We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super short stay, very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super short stay, very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

On the way back from the Keys and with a very early flight the next morning, this stay was just supposed to be a super short overnight stopover.
Everything went well, starting with the parking: a guy at the entrance (a parking guy? a bell captain? who knows..) actually let me park for free since I had to stay just a few hours: no pressure, a quick chat in spanish and he agreed.
We were welcomed as HHguests with cookies through a very fast check in and we were given a room on the executive floor: excellent plus, since I used internet (and the printer) that night, which helped me a lot with a pending reservation I had to deal with. Again, free of charge.
The room was spacious, modern and fully equipped at a reasonable price.
Should I stay again in the proximity of the airport I would pick this hotel again for sure.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    383
    198
    81
    48
See reviews for
209
217
86
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by Priceline. We had no trouble getting a double queen room and a rollaway for our party of 5. The rooms are large, and the soundproofing is excellent. Our room had a newly remodeled bathroom. Everything in the room was clean and comfortable. There is a wholesale apparel mall attached to the hotel, and they sell to the public. Fun place to shop.

Tip--if your flight into MIA arrives at night and your plans include a rental car, consider using the hotel's free shuttle and spending the night at the hotel. Then, next morning, get your car from one of the off-airport locations--they'll pick you up at the hotel and you'll save a bundle! You can still return your car to the airport at the end of your trip--some companies (such as Hertz) have no drop charge for this.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the building have a triangular corner that gives you a bay window for a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

As I missed a connection in Miami I got to experience this hotel and it's not one I would recommend. It starts with an airport shuttle service that only runs every 30 minutes and goes downhill from there. The evening shuttle was a small van so it got packed, no thought of sending another one. The hotel seems like its the furthest of the airport hotels too. Checking wasnt very friendly, didn't think it was worthwhile adding my Diamond HHonors number to the stay and then dumped me in a room with a broken security lock and a musty smell. Phone was blocked for 1-800 calls as they hadn't a credit card number on file. Breakfast in itself wasn't too bad but the mediocre service let it down.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago when I had an overnight layover in Miami. I booked it on hotwire at a pretty reasonable rate. Compared to other places that I have booked on internet booking sites, this one did not require a credit card at check in. This meant that you could not charge anything to the room, which was fine since we were only overnighting there. The decor looks to be relatively new. They could probably have put a fresh coat of paint on the ceiling a and made sure the bathroom had toilet paper. Also the bathroom had hair all over it still. The hotel has ample parking which they charge guests for. This is a bit of a rip off since similar hotels in the area do not charge for parking. All in all, it was a good place to stay overnight. If you want a place with more to do around it then you should stay at a place that is not near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Have gotten decent pricing for this property through hilton.com. Location leaves a lot to be desired, but it is convenient to University of Miami and surrounding area. Staff can be slow at times at check-in, but all in all, this is a decent value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Please note: I am not that difficult to please, but I was highly disappointed in this hotel. My husband and I stayed here the night before our international flight out of MIA for our honeymoon. This was the only damper on our honeymoon, thankfully! Our first sign that this was not going to be a good stay was the fact that the parking lot attendant did not speak English. At ALL. Thankfully my husband speaks a tiny bit of Spanish or we could still be sitting there. Once we were out of the car, we were overwhelmed by the smell of jet fuel. It was nausiating. The line to check in was outrageous, people cutting and not understanding the concept of a line. The desk people did apologize and said they had several events going on and it was a crazy night.

We got to the room eventually but it was not the cleanest as I discovered from I walking around without shoes and my feet turned a little black on the bottom. :( The room was better than the hallway though, which was littered with trash strewn all down the hall. I am pretty sure they hadn't vacuumed in at least two months. I was unable to sleep all night because I am a light sleeper and the sound of jets landing and taking off all hours of the night is impossible to sleep through.

Our last straw with this place was the shuttle in the morning. We had returned our rental car thinking we could take the shuttle from the airport in the morning....nope!! We waited for 55 mins and the shuttle never arrived. It was supposed to come every 20-30 mins. We were afraid of being late and called a cab and got to the airport to find and huge line for our airline and narrowly made our flight. I would not stay here again unless I absolutely had to.

The only saving grace was the room service....my husband thought the pizza was some of the best he's ever had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hubby and I had a wonderful stay here. The room was comfy and cozy. The staff was exceptionally nice, including the very sweet maids that went above and beyond helping us. The warm cookies were delicious and I wish I did not eat so many of them.

My only issue is that the walls are a bit thin. I could hear the people's tv next door. Despite this, it was quiet when I slept. Each morning there was a low, tapping... Might be construction. I might have deducted a star for this, but I feel the hotel is reviewed unfairly.

The parking lot was located adjacent to the building, was well lit and felt completely safe.

The body products smell great and I love that they are natural, sulfate and paraban free.

When priceline assigned me to this hotel, I was nervous based on some of the poor reviews. We had a wonderful stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#39 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#37 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.