We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suite Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Rates from $139
Ranked #58 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Suite Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here before a cruise. This is a beautiful suite hotel. Large quite comfortable rooms. Good albeit very busy breakfast buffet. Would high recommend for a cruise if you are flying in late the night before. (do not take the hotel shuttle to the port. A taxi is much faster and less money...the shuttle was $40 for us).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    428
    223
    124
    112
See reviews for
496
303
69
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel is well situated for Miami Airport. Too well situated, some might say, since it’s practically at the end of the runway and you need to have a high tolerance for loud aircraft noise. We experienced flights taking off or landing every 45 seconds from the crack of dawn to almost midnight. While this is clearly audible in the bedrooms, it’s when sitting by the pool that the noise becomes a truly ear-splitting roar. Obviously the hotel can’t do much about this problem, so just be very clear on whether peace and quiet is important to you before booking.

From the road, this hotel looks very attractive and we had high hopes from our external impressions. Unfortunately, the building is much more tired from the inside and the rooms in particular (our family stayed in 804 and 805) were musty, stale and a little grubby. The size of the rooms were good, the layouts were as described, and the beds were comfortable and well sized. Perhaps with a lick of paint and some fresh furniture, this hotel could regain its past glories, but the sense of shabbiness within the rooms comes from the outdated carpets, the tired furniture and that musty smell (our first reaction was that we’d been given a suite which was used until very recently as a smoking room. A trip to my parent’s room next-door revealed that it wasn’t unique to our room).

When I criticise the service we received at this hotel, it should be tempered first by an acceptance that we were there for 5 days over the Easter weekend and the hotel was undoubtedly full-to-capacity. However, I believe that the hotel management should have had visibility of this heavy loading, and taken steps to ensure that sufficient staffing was available.

- Daily room servicing was not provided until after 4pm, and sometimes as late as 6pm
- There were repeated issues with towel availability at the pool
- The breakfast was so busy that it was a deeply unpleasant experience. Key items went unreplenished by over-worked staff, so instead of a choice of breakfast it became a daily lottery of pot-luck. In this situation, human nature can become unpleasant, so queue-jumping, barging and hoarding become prevalent! The queue for the cooked breakfast was more than 20-deep every morning, meaning a 15 minute wait.
- At mornings and in the evening, any visit to the front desk reception was guaranteed to require a minimum 10 minute wait in a long queue.
- The hotel was far too overloaded for the total elevator capacity. In trying to exit the hotel at around 10am on Saturday, there was a ~20 minute wait to find space in an elevator, and my parents in their mid-sixties were not ready to attempt eight flights of stairs. We then twigged that the only way to beat the queues waiting to go down is to ride an upward elevator to the top, then stay on it for the return journey. It will stop at every floor, revealing legions of frustrated and irate guests, desperate to be standing where you are at the back of the elevator....

I’d never want to ruin the party for Spring Break vacationers, but the noise of partying kids downstairs from our suite was intolerable on both Friday and Saturday, and our complaint to the front desk was met with a somewhat indifferent, “I’ll do what I can”. The noise went on and on into the small hours of the morning... eating into the few precious hours when the airport was shut-down for the night!

If you decide to stay at the Miami Airport Embassy Suites, my advice is that you pack plenty of warm clothes. The atrium area is ridiculously cold, and there were plenty of other guests complaining about the same issue but it never heated-up during our stay. With lovely weather outside, it seems crazy that we were wearing heavy sweaters to go down for breakfast and dinner, but that is the reality.

Those of us that stay regularly in Embassy Suites will always compare “Manager’s Reception snack quality”, and I’d say that the Miami Airport is near the bottom of the scale. Nightly there were those little pretzel snacks, and a couple of times there was popcorn. There were some celery and carrot sticks with dips if you got lucky. Little nightly variety and nothing but the basics.

My final gripe about this hotel is about their parking system. We were charged $8 per night to park our vehicle at the hotel, which is frustrating when other Embassy Suites that I’ve stayed in recently (West Palm Beach & Orlando for example) do not have a separate parking charge. The system works through a pre-authorisation on your credit card at check-in, and your room keycard being set-up as your external entry/exit card for the parking gate. Twice during our short stay, the keycard failed to work when waiting at the exit barrier. A queue of cars built up behind as we battled to get someone from the Bell Desk to answer the “in need of assistance” button. On both occasions, I ended up having to get other cars to move so that I could back-up, park, and go into reception to get my keycard fixed. To be told by reception that this is, “A very common issue – our keycards lose their magnetism and need to be reset” was not acceptable, and is especially inconvenient when there is invariably a queue at reception awaiting service. Get your parking system fixed please!

Any feedback needs to be balanced, and I’ve been overwhelmingly negative so far. Were there any plus points? As a HHonors regular, I was properly greeted and our rooms were constantly filled with complimentary bottled water. I would say that the pool area is lovely, and that the pool is a great size with plenty of loungers and a good balance between shaded areas and sun-traps. The hot-tub was a pleasure. The staff in this hotel were generally very friendly (I just wish there were more of them, since service suffered badly due to lack of staffing) and the gift shop is very well appointed. The girls who were serving drinks at the evening reception were helpful, great fun and ensured that each drink was properly poured rather than just “thrown together”. The hotel also made a great effort to look after the kids at Easter, with a number of free events laid on including an Easter Egg Hunt, a visit from the Easter Bunny and some arts and crafts on the Sunday morning.

I hope readers find this review useful. This hotel had some good points, but far too many negatives. I will never return to the Embassy Suites Miami Airport.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor, because you'll want to use the stairs when the elevator wait gets you down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Every staff person was a 10 out of 10 from the check in to the breakfast servers. And it was an excellent breakfast that is included plus a generous happy hour. The room was comfortable - especially the beds - clean and spacious. This hotel is a great value for the price and the extra benefits are outstanding. The only negative is when you go to the pool and hot tub outside the planes can be distracting because they are often and loud. But unless you are there to just sit at the pool there are too many other positives to even consider this a problem. Love the decor and the atmosphere as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIENNA VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent a night at ES Miami Airport before flight to Mexico and it was very pleasant. The hotel is showing its age but maintains well. The greatest asset of this hotel is its staff from the front desk, to room service, restaurants, shuttle drive, bell desk, and breakfast area. The hotel seems to have a great Latin vibe to it as most of the staff that we encountered were from Cuba based on the name tags. We ordered room service for the kids and it came very quickly and delicious according to them. The wife and I ate dinner at the restaurant bar and the bartenders were very genuinely friendly and the food came out fast. The bar even has Heineken on tap which was great. I used the gym in the morning and all the equipment seems to be in working order and the free weights are a-plenty. The business center has working printer to print our boarding passes and the computers were fast. The breakfast was as expected and fast. Took a taxi to Bayside before getting on the flight and the bellman was very helpful to point out to us that there would be a weekend long concert so the traffic may be bad. The shuttle bus drivers were also very friendly both ways and only 5 minutes from the airport. We would definitely stay at this hotel again for the staff.

Room Tip: Call for the shuttle as soon as you have the luggage from the airport even though they suppose to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I chose Embassy Suites because it was a really good price for what you get. Lots of space in all of the suites, free hot/cooked to order breakfast in the mornings. Embassy Suites always consistently delivers- my only complaints: the water in the shower never really got hot- just lukewarm.
Also, while booking online, I chose an option to pay for an upgrade if it was available when I got there. Upon checking in, they told me that I did receive the upgraded room but it clearly was not. I WAS charged for the upgrade (make sure you read your final bill closely), and not enough people working at the front desk-- it took forever to check in.
Really close to the airport, free shuttle ride there. Otherwise cab to/from the airport was around $15. Nice pool, happy hour looked good. Breakfast was great- only from 6:30-9:30AM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights just after arriving MIA airport at night before flying out to San Juan PR 2 days afetr. As an Honor member we got a descent suite as requested away of vending machnes or elevators. The problem is the location which is quite noisy, while the airport sounds are expected and acceptable, there is a train operating at night using its full horn as if it was daylight. The shuttle back/from the airport is ok, room service and reception too. As all airport hotels seem to locate at the same area I don't see a much better opportunity to stay at that area for early morning / night flights as we had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff, good Hot breakfast, spacious suites very accomodating. Almost felt like I lived there. Didn't mind the Airport being close, very convenient to highways! There is a gym a pool with a hot tub. There is happy hour everyday with very nice bartenders and not to mention the drinks are free!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Address: 3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites mediterranean style hotel featuring 318 spacious two room suites. This 10 story deluxe hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, 2 hour Manager's Reception nightly, round trip airport transfers and Hilton Honors Points & Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.