We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft by voucher? Very disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Theft by voucher? Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after a flight was cancelled. British Airways gave us meal vouchers for the 24 hour period. The meal vouchers were for 30, 25 and 15 dollars for dinner, lunch and breakfast respectively. However when we checked in the reception staff issued vouchers for 25, 20 and 15 dollars only. When I queried this they said it was an "oversight" but they then proceeded to try the same ruse with all 80 passengers from the same cancelled flight who were checking in, deducting 10 dollars from the total value of the meal vouchers.
For a hotel of this standard this was very disappointing and worrying. How much money has the hotel taken dishonestly in this way over the years?
The quality of the rooms etc. was good, but this incident soured our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I must apologize for the misunderstanding and inconvenience that you may have experienced due to the voucher situation. However I must also inform you that your speculative accusations are very much in error. First the hotel is not paid by "voucher" it is allowed to invoice the airline with a guest check attached to a guest room folio with appropriate documentation (signed registration card, etc). In the Case of the airline mentioned in your correspondence they issue a hotel voucher which also has printed on it (1) Breakfast at USD 0, (1) Luncheon at USD 0, (1) Dinner USD 0. In the event that the Airline does wish to compensate the guest for meals - they send a Fax document directly to the hotel with the dollar values 'not to exceed' that they will reimburse the hotel to cover their guest's meal expense. The hotel then issues meal vouchers (at check-in) with the appropriate airline specified dollar values. The hotel is paid only the total of the guest check up to this dollar value as specified by the airline. In the event that the hotel did lower the airline specified dollar value it would lose potential revenue and gain absolutely nothing. After your correspondence was noted, my controller and I personally audited all of the airline BA vouchers for the past 3 months and found that all hotel meal vouchers had been issued in accordance with the faxed airline instructions. There were several vouchers with hand-written dollar amounts without signature and airline authorization stamp; in which case the "faxed" voucher value would have superseded the handwritten unauthorized totals. My recommendation is that going forward should you have a question or issue while staying at any full service hotel as the guest of an airline, that you bring it to the attention of the "Manager On Duty" of the hotel who will be happy to contact the airline on your behalf to resolve any issues. Again, I must apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. I know that being displaced by an airline can be a very frustrating experience. In the event that I may be of any further service on this issue or may assist you in the future, please contact me directly at 305-260-8912 or via TFerrara@doubletreemacc.com.

Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    308
    168
    66
    45
See reviews for
168
177
78
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after getting our return flight canceled to ORD. We were stuck in MIA and ended up staying here. It was a nice find due to its amenities. There are a few restaurants to chose from which were all appealing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this property duriing a business trip last week. It was approximately a 10-minute ride from the airport, so great convenience. Pricing in this area is fairly high but once you get below this price point, the reviews and service at other properties is not recommended.

There is self-parking available for $7 per night and free wi-fi. Front desk staff were a little aloof but friendly and helpful. I did like that on-site dining offered several options if you don't have the opportunity to get out and about. There is a sports bar-type area in the lobby and a sit down restaurant nearby, both reasonably priced. There was also a pool area.

I found my room to be extremely clean, comfortable and large. I did not hear much hall noise during the course of the evenings and was able to sleep comfortably. I did not use the shuttle service but I saw that it was available.

I would recommend this hotel and will certainly use it again if I need to stay near the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor and above are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked on booking.com for about £125 for a double room over the holiday season - good price!!
We arrived late at night at Miami airport and were irritated to wait over 30mins for the shuttle and when it arrived it was full! I called the hotel and we waited another 15 mins for the next one to arrive.
Lovely warm cookies on arrival which soon cheered us up!
We booked two double rooms and had an extra single in one of them. rooms were a good size, very clean and modern. Big tv, clean and modern bathroom, plenty of fresh towels and toiletries to add.
We ate at one of the restaurants for dinner and one for breakfast, normal hotel prices but with good qulaitty and choice of foods for all.
The pool are was lovely and large, plenty of sunlight as well as shady areas, secluded area not overly viewed by other hotel guests.. the jacuzzi was out of order.
There is a selction of shops at this hotel which all looked modern however we didnt require any of them.
Concierge was helpful with the luggage.
Good value hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Double Tree was an excellent choice with friendly and helpful staff, very nice room, both in size and furnishings, overall an excellent hotel. We took advantage of the pool area and the kids really enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again. The shuttle service to airport was fast and the driver very courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel many years ago when it was another brand (Marriott maybe ?), as I used to go to shows at the attached convention center. I always found the convenience and the rooms worthy of the high room rates. The room rates are still high, but definitely not worth it. My room was dirty: hair in the tub, carpet kind of ratty. My room had some maintenance issues that needed to be addressed: picture frames were chipped, bathroom sink stopper was stuck in the down position, fan in bathroom screeched terribly. Housekeeping for this room obviously were not doing their job as the coffee set up came with no sweetener/.sugar or stir sticks, garbage in bottom of bin. Definitely not worth the money. I would have requested another room, but by the time I discovered the problems it was after 10 pm and was checking out the next morning. I did let the front desk clerk know on checkout, but she didn't seem to care, I got an "O.K.", no "sorry for that" or "thanks for letting us know". Very, very disappointing, won't stay here again. Not sure what's going on with Hilton Hotels, but last property I stayed at (a favorite of ours) was really below acceptable standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a beautiful property! Very clean. The food was fabulous. Very pleasant staff. I have stayed at one other Doubletree and I would stay at either one again. Pool area was nice and clean with photographic landscaping.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the prettier the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.