We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Miami

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 Miami
7330 North-West 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166 (Formerly Best Inn Miami Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 131 hotels in Miami
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location - basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel is perfect if you want a cheap place to overnight close to MIA. It is no good if you want luxury or atmosphere. There is no coffee shop and was no actual coffee when we rose at 0630 to get our flight. The room is basic but comfortable but the hotel is on a very busy dual carriageway so watch out for night noise from this as well as the airport nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    2
    12
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manresa, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

Much the same experience as other reviewers... a terrible hotel but it was late at night (and we had tired little kids to consider) so at first were willing to tolerate it but after coming back from getting something to eat (and leaving AC on) the room was crawling in cockroaches. In the bed, sink, fridge and on our cases. We left immediately and went to the nearby Days Inn which is a much better budget option and I feel safe taking my family there.

Funny thing is that as we stormed out the desk guy acted horrified and ashamed... "first time anyone has complained".

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, Owner at Motel 6 Miami, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We took over the Hotel this past June and we are in the process of renovation. I can assure you that the place is much cleaner. If a bug is seen, our exterminator is called immediately. Miami is a tropical location and summer time breeds insects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We needed to be close to the airport so that's why we made this choice. The photo galery on their site must have been taken somwhere else, doesn't look like that. Rooms are bare and gruby, bathroom could need an extreme makeover, beds must have been in the room since the opening of the hotel back in 1900. Wireless internet only in the hallway among the cockcroaches. Charming front desk, not!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

Got stuck in Miami because of flight delays and were told that every room in town was booked because of events.

Then we heard about this place.

We got there and stood in line for 45 minutes while they slowly checked people in. Most people seemed to be so happy to find a bed that they would have settled for anything at midnight.

After we checked in we went to the room. This was probably a chain restaurant once-upon-a-time but I'm sure it was de-listed a long time ago. Everything painted bright white, but Dirty. Poorly maintained. The locks didn't appear to work so we decided to keep our luggage with us while we got something to eat.

When we came back, someone else was in the bed !

They claimed that since we didn't leave our things in the room that we had "checked out" and they were free to rent to the room to someone else. WHAT A JOKE !

They didn't want to refund our money until I stepped outside and flagged down a police car.

We went back to the Airport and slept on the floor. A far more satisfying accomodation.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dishonest business practices. Poor service.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Do not waste your money! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! We were turned away when we first got there because our room wasn't clean. We came back 2 hours later to check in and got the same story ("come back in 30 mins and it'll be ready"). Came back another 2 hours later and heard the same thing. When we finally got into our room, it had definitely not been cleaned! The towels were filthy and there was dried urine on the toilet seat! Not only that but there were "skid-marks" on all the chairs, the ceiling in the bathroom was literally falling down, cockroaches in the bathroom and after walking on the carpet barefoot for an hour, my feet were black! To top it off, I also got bit by bed bugs. Lovely. The health department needs to pay a visit to this hotel!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

In fact when I reserved this hotel I was not expecting somenthing good, and I made the reservation because at that week there was so many events in Miami that was almost impossible find a room (or at least a room for less than US$ 300). But this hotel is worst then my worst nightmare. Dirty, with a terrible smell in the room, the oldest furniture I ever saw in a hotel, and no one can feel safe inside or outside the hotel. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville,TN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

First thing to understand: budget rooms in Florida are a ripoff. Even $US100 a night gets you the cheapest, shabbiest rooms on the market (recent experience also Orlando, Tampa, W Palm Beach) - double what. you'll pay in other states At some, as here, cheapest room has no microwave or fridge - you can pay extra for a fridge but, if you'd just like a cold drink, crushed ice is free - just throw coldies and ice in bathroom sink. Free wifi lobby only. Staff cold. Breakfast better than some (but still basic - coffee's awful, but it is everywhere in US). I've had a month in Florida and it's a state to avoid in you're on a budget.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Miami

Also Known As:
Best Inn Miami
Miami Best Inn
Address: 7330 North-West 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166 (Formerly Best Inn Miami Airport)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 131 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Miami FL is centrally located near Miami International Airport, Miami River, Tahiti Beach, and Parrot Jungle & Gardens. Enjoy a warm, inviting, family-oriented environment with modern rooms, free Wi-Fi and local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.