We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and staff with no soul. Beware - of underhand tactics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #51 of 129 hotels in Miami
Bala, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hotel and staff with no soul. Beware - of underhand tactics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Three of us were booked in Dec 29th 2012 by U.K. agents Imagine Cruising for an overnight stop before returning to U. K. Surly reception staff confirmed a booking in our name but said it had been cancelled by hotelbeds.com (a third party booking) The reception staff said there was no room to allocate to us and rooms in other hotels were booked up! Presumably they thought they could scare us into parting with money.
Since two of us have been involved in Tourism for more than 20 years we were not phased.
We stated that we were familiar with the trick of cancelling in order to bring in a higher room rate.
We phoned the U.K.agents who passed on our message to the emergency help team.
3 refreshment vouchers were issued to us at this stage whilst we waited for U.K. advice.
Within 2 hours U.K. agents came through and we were checked in to a nice room and the free courtesy bus to airport next day was useful.
It is shameful for such practices to blight the name of HILTON and for staff not to show courtesy to foreign tourists on their last night stay in Miami. No apology was forthcoming. Staff TRAINING
needed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    263
    143
    63
    37
See reviews for
148
163
66
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This Hotel is perfect for the business traveler. Close to the airport and only about 20-25 mins from downtown (without traffic). The hotel was clean. When I stayed I was lucky enough to stay on the 11th floor which was the executive level, where I got to have breakfast in the floors own lounge instead of eating downstairs with everyone else. It was nice because there were few other people up there. The breakfast was good, can't complain. The only issue with the room was that the bolt on the back of the door frame (which locks the flipover lock at night), was broken. But I told the staff at the front desk and they sent a staff member up right away to fix it.

Room Tip: Ask for the 11th floor if you can, so that you can have a quiet breakfast in the small executive lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This review is of the DoubleShot Restaurant located inside the DoubleTree Hilton in Miami, Florida. I just want to say that the drinks, food, ambience, and service is wonderful. My family and I dined there on our way to our Carnival Ship last spring. We dined on quesadillas, ceviche with crab, burgers, and fries. We all had strawberry Margaritas. Lots of them!!! We did not go at a busy time, so the service was fast. The food was great and we just want to say that!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel over sold and we booked and confirmed with hotel for subtle bed and non smoking because we have a child with asthma issue. The counter manager just rude and said you booked with third party and no guarantee. It was good when I called 1 week ago now it's not because over sold? She even told me if you don't like it just cancel and she will refund. It's 8 pm and where do I find another one? Just unacceptable with really bad attitude! Do not recommend!!! They will put you into toilet if they can or have to if you book thru third party!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, staff extremely helpful. Was able to find the cheapest way to South Beach. Had some lunch, was decent. As always, depends on how much you pay? Overall, no complaints, takes 10 minutes on their shuttle to/from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start. I first stayed here in April of 2012 and the rude staff made the one night terrible. After being contact by Mark ----- ( sales manager ) I took there offer to redeem the hotel by offering me 2 free nights. I returned on 6/03 and left on 6/08. The 1st 2 nights were OK however on 3rd day the same problems I faced the 1st time I stayed there came back. I was cursed at by a front desk employee ( Maria ) reservations Supervisor. Amile front desk supervisor is rude. TheGeneral Manager Tony just walked around with his nose stuck up in the air giving you dirty looks. The room was clean and the girls working the executive lounge was nice especially Samantha. Bree was the only friendly person who worked the front desk. Both F&B managers Jose and Fabian were very nice and friendly and was Well pleased with the service they provided. All the restaurant staff was nice. I would like to statethat i am a Hilton Diamond member and stay in approx 300 Hilton properties a year. I believe the problem with this hotel falls under bad management. Rude and hateful management equals bad and rude employees. Bottom line iwould never stay here again or recommed this place to anyone. I would suggest staying at a motel 6 first cause that's the level of service you will receive from the management.
THE WORSE HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. TERRIBLE STAFF AND MANAGEMENT.. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We used a room at the DoubleTree while connecting flights to S. America. They were able to check us in WAY before check in time. The breakfast at the place was great and included several hot food items. The rooms were spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. The pool area was nice and not crowded. The shuttle runs every half hour to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#43 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Lobby, lobby bar, signature restaurant, club loungeMiami's newest convention center over 172,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.