We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Miami from $169
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My husband and I chose this hotel to stay at prior to leaving on a cruise from Miami. He is a pilot and stays occasionally at Embassy Suites hotels when working and is usually pretty happy with them. This hotel though was a complete dissapointment.

It started with the front desk. There was one woman manning the desk who was engaged in a 10 minute conversation someone who was not checking in. The line grew very quickly as the bus was full coming from MIA. There was no real order to the checking in process and two gentleman got into it over who was next in line (luckily, I was first).

Our room was near the elevators so we heard screaming from kids and noise until very late in the evening. Part of the problem was the elevators took forever to move from floor to floor. The room smelled funny but that was probably the "swampy" smell that seems common in Miami. The "managers reception" or whatever it's called was ridiculous. The line for the bar was dozens of people long and the snacks were popcorn and pretzels. I didn't see anything else.

The steakhouse was horrid. It took 15 minutes to be seated and another 10 before we saw a waiter. The place was virtually empty. My husband's meal was some sort of bruschetta with bread that was rock hard and didnt resemble any sort of bruschetta I'm familiar with. The shrimp on the plate had to be cleaned as it was not deviened and had the tails attached. The whole thing was just a mess. I told him to send it back and get something else but we were both starving so we ate. While we were eating, there were kids walking back and forth in bathing suits...completely inappropriate.

The one thing that did run smoothly was the shuttle to the pier. They were on time and very efficient. I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Manager at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the troubles you encountered on your recent stay.

We have certainly taken your concerns seriously and discussed your review with our team in order to find ways to improve both our quality of check-in and food & beverage service.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back and demonstrate the improvements we have made thanks to your input.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    445
    243
    136
    116
See reviews for
530
314
71
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This Embassy Suites seemed to be a little older (less up to date than others) but was fine for an overnight stay between flights at MIA. Website claimed that it was on public transportation lines, if this was the case the concierge had no idea. Ended up spending lots of money on cabs to get around. Definitely would not stay here if you wanted to visit any part of Miami.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Although this Embassy Suites appears a bit older than some, it is maintained well and staff are helpful. The pool area is nice with a lovely cat who makes his home there. The workout area is small and the business center offers a few computers and limited black/white printing. Rooms are decent suites with small microwave, fridge, bar/sink and living room. Beds are comfortable (except for fold out sofa) but biggest concern was that the lone bathroom opens off the bedroom with no access from living room area (we've stayed at other Embassy Suites where the bathroom can be accessed without going into the bedroom) or is accessed from both sides. Seems like a small concern but with 5 of us (2 teenage girls and 3 adults) staying in the room, traffic into the bathroom was constant.

The breakfast buffet can be rather chaotic during the peak hours. The hotel offers a manager's happy hour and although they offer a limited selection of mixed drinks, it is rather bland (i.e. popcorn).

The biggest draw back to this hotel is that it is very far away from anything and nothing else within walking distance except for a Bennigan's restaurant. We decided to try and catch a bus down to the Bayside Marketplace/Biscayne Bay. This was a challenge as we had to walk approx 3 blocks on a busy street (no sidewalks) then once we caught the bus we had to change buses again in an area that might be somewhat risky especially at night. We used taxis quite a bit and one way to Bayside/Downtown area was $25.00 and about $30.00 to Miami Beach. Great if you have a car but do expect to pay a bit should you want to go sightseeing. The hotel does offer a shuttle to the airport but it does not operate before 06:00 and our returning flight check-in was by 05:00 am. You can take a taxi to the cruise ship but might want to see if anyone else at the hotel is going too as a van is $50.00 and holds 7 people and tons of luggage.

So, all in all: nice hotel, bit worn but comfortable and transportation can be a challenge. Staff are accomodating and considering other options in Miami the hotel suite is a value even at their normal, everyday prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Manager at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you found our hotel well-maintained and our staff friendly and helpful.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the entry to the suite bathroom. It would certainly be an advantage to have a living room entrance to our bathrooms, but unfortunately, this was worked into the design of Embassy Suites built after ours.

Overall it seems you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our excellent value of free breakfast, free airport transfers and free cocktails.

Again, thank you for choosing Embassy Suites. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is about a $10 cab ride (flat fare) from the airport. It's literally about 5 minutes away. You can hear the planes take off from your room, but that didn't bother much at all. In fact, it's expected since the hotel was so close, which is why I figure most people stay here. The room was spacious and clean. There were 3 sinks (including the small wet bar)! We had a king room suite and it fit our needs for the one night we stayed. The location is not good if you're wanting to be near Ocean Ave though.

I was amazed at how big the free breakfast was. Definitely a great added bonus to the stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed at the hotel for a "pre-cruise" night. I booked the hotel because it had a separate living room which equals more space! It also had a complimentary breakfast. First, the atrium of the hotel is beautiful, complete with water falls etc. There is a nightly manager's cocktail party....I was expecting premixed drinks....what can you expect for free...WRONG....there were two bartenders mixing drinks....including Long Islands, popping popcorn and serving chips, salsa and cheese dip. For two hours you drank as much as you could...on the house. The complimentary breakfast was exactly what you'd get if you went to a breakfast buffet...I expected microwave sausage biscuits etc... they served biscuits and gravy, pancakes and french toast etc, anything you could have possible wanted. The long and the short of it is we decided we'd be back to stay in Miami (not just a pre-night) and we'd absolutely stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel while I was on business here in Miami for over 45 days. I would like to highlight the customer services provided by Ms. Talita Dias who took care of every single detail to make our stay pleasant. I had a great experience dealing with Mr. Fabien. He works at the front desk and he is very reliable when providing customer services - always willing to help us. Everyone there was very nice to my family specially Tamara (Guest services). Ms. Tamara was always recommending my wife kid’s places. The evening cocktails and morning breakfast were very good as well as the hard workers who were willing to please us at all times. I wish I could remember their names.

The room satisfied our needs. We did observe a minor issue with the bathtub. They don’t scrub bathtubs. They spray them with some type of solvent and rinse them with water. So, it was not until we pointed out the issue that the cleaning crew placed a little effort in cleaning the bathtub, but no scrubbing.

We ate at the restaurant many times and also ordered food “to-go.” The food was okay and service was fine. Nothing out of the ordinary. However, the guys that work at the bar were very customer oriented and friendly.

We really enjoyed this hotel. All the staff we were in contact with to be very helpful and efficient. As Hilton Honors member I would definitely stay here again.

Keep up the good customer services!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I was so impressed with the gracious and genuine customer-service attitude of all the staff here (including front desk, breakfast servers, car rental agency, restaurant servers, housekeeping, concierge, and shuttle driver). Everyone bent over backwards to be helpful. We recently booked the hotel in preparation of our NCL Caribbean cruise. Glad we did and WHAT a deal. We received a nice, clean and QUIET room. Additionally, we were greeted by free shuttle from the airport to the hotel, PLUS complimentary shuttle to the cruise port. NOTE: Catch the shuttle next to the curb right outside the airport doors don't go to the kiosk that states hotel shuttles...the shuttles no longer stop there. The happy hour had $1 drinks, complimentary appetizers and great popcorn. The following morning we had a, once again, a COMPLIMENTARY HUGE breakfast buffet before catching the shuttle to the cruise port. If you're not looking to be downtown or bayside, this is the place to stay and the biggest back for the buck.. The landscaping is also very beautiful.
The management should be commended for capturing what cruise visitors appreciate.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Address: 3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites mediterranean style hotel featuring 318 spacious two room suites. This 10 story deluxe hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, 2 hour Manager's Reception nightly, round trip airport transfers and Hilton Honors Points & Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.