We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Considering its Age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Miami Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Miami Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5101 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Miami from $99
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Considering its Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I got stuck at the Hilton Hotel in Miami when my flight got cancelled. It's very close to the airport so if that's important, you can't go wrong with this hotel. You can definitely see its age however everything was still kept up nice. I didn't get a chance to check out anything besides the bar and room but I felt comfortable in both.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    747
    307
    96
    58
See reviews for
460
517
115
430
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

OK so i think almost every Miami airport hotel seems to be undergoing renovation which is of course good and bad depending on how the hotel handles the changes as they take place. So let me start with some good things, the room itself was really nicely appointed, super comfy beds, really stylish furniture, great business desk, nicely designed bathroom, in fact nothing negative about the room except some odd noises seemed to filter through from somewhere on odd occasions. Not sure if the restaurant and bar are presently the size they will be after remodelling, certainly the bar is tiny and pretty unexciting in its design or lack of it. The restaurant opens to the lobby with some effort to shield the two areas but the noise of the escalators chunters on right through your dinner. Breakfast is busy so i did not notice the noise even though i was more or less in the same area. The waiting staff in the restaurant were very good, polite, fast efficient at both dinner and breakfast. I had a pretty disastrous dinner, there was no new york steak so they substituted that with rump at the same price but it was very tough and chewy and i had to leave more than 40% in just fat and grizzle. I was just off a long flight and hungry and ready to sleep otherwise i would not have eaten what i did. The waiter tried to tell me it was most likely because I had asked for medium to well. When i pointed out to him the steak was actually between medium rare and medium but still tough he seemed a little taken aback but at least apologised and offered to change it. When the bill came they had not charged at all for the steak, i said i was prepared to pay for it as i had eaten all the veggies and half the steak but the waiter stuck to his offer. Breakfast was busy but great, massive selection and again polite and efficient wait staff, infact all the wait staff seemed pleasant and fast. Even the maitre 'D was talking to customers and clearing tables to keep things moving. The lady seating everyone was certainly kept busy, when I left breakfast there was a long queue all the way back into the lobby, maybe why the young lady never smiled once, figure she could have someone explain her that a smile costs nothing and customers actually like it. The bartender was completely overwhelmed and took 15 minutes to get to my table. She did make a great Chocolate Martini but had no time to chat to customers and most seemed to stop for one drink and leave during the time i was in there, for the same reason i stayed only for one! I hope that in their planning they are making the bar and restaurant larger and adding some more bar staff. (Sofitel bar a few blocks away has at least 4 staff) On the first morning only one of four elevators was working and there were a lot of angry folks squeezing in running late for checking out. I think on balance the hotel offers and at the right prices to be considered a good airport stop though I just feel senior management may not have their eye on the ball in a few areas as highlighted. Worst of all was the morning run to the airport. A bus with 14 seats turned up for the first run at 5 am - There was about 20 - 25 passengers all with lots of luggage, we were all squashed on the bus standing up, I suspect breaking some local loading laws as no one was prepared to miss their planes. Luggage was not co-ordinated so at every stop everything came out and then had to go back in again, even though the buses come at 15 - 20 minute intervals according to front desk, i just think this was handled badly and if the first bus always attracts such high traffic they should have a back up plan to have a second bus at 5 am. I realise the bus transfer is part of the deal but every airport hotel offers free transport as a sort of standard service. For great F & B a trip to nearby Sofitel would help management maybe fix some of their own issues. The dinner menu was pretty basic and short for a hotel of this size.To finish on a good note, front desk staff were pleasant and my wake up calls came right on time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff...clean updated rooms, nice pool area. They run a shuttle, when I called to check on schedule, the operator had me hold while she contacted the driver, and there he was 4 minutes later....a pretty good distance from the airport but there seems to be a lot of construction diversion. Dining is very limited..you would have to drive offsite for a simple meal but we ate in the dining room and had good service and food $$ ...flatiron steak cooked perfect and good flavors...
would definitely use this hotel again, really good value...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As we entered I was unhappy! Had to get ticket at gate no person on duty! Then guy at front desk was rude to my wife when she asked for a recommendation for dinning? Then I find out you have to pay to park with a room? Now come on is it really getting that tough for the Hilton's could have parked for free at best western and had a cheaper room! O as far as room went was just ok says just remodeled but maybe just the chair! No fan in room in Miami? Really! Well over all I would not suggest this over priced dump!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed September 28th. The Pre Cruise Special was an awesome deal, yet you are near the Airport. Room was clean and spotless. Hotel staff was super nice, complimentary breakfast was good, especially the fresh squeezed Orange Juice. Bed was comfortable. The shuttle to the cruise ship was well worth it. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was very nice and clean. And the staff helpful and friendly. My only compliant is that our room was practically on the runway and very loud every time a plane took off. Will find another place on our next Miami trip.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on the 10th floor. Ask for a room as far away from the airplanes as you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Initially thought we would not enjoy our stay of one night at this property. This proved to be incorrect as soon as we entered the spacious and well-appointed room. The front desk person who checked us in was not familiar with any of the things we inquired re: upgrade, executive lounge (there is none)....courtesy bottles of water (he said to use the two in the room)...DO NOT do this. You will be billed 3,50 a bottle. The free bottled must be obtained with a little card that should be given to you upon check-in and then presented to the gift shop in the lobby. Breakfast is included for elite members and is really very good. Service is excellent, food quality and preparation way above average and the shuttle drivers are very courteous and helpful. It is an extremely busy property. Cruise passengers, people as we were...overnighting before or after a flight, social events, lots of activity. In the morning we took the shuttle back to the airport and then the train to the rental car area. Very convenient. Overall it is a great spot and we would not hestitate to stay there again. The front desk needs a bit of work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Miami
Sofitel Miami
#32 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Airport

Address: 5101 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.