We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Business travel, Spirit of Miami with everthing but a beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hurry Rates from $104
Ranked #49 of 130 hotels in Miami
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ideal for Business travel, Spirit of Miami with everthing but a beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent choice. Very nice hotel. Central location to expressways, within minutes of rental cars, passenger terminal.

I've stayed here several times. This updated hotel has everything necessary for a business traveler to be productive and comfortably unwind. You will find all the great services you would expect from Embassy Suites PLUS incredibly happy friendly staff (provided you act friendly too). Hotel has a controlled parking lot right out front. Watch the street turns or you will be looping the block like me, its a big odd loop.

PROS
Hotel sleeping rooms are updated, clean, modern furniture and nice views. Pictures on the website show the real deal.

Meeting rooms are along the inside atrium courtyard to the left when you enter from the lobby. Quiet, comfortable, roomy with attentive hospitality service.

RELAXATION :-))
Mid sized resort style pool is perfect for laying out to catch rays in the sun, read a book or catchup work reports. While the hotel is near the airport the noise was acceptable without being offensive and never interrupted our plans. Atmosphere at the pool was friendly. Sometimes we order from the waiter, but like any hotel we BYOB at the pool using our own carried down from our room.

Evening happy hour is in atrium courtyard opposite corner of dining room/pool and front desk (east corner). It's a very good happy hour worth attending 5:30-7:30pm.

SHOPPING + BUSINESS SERVICES
Hotel gift shop is located in the corner of the atrium, right around the corner of the front desk.
If you need to buy provisions, booze or office stuff I recommend traveling west about 5 miles into Doral. Doral is the west side of MIA. It's a straight shot out of the parking lot heading west (left) down old NW 36th street (aka 948) running north side of the airport, go just PAST Palmetto Expwy "aka 826". Many of the Doral hotels are so close to the landing runway I'd be surprised if there were not a few skid marks on the roof. Noise in the Doral hotel district is terrible. Hotels are directly under the final approach to the runway. Outdoors at the Doral hotels has unquestionable aroma of jet exhaust fumes. That is why we switched to this Embassy Suites. But the Doral shopping is good, modern shops, all the major chains, safe nicest area to shop within 12 miles.

DINING OPTIONS
Hotel serves the usual wonderful Embassy buffet breakfast, nice lunch in the dining room by the pool. Dinner is very good in the hotel's steakhouse. Dining is run by Cullinaire. They do it right. You should plan on dinner at the hotel steakhouse at least once.

Just outside the hotel are couple of sport's bar choices if you want variety in walking distance.
All the nice chain franchises will be in Doral west about 5-6 miles if you are up for something easy. For a true miami theme I prefer the cuban & water front located east down the airport highway towards the cruise ship terminals. A very cute brunette at the from desk can help you with suggestions of you want to go exploring, but I bet you will find everything your looking for by the cruise ship terminals.

OTHER UNIQUE IDEAS
Miami beaches are topless freedom. A few of the south beachs are nude including one of the parking lots. A quick google search will help you pinpoint the beach you want if this is a "no tan lines" trip.

If you are traveling in November be sure to drive about 25 minutes north-east to the Ft. Lauderdale boat show. It's within sight of FLL airport. Park at the city waterfront convention center. You can walk the bridge, ride the ferry or shuttle across to the big yachts. Many yachts allow tours if you are escorted by a show escort, broker or tour guide - just ask with a smile if you can come aboard for a tour. Some owners are super friendly. We partied on four, tipped great booze and made new friends. Well worth a day trip. If you get too intoxicated grab a room at Bia Mar beach resort, ask for travelocity rate. Bia Mar is an upper end hotel in the center of the boat show with balconies on all four sides like a condo complex. Just look for the 12 story hotel with it's own bridge over the road to the atlantic beach. Everyone local knows Bia Mar so don't hesitate to ask if you need directions. Your rental car will be fine parked at the convention center - but nothing is worth risking a DUI. Even taxi fare to Disney World in Orlando would be cheaper than your DUI bail.

CONS
Not in a nightlife spot, not on a beach. Some of the surrounding neighborhoods are lower class but isn't that true around any major urban airport. The hotel is located on cross roads of several streets and expressway. You might get confused if you dont watch the signs. Just chalk it up to a minor loop the block adventure.

I wish you a wonderful trip wherever you decide to go.
Semper fidelis,
Dave Cannon


IMPORTANT TRAVEL TIP
Don't be late or cutting it close for your departure flight. Miami TSA is unpredictable for time estimates because the lines are usually VERY long. Be early and expect delays plus late gate changes. Practially NOTHING is flying west after 6pm. If you miss your flight either rebook another night here immediately by phone or expect the airline to put you in the old getto Holiday Inn. Embassy fills up ultra fast when flights are cancelled - dont wait one extra second if this happens to you. This Embassy is overall the nicest hotel near the airport.

Room Tip: Dig the east side above the 4th floor. Open the sliding door for fresh ocean breeze at night. Nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    384
    196
    108
    89
See reviews for
430
272
60
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel August 25 & 26 2012 and absolutely loved it. Was going on a cruise and it was delayed a day. The hotel accommodated us by giving us an extension on our stay at the same rate as well as a late checkout. We ate at the hotel's steakhouse restaurant one night and it was awesome. The chicken was out of this world! We loved everything about this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear TravelingVA,

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we were able to accomodate the extra night for you and that you enjoyed our restaurant Grill 305.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a nice bright and clean hotel with a pleasant pool and spa area close to Miami airport. Free transport to and from the airport is provided There is a good breakfast and choice of free cocktails at the 2 hour (5.30 - 7.30) reception in the evening. Being so close to the airport there is obviously some aircraft noise but this stops through the night til about 6am. Unfortunately the noise that does not stop is the train line that runs near to the hotel where the trains run all night and being near a station use their hooters a great deal. The hotel has very little around it so a car would be necessary to visit the immediate area.

The staff are friendly and helpful and if you need a comfortable room after a long flight and are so tired you can sleep through the noise, this hotel fits the bill

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Holidaydad55,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on Trip Advisor for the Embassy Suites Miami. We appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We are happy that you enjoyed the Cooked Order Breakfast, the Managers Reception and the swimming pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Embassy Suites Miami soon.


Sincerely,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

They add in a charge for parking even after you pay for the room. Rude! Don't expect that they will go out of their way for you. I've been treated better at average motels, and payed a lot less. I even addressed the experience with them in writing after I stayed(how bad it was)and they could care less to make it right. The room even smelled like musty and old.The weird thing is I thought all embassy suites were good, but I gather they are individually owned. I wouldn't even stay there again if it were FREE! Even the bartender on premisis was rude and was insulted that I sent my food back. It's SO close to airport expect to not sleep well.

Room Tip: No such thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Denise156,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.
We apologize that your experience at the Embassy Suites Miami was not a pleasant one.

Each of the department heads have been notified and actions will be taken to make sure these issues do not happen again.

Please accept our appology and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Everytime I go to miami I stay at this hotel. It isn't expensive and it is a wonderful place to stay. I have stayed on the beach at hotels that cost triple the price and the only good thing about them is they are located on the beach. The embassy is always clean and the customer service is always good. The one thing that I dont like is that you have to pay for parking and that it is located right next to the airport and far from everything. They should really build one in the middle of the city. My 4 year old daughter loves it when we come here and always talks about it. And you will not receive a better breakfast anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear SS-2002,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for returning to the Embassy Suites Miami once again, we really appreciate your loyalty and we are thrilled we were able to exceed your expectations.

All of us here at the Embassy Suites Miami hope your travels will bring you back to Miami in the near future and we are all looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Gus Lima
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Compared to the Hilton at MIA this is a little tired, but the room easily accommodated 2adults and 3 children, there are Crabtree and Evelyn products in the room(sorry, took the lot!), the breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful in getting us out and about. It was a little noisy at night on aacount of the stunning atrium, but not a bad place at all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset U.K.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for one night while in transit from Bahamas to London via Miami. We arrived very late and were greeted by friendly helpful reception staff.
Our room on the 8th floor was clean comfortable & spacious also quiet apart from the aircraft noise but it is on the flight path! The bed was very comfortable, the pillows not very good.
Breakfast was not to our liking but it was complimentary! All staff members we encountered during our stay were friendly & helpful. We took the shuttle to the airport, a very good service.
Would we come back? absolutely yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Address: 3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Miami Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites mediterranean style hotel featuring 318 spacious two room suites. This 10 story deluxe hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, 2 hour Manager's Reception nightly, round trip airport transfers and Hilton Honors Points & Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.