We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis by the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Foxboro
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A little oasis by the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent a day/night at the Doubletree before our cruise. The setting was very beautiful, even though the airport was just across the way a bit. Checking in was quick and easy and we were very happy to be upgraded to the executive floor (we are Honors Members), which was quiet and had it's own little reception area where you could hang out, get waters, access a computer, etc. It also afforded us a free breakfast in the morning, which was an extensive and tasty buffet in one of the two restaurants within the hotel itself. The pool area of this hotel was spacious and well laid out, with bar service available while you lounged. The exercise room was also very spacious with a good variety of aerobic machines and weight machines. There was a shuttle available to the cruise terminal for a nominal fee, and there was also a shuttle available to/from the airport for no cost (which we did not use). Just remember that if you need the shuttle to the cruise terminal, book it the day before. There are only 2 trips over and they do fill up.
Our room was large and comfortable. We did face the airport, which was a bit noisy (at least compared to the Comfort Inn we had stayed at the previous night), and that would be my one recommendation - request a room on the opposite side if you think this would bother you at all.
This hotel has a mall attached to it. And I have to say, it is an odd mall, although I'm not sure I should even call it a mall. It was filled with small mom and pop stores, that all basically sold the same things - a lot of beads stands out in particular. There was a Au Bon Pain in there which was a good alternative to food inside the hotel, but other than that, the space was under utilized to say the least.
We enjoyed our brief stay at the Doubletree, and would certainly consider it again.

Room Tip: If you crave quiet, request a room on the opposite side of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    280
    152
    63
    41
See reviews for
154
167
70
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband is an honors member so they upgraded us to the executive floor. We had a late flight in & an early flight out. Sleep was priority. The hallways were very loud with adults who obviously had a bit too much to drink & lost volume control, but that can happen anywhere. If the halls had been quiet the rooms would have been completely quiet- no street noise
Pros- exec double room was very large- we blew up an extra air mattress in it & it was still huge
- housekeeping immediately brought extra blankets & sheets when asked
-nice view in room with huge windows
-no problems with cleanliness
-we found towels & linens to be clean & of quality
Negatives- NO FRIDGE OR MICROWAVE. (major negative when traveling as a family)
- Room itself did appear a tiny bit worn down
-not enough drinking cups for 4 people- only 2 glasses in room

Shuttle service was acceptable, but if the hotel is full you may get passed up at the airport at least once & wait another 20 minutes for it to come back. We were lucky to get on because he started passing up people flagging after our pickup. (he did pull over & let them know he was full)
In the morning the driver waited 10 minutes before leaving. Perhaps he was told someone else was coming, but we were starting to get worried

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by American Airlines site, as I am a well travelled member with them. Anyhow, I was a little skeptical at first. I guess I missed the shuttle bus coming out of the airport. After waiting for a while, I decided to go in and call them and missed the bus again. (it runs every 30 min) Anyhow, when I finally arrived at the hotel, they apologized for the inconvenience, and welcomed me right away. Get this, they give u these WONDERFUL choco chip cookies at check in! The inside of the htoel is awesome! The rooms are amazing! They have shuttles to/from the Dolphin Mall and the Port of Miami for a small fee. Its a short drive into the city and the beaches.Its a change from where I normally stay in SoBe. The room was massive! the bathroom had tons of towels, and a nice size as well. I believe the bed to be a king, either way, it had a million pillows and was extremely comfy! The housekeepers are a little over ambitious (I think we got our first knock around 830am!) Anyhow, she was extremeley nice and came back later. I think this hotel is geared more for the businessman or woman, and its close to the airport. Didnt really care for the room service breakfast, but we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at multiple Hilton Hotels but never Double Tree. I'm not sure if it's the location or just the staff but this hotel was disgusting. We had dirty towels, stained pillow cases, blood on a pillow, and dirty toiletries. I called and complained and they casually said they would send some new ones up. They never did and I had to call again. The service at the bar/restaurant was horrible. Unless you were an attractive male you just weren't going to get service. The waitresses acted with contempt in even having to take your order, which still took them 15 minutes to accomplish.
This hotel was disgusting and disappointing. I only stayed here for a business trip and I warn others to pay extra and stay somewhere else. It's just not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I must admit that I was relatively shocked by your recent review in “Tripadvisor”; when we spoke to you last week you were very pleased that we had contacted you (based on your review in the Hilton system) and when we left the conversation you were looking forward to returning to the hotel as your group had rebooked their next event at our property. Puzzling – as I must tell you we received rave reviews by en large from your group, who were very complimentary regarding the hotel, staff etc. My apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during the course of you stay. I should also like to apologize for any mis-steps in our lounge, Doubleshot Tapas and Burger Bar, which is very popular with our guests and the locals. I regret that your service was delayed and unsatisfactory – normally our guests are quite pleased with the taste sensations they experience there. I have brought both of your Correspondences to the attention of my Rooms and Food & Beverage management team. I am confident that your experience would not be repeated. In closing, we look forward to serving you at your next event, If I may be of any service in the interim, please contact me at 305-260-8912 or via Tferrara@Doubletreemacc.com
Regards,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business while in Miami. Here are my overall opinions:

1. They have a paid parking area however on two seperate nights the gate was wide open and had no attendant. I suppose sometimes they charge and sometimes they don't.
2. The bar area was very lively but the service was lacking. Orders were brought out very slowly and mixed up on several occasions
3. The front desk needs better training. Was told there were no rooms available upon checkin only 15 minutes later told the first person was confused.
4. The rooms were very clean and overall nice. Nothing spectacular. Did not like the toilet and bathroom door on top of each other. Very bad positioning

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
First I should like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during the course of your stay. Our goal at the Doubletree is to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you while in town for your business travels. While we strive to offer guests the best experience and pride ourselves in our competent staff, we know there is always room for improvement. Your feedback lets us know we need to focus our efforts on consistency in all areas of our operation. I have specifically addressed your concerns with our front office and foodservice outlet team members. We hope that you will return to our hotel when your travels bring you back to the Miami area. We look forward to serving you then –
Regards,
Tony Ferrara
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay hear. We found the rooms spacious. The Hotel has a nice outdoor pool with lounge chairs. It's close to the Airport and offers a free shuttle service. There are stores right at this hotel. There also is a shuttle service to Dolphin Mall for a $10.00 roundtrip per person fee. Most important it's clean and well kept. My only complaint is that I used the business centre and the computer had a virus and I had someone get into my yahoo account and steal my identity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a conveniently located hotel which suffers from service lapses which hold the hotel back from being a really good hotel.

Pros: close to airport, rooms are clean and relatively up to date, decent buffet breakfast starting at 6AM and friendly breakfast staff, a front desk manager (Emile) who tries hard, free night only 30,000 HHonors points, free internet

Cons: airport shuttle service is somewhat unreliable, indifferent/misinformed Hilton HHonors check-in staff, no Doubletree cookie :(

We booked an award night during the week (and requested a quiet room on a high floor) and called the hotel after we arrived at MIA to confirm whether the airport shuttle had left the hotel (it runs every half hour from the hotel). Unfortunately for us, it took almost an hour for the shuttle (which had the words "Doubletree" in somewhat small font) to arrive despite the hotel front desk manager assuring us that the shuttle was "on its way and would arrive in 7 minutes" - while it was raining, it took the van driver only about 10 minutes to make it back to the hotel, so who knows what happened to the shuttle between the hotel and the airport. On the other hand, the shuttle to the airport in the morning left on time and took less than 10 minutes (in dry weather) to get to MIA airport.

I should add that our request for a quiet room on a high floor was honored and that Emile (front desk manager) tried to remedy the shuttle issue by comping the decent buffet breakfast, which was a nice gesture. However, when I asked the front desk staff where breakfast was served, I was directed to the wrong restaurant (Impressions) instead of the correct one (Rioja Grill). Also, I requested (as a Hilton HHonors member) a room upgrade but was told by the woman at the HHonors check-in that it was unavailable, and was not offered the Doubletree cookie at check-in nor was provided an explanation as to why no cookie was forthcoming. Also, while there is a business center and a dedicated station for printing boarding passes on the ground floor, the station was out of commission and all of the business center computers were *really* slow - time to upgrade those systems!

The shuttle mishap, muddled service by the front desk, missing cookie, misdirection for the breakfast buffet, non-functioning boarding pass station, and slow business center computers are small details but these add up.

I would consider staying at the Doubletree if I could get an assurance from Emile that the shuttle and other service issues are addressed.

Room Tip: Join Hilton HHonors and request a room upgrade at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.