We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average for a Hilton Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #50 of 130 hotels in Miami
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just average for a Hilton Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this property for one night before boarding a cruise ship in Miami. The plus was that it did offer a 24hour complimentary airport shuttle - important for us since our flight did not arrive until after midnight. A lot of hotel shuttles end at 11pm. The hotel is somewhat dated but clean. I was disappointed that breakfast was not free, though wi-fi was. The location of the hotel is such that you are limited to the hotel restaurant - I did not see anything within immediate walking distance. Other than a gas station nearby, we saw no other retail/eating establishments within a couple of blocks - not a tourist friendly location. The pool area was nice as was every staff member we encountered. The hotel works with an outside service to provide shuttle service to the cruise port for a fee of $10 per person. This shuttle was on time, fast and efficient. The 3 of us in our group could have taken a taxi for $25 total vs. $30 for the shuttle, but the concierge talked us out of that, stating that it could be difficult to get a taxi at the time we desired. I don't think this would have been the case. There is probably a kick-back from the shuttle service to the hotel. The shuttle service did stop at 2 other ships 1st to let passengers out before arriving at our ship, but that is just the way it is, based on the line up of ships in port.

This hotel would not be my first choice if going back to Miami for a pre or post cruise stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with prior to your cruise trip and we appreciate your feedback about some improvements we can make to our offerings. We never want to be anything less than helpful and apologize if you felt mislead by our shuttle service vendor's recommendations. We've shared your comments with our Rooms Division Manager, the vendor and front office associates so this can be addressed in the future and can assure you that our intentions are to have honest and valuable suggestions. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Please contact me at your earliet convenience if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara,
TFerrara@doubletreemacc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    263
    143
    64
    36
See reviews for
147
163
65
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
miami,fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night. The stay was ok, the staff was very nice and helpful at the front desk and the cafe had decent service. The room was alright, but it was not cleaned very well and i noticed some chips on some furniture. The hotel has some stores with clothing in the plaza shopping area, so i did a little bit of shopping before i left. Definitely stop by the dress shop infront of the cafe- they had amazing stuff! I also noticed in the bathrooms of the lobby and by the stores that it wasn't very clean, so hotel management might want to look into better cleaning people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This property is a Hilton Doubletree hotel located close to the airport with fairly easy access to downtown Miami. The rooms are average for a Doubletree and airport hotel location.
The pool area is okay, not great, but the South Beach is where you would go for leisure time or fun in the sun. The restaurant is typical with good food choices from salmon to pasta.
I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Parking is located on the side of hotel with a daily fee separate from hotel with easy access to hotel and lobby area.

Room Tip: Book a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after a flight was cancelled. British Airways gave us meal vouchers for the 24 hour period. The meal vouchers were for 30, 25 and 15 dollars for dinner, lunch and breakfast respectively. However when we checked in the reception staff issued vouchers for 25, 20 and 15 dollars only. When I queried this they said it was an "oversight" but they then proceeded to try the same ruse with all 80 passengers from the same cancelled flight who were checking in, deducting 10 dollars from the total value of the meal vouchers.
For a hotel of this standard this was very disappointing and worrying. How much money has the hotel taken dishonestly in this way over the years?
The quality of the rooms etc. was good, but this incident soured our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I must apologize for the misunderstanding and inconvenience that you may have experienced due to the voucher situation. However I must also inform you that your speculative accusations are very much in error. First the hotel is not paid by "voucher" it is allowed to invoice the airline with a guest check attached to a guest room folio with appropriate documentation (signed registration card, etc). In the Case of the airline mentioned in your correspondence they issue a hotel voucher which also has printed on it (1) Breakfast at USD 0, (1) Luncheon at USD 0, (1) Dinner USD 0. In the event that the Airline does wish to compensate the guest for meals - they send a Fax document directly to the hotel with the dollar values 'not to exceed' that they will reimburse the hotel to cover their guest's meal expense. The hotel then issues meal vouchers (at check-in) with the appropriate airline specified dollar values. The hotel is paid only the total of the guest check up to this dollar value as specified by the airline. In the event that the hotel did lower the airline specified dollar value it would lose potential revenue and gain absolutely nothing. After your correspondence was noted, my controller and I personally audited all of the airline BA vouchers for the past 3 months and found that all hotel meal vouchers had been issued in accordance with the faxed airline instructions. There were several vouchers with hand-written dollar amounts without signature and airline authorization stamp; in which case the "faxed" voucher value would have superseded the handwritten unauthorized totals. My recommendation is that going forward should you have a question or issue while staying at any full service hotel as the guest of an airline, that you bring it to the attention of the "Manager On Duty" of the hotel who will be happy to contact the airline on your behalf to resolve any issues. Again, I must apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. I know that being displaced by an airline can be a very frustrating experience. In the event that I may be of any further service on this issue or may assist you in the future, please contact me directly at 305-260-8912 or via TFerrara@doubletreemacc.com.

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after getting our return flight canceled to ORD. We were stuck in MIA and ended up staying here. It was a nice find due to its amenities. There are a few restaurants to chose from which were all appealing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this property duriing a business trip last week. It was approximately a 10-minute ride from the airport, so great convenience. Pricing in this area is fairly high but once you get below this price point, the reviews and service at other properties is not recommended.

There is self-parking available for $7 per night and free wi-fi. Front desk staff were a little aloof but friendly and helpful. I did like that on-site dining offered several options if you don't have the opportunity to get out and about. There is a sports bar-type area in the lobby and a sit down restaurant nearby, both reasonably priced. There was also a pool area.

I found my room to be extremely clean, comfortable and large. I did not hear much hall noise during the course of the evenings and was able to sleep comfortably. I did not use the shuttle service but I saw that it was available.

I would recommend this hotel and will certainly use it again if I need to stay near the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor and above are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked on booking.com for about £125 for a double room over the holiday season - good price!!
We arrived late at night at Miami airport and were irritated to wait over 30mins for the shuttle and when it arrived it was full! I called the hotel and we waited another 15 mins for the next one to arrive.
Lovely warm cookies on arrival which soon cheered us up!
We booked two double rooms and had an extra single in one of them. rooms were a good size, very clean and modern. Big tv, clean and modern bathroom, plenty of fresh towels and toiletries to add.
We ate at one of the restaurants for dinner and one for breakfast, normal hotel prices but with good qulaitty and choice of foods for all.
The pool are was lovely and large, plenty of sunlight as well as shady areas, secluded area not overly viewed by other hotel guests.. the jacuzzi was out of order.
There is a selction of shops at this hotel which all looked modern however we didnt require any of them.
Concierge was helpful with the luggage.
Good value hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.