airport and Turnpike, this hotel had spacious and comfortable rooms. The beds were heavenly and showers had great pressure. Food was too expensive for a family weekend and had very limited choices for children. $16 breakfast or lunch buffet. Hotel also had excellent service. We didn't use the spa, salon or pool so I can't comment on those. There is also a lot of shopping right in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#41 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.