We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #50 of 130 hotels in Miami
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much potential...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My team and I had the opportunity to stay at the Doubletree for a conference being held at the Miami Airport Convention Center. It's conveniently located near the airport and easy access to the convention center.

It's clear that a good deal of money was spent on the lobby in a recent renovation. The quality of the design is well done and creates and open and vibrant atmosphere. However, the rooms were a disappointment. While they are very spacious, they are in need of a refresh- the carpet is showing wear and the mattresses are needing to be replaced. I was surprised that there wasn't an ergonomic desk chair. The bathroom is dimly lit, however, the bath amenities were outstanding. The hotel was very responsive when my bathroom light burned out and my guestroom HVAC unit stopped working - they repaired both items in a timely fashion. The guestroom corridors are also showing some wear.

This hotel has a lot of potential, especially if some investment is made into renovating the guestrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    261
    142
    64
    36
See reviews for
147
162
65
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very close to the airport and Turnpike, this hotel had spacious and comfortable rooms. The beds were heavenly and showers had great pressure. Food was too expensive for a family weekend and had very limited choices for children. $16 breakfast or lunch buffet. Hotel also had excellent service. We didn't use the spa, salon or pool so I can't comment on those. There is also a lot of shopping right in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for 3 Nights in early May. Not the nicest looking building on the outside but their public areas have been done very tastefully and well kept.
Staff were all very pleasant and service was prompt at the restaurants.

We only had breakfast once. Very tasty and prices were reasonable.

The food at the bar was excellent! We sampled a bunch of their menu items for dinner one evening and all were fantastic. Very reasonable, excellent presentation and quite tasty. I had the Mahi mahi tacos which i would highly recommend.

Rooms are a bit plain but the beds are very comfortable.

Overall the location is primarily why i would return with its close proximity to the airport and it is easy to get to downtown Miami and do some quick shopping. With good food and a soft bed its an excellent place to stay if you are in town for a few days!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location of the hotel very good but breakfast, food quality requires urgent attention. Restaurat smells and poorly decorated with no windows and it was depressing dark. Attention, you need to make sure you provide your own drinking water in your room! But when considering what we pay should get better return. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
First I should like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during the course of your stay. I reviewed both your Trip advisor review and your online correspondence to Hilton, in depth, and it appears that you were greatly disturbed by the lack of bottled water service provided to your room. Unfortunately that is not an amenity provided by the Brand (Hilton) complimentary as a standard guest amenity. The fact is that none of the major brands Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton, Hyatt, etc provide bottled water domestically as a standard guest amenity, perhaps due to the high quality of domestic water production. Bottled water is available in all of our outlets as well as room service on a 24 hour basis. My suggestion for the future would be for you to sign up for one of the brand’s frequent traveler programs which will provide a range of additional amenities such as upgraded rooms, snacks, upgraded room amenities (including water), access to executive lounge, etc.. I am also sorry that you did not care for the décor in our Specialty Restaurant – Rioja Grille, which features the finest in Steaks, Seafood and Pasta with a Latin flair and is very popular locally and normally receives rave reviews. We also feature Impressions Restaurant with exterior views of our tropically landscaped pool area, Again my apologies – if I may be of any future service, please contact me at 305-260-8912 or via email at TFerrara@Doubletreemacc.com
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Anyone flying out of Miami should seriously consider this hotel.No hassle getting to or from the airport,they handle it.Your auto is secure while you are gone.The hotel and staff are friendly and prompt,and the rooms clean and quiet.Not to mention the killer cookies!Don't forget,this Doubletree is in Miami,and not in one of the few 5 star neighborhood's,at that.So,it's location may make you wonder what you are getting into.But,it is that location that makes it perfect for the traveler.And,once you are on the hotel grounds,the location doesn't matter,as the hotel itself is very nice.Highly recommended!Basically,for less than $100.00 more than you would pay for a park and ride service for a week,you get a great nights rest,and free door to door delivery (plus a cookie!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Double Tree at 711 NW 72nd Tree Miami Florida 33126 on Feb. 4th 2013. My Confirmation Number was 84071073. The hotel seemed nice and the staff friendly and apologetic for there were not any cookies available. The room seemed decent but the roach on my towel as I got out of the shower was disturbing. I killed it and flushed it down the toilet. When I woke up the next morning and went to the bathroom roaches were everywhere. Several dozen. They were crawling on my tooth brush, hair brush, toiletry bag, water glass everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
First I would like to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel in February 2013. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional company (Hilton's recommended vendor -Steritech) to address and rectify any pest situations that might occur. We have never experienced an event as described in your review, we immediately contacted Steritech, had them perform a in depth inspeciton of the room/area that you occupied and they found no pest activity what so ever at this time - again my apologies for your experience, we will be contacting you shortly to further discuss your stay and to see how we can regain your confidence on a future stay.

Sincerely,

Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST CRUZ, Aruba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Creme de la creme hotel!! The Place is very safe, clean and peaceful. The hotel restaurant has a great menu and the lobby bar (lounge) is very nice and has a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are very neat, clean and comfy. The parkinglot requires a $7,- a day pay, but is worth every penny since the place is secured.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.