We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two week stay to see the sites of Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Rates from $139
Ranked #57 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Two week stay to see the sites of Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We decided to stay here primarily as we were going to the NASCAR race at Miami Homestead and the travel company were doing it from this hotel. That was for 3 nights but as we were travelling from England it made sense to stay their for the full two weeks rather than change hotels part way.

Being close to the airport as you would expect anywhere has its advantages and disadvantages. Location wise there is nothing local so a car is essential although the hotel do have a free shuttle bus to a few places locally and if you take it to the airport you can from there jump on the main rail system to downtown and then onto the metro rail. For $2 it is worth it. If you do have a car then you are well positioned to get around and getting to downtown and south beach and it is quite quick to get there even when you do not use the tolls.

The hotel itself is the same as other Embassy Suites that I have stayed in so you know what to expect. The rooms are a great size and the beds very comfy. Great size bathrooms as well. Very clean throughout and made up daily as you would expect. The coffee machine does leave a little to be desire though, great if you like tea!

There are additional fees for internet which we expect and not bad value to be honest although it is per item not per room so be careful, we got stung on the first day, lesson learned very quickly.

The biggest annoyance for us was the car parking charges, for residents to have to pay around $18 day is out of order. Staying there and then having to pay to park when there is no other option is not good. This needs to be budgeted in as the bill racks up.

The breakfast is very good and there is a lot of choice, from porridge and fruit to pastries, full cooked breakfast and pancakes. You can have as much as you want. One downside is the guests there, they don't seem to read where it says fast track for the regular things and omelettes on the other side. This means the queue for the omelettes is always longer than it needs to be. Ideally a person directing and explaining would help and speed things up. The other issue involving the guests is the fact that parents allow children to run around and when people are carrying trays of hot food and drinks this is a recipe for disaster, again a member of staff stopping this would be helpful, also it would be a great idea if one section (it is in two) - the one further from the food, was for families and set up that way. The other issue is couples using tables for 4 and then families moving tables all over to fit and then no gaps to move between.
The way to avoid this is get there early, much easier and much less stressful.

In reception there is a water machine and fresh fruit all day which is a nice touch.

In the evening they have the managers special, where you can get free drinks and nibbles, as lots of families stay here, we did this just twice as to be honest it wasn't worth the hassle. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was very quite and the food was very good but quite expensive.

We didn't use the pool, again lots of children running around, but as we were sightseeing not a problem. Looked very nice though.

The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the shuttle bus drivers.

We plan to go back to Miami but next time will probably stay in downtown, only as there are so many hotels this is a great base for the first time but with no family not really ideal. In saying that the Embassy Suites will be our first port of call in other areas of America for first visits as they are great value for money and yo know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    406
    213
    115
    105
See reviews for
473
288
66
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice location. Rooms were clean. It however had a dingy stale smell. You just had a funny feeling and this affected our stay and sleep. We also decided not to have breakfast (even though it was complimentary).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Embassy Suites in December, 2012 for one night on our way home form a cruise. It's a very nice hotel, it was decorated nicely for Christmas in the lobby. We got there early and our room wasn't ready. They gave us a place to change and we were able to use the swimming pool, which was so nice. Lots of lounge chairs, nice pool and large hot tub, it was the perfect way to spend the day. The bed and pillows were SO comfortable. I needed to print a boarding pass, and had trouble in the area where the printers were, the manager was so accommodating, and helped me by printing it at the front desk. Also, the manager's reception was awesome. A nice way to unwind at the end of the day with a free beer and snacks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for one night before an early flight. Basically the hotel was okay but definitely in need of re-decoration. We found the suites, although a good size, to be on the dingy side. However there were good points:- the location was ideal for easy access to the airport. They also had a free shuttle bus which we used to visit a nearby restaurant - this was essential to us as there is no where nearby to walk to. (There was a very run down looking Bennigans which had terrible reviews five minutes from the hotel). There was no free wifi and car parking was also chargeable which when added to the room rate did not make it particularly good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear GrailScotlanduk,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback.
Our guest suite appearance and property decor are areas we are actively examining. We've also passed on your comments about the extra charges so we can reevaluate this with our team. I welcome any additional suggestions you would like to share.

Warm regards,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna B.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I like Embassy suites because of happy hour and great breakfast. In this hotel there is a Miami car Rental. We booked a car for 2 days. We were picked up at miami Airport, had car, and driven to Cruiseport, upon return we were picked up, rented a car for 4 days and returned it to Fort Lauderdale airport. this was a great convenience not offered by most. There was a $20 charge for each drop off and pick up. Very reasonable. one downside is that not all employees can manage English very well, so try to get one who can. we got compact car which was very sutable for our luggage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a poor excuse for an Embassy Suites. Hotel staff is not out to help. As a Hilton Diamond member, I would expect more. Changed rooms a few times, and each room was damp and moldy. Expect to wait about 20 minutes for warm water to take a shower. Very limited if you have no vehicle.

Room Tip: All three rooms we have reserved smell like MOLD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Spill1,

Thank you for your recent on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your honesty and your review will help give us insight on what we need to improve. I can assure you that cleanliness and customer service are very important to us and I’ve addressed both issues with our staff. Our engineers are currently examining our hot water heaters and water pressure levels to ensure all of our guests are getting a comfortable shower. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you may have.


Warm regards,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is perfectly clean, free shuttle to and from airport, exceptional staff, nice suite room, great breakfast, good happy hour. The only reason for four instead of five stars is that the location is only good for the airport. The price is a little high. They offer to shuttle to area businesses, but in reality they don't have staff to do this so you either need a car (pay to park) or a taxi to get anywhere else.

Room Tip: They charge different amounts for different views, but we walked around and don't think any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Address: 3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites mediterranean style hotel featuring 318 spacious two room suites. This 10 story deluxe hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, 2 hour Manager's Reception nightly, round trip airport transfers and Hilton Honors Points & Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.