We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your bed for bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Rates from $104
Ranked #55 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check your bed for bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were there two weeks on business, and one of my colleagues had bites in a circle across her throat. It was a couple days later when she discovered bed bugs on her sheers, mattress, and in the fold out portion of living room couch. She was only one out of 30 guests, but one is too many. Hotel reluctant to address, denied it was bed bugs although we received proof. This was reported to Hilton corporate.

The service staff were nice and breakfast was nice to have every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, General Manager at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor.com review and staying at the Embassy Suites/Miami International Airport.

Hotel management takes the issue of pest control, including bedbugs, very seriously and share a concern with keeping pests out of the hotel. The safety and comfort of our guests are our top priority. To that end, our hotel maintains high levels of vigilance, and we perform regularly scheduled inspections.

Since bedbugs can be easily transmitted anywhere and are often lodged in luggage or on clothing, the hotel employs a thorough detection program based on training, education and awareness.

In the unlikely and unusual event the hotel or a guest suspects a problem, the area in question is isolated to determine whether a problem exists and, if warranted, the guest is relocated and the situation is immediately remedied.

Our hotel has retained the services of a licensed, reputable Pest Control Company that is readily available to dispatch trained professionals to perform appropriate inspections and treatments (if warranted) of affected area. The room in question was inspected twice and no bedbugs were discovered.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    398
    208
    113
    102
See reviews for
464
283
63
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was a stopover hotel for us on our way to and return from Tortola. Two different experiences. First, let me say that this hotel has the best included breakfast at any hotel I've ever stayed. Everything was fresh, and they had EVERYTHING! It won't disappoint.

Our first stay was on April 30. Our room was great on the eigth floor. We could see the end of the airport runway from our room. No problems. On our second stay May 9), we stayed on the 9th floor facing east (it was the side of the hotel opposite reception). Stay away from that side of the hotel if you are a light sleeper. There is a commuter train that goes by every 15 minutes from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. Naturally, there is an intersection on that side and the train blows its horn, a lot! The planes were also making turns around the back of the hotel due to winds. If you stay at an airport hotel, expect airplande flyovers.

The pool area is delightful, with lots of trees. The pool is also salt water. It was very relaxing to sit there.

We also had two different experiences at the hotel restaurant. Our first time, the food and service was terrific. The second, the service was not very good. Each course came so fast that the main course was cold before we could get to it. After a chat with the manager, our dinner was reheated (kinda) and we were comped dessert. Hopefully, the staff and cook will be more aware not to rush the patrons like that.

If we have to go through Miami again and stay overnight, I'd stay there again as long as we could get a quiet room. The atrium is absolutely beautiful with cockateils and huge Koi in the ponds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside between floors 4 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Embassy Suites/Miami International Airport and your Tripadvisor.com review.

We were certainly pleased to learn that overall you found our accommodations and service
to your satisfaction. However, we will certainly address the issues you encountered in our restaurant with our Food & Beverage team.

We hope you will come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My parents and my wife and I stayed here on the Saturday night before we took our cruise out of Miami.

We stayed at the hotel because of the proximity to the airport and the port. There is a free shuttle that picks you up from the airport and there is a pay shuttle that will pick you up from the hotel and take you to the cruise port on Sunday. Both of these features made staying at this hotel well worth it.

Just know.. everyone else does the same thing.. So breakfast on Sunday am is very busy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and 2 small b boys before heading on a cruise. The staff was excellent friendly and helpful. The room included a full buffet breakfast. The beds were comfortable, as we had 2 small kids would have been nice if we could have accessed the bathroom from the sitting room.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you so much for selecting the Embassy Suites/Miami International Airport for your pre-cruise stay!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious two room suite and full cooked-to-order breakfast. Many cruisers like yourself also enjoy the proximity to the Port of Miami and our convenient port shuttle service.

Again, thank you for your stay and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed at this Embassy Suites on a business trip after a less than satisfactory stay at a neighboring competitor brand hotel on a prior trip. If you have been to an Embassy Suites location before, then you know what to expect, as most locations are similar in design, room layout, amenities, services, etc.
The pros:
Good service and friendly smiles from the staff I encountered, interesting fantasy-styled architecture of the hotel from the exterior, all the Embassy Suites signature amenities, such as free breakfast and large suites, two flat-screen TVs, a decent choice of HD content in the channel line-up. Comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
The cons:
The hotel charges $15 for self-parking and $20 for valet (per night), they also charge for internet access unless your room rate or Hilton status includes it. There is unavoidable noise periodically from the jets on takeoff from adjacent MIA, as well as train whistles at all hours from an adjacent railway. The room smelled quite musty when I first arrived, but having the A/C set to 65 helped, and I got accustomed to it. Some components of the hotel feel dated, and have been repainted an indeterminable number of times.
Considering all, I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMiami, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites/Miami International Airport!

We are pleased that you found our service and staff accommodating as well as all the signature items you have come to expect from Embassy Suites.

Regarding the parking and internet fees, these are very similar to that which you will find at all airport hotels in the area. However, we are very sorry that you found our hotel dated. We expect to have a full renovation soon.

Again we thank you for your visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights, last week. This is one of the original Embassy Suites from way back, late 70s early 80s. They have done a good job though and kept it in good shape.
The open space atrium is filled with plants, trees and ponds filled with koi fish. This is also where the complimentary breakfast is served with an omelet station, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads etc., also in the evening there is a manager's reception with free drinks which is recommended. We had no rental car, but we noticed that parking is for a charge. Our room was on the 10th floor overlooking the airport. I am an old airliner, so for me it was great. For "regular" guests I highly recommend to get a room at any other location in the hotel, since the noise of departing planes is definitely something you want to avoid. The suites were standard ES, spacious with two flat screen TVs. A microwave, mini fridge and coffee machine were in the room. Bathroom was spacious with a bathtub. Within walking distance are some gas stations if one needs to "fill up" on drinks and snacks, a Bennigans is just around the corner, but we don not recommend it. The hotel has a nice pool and plenty of lounge chairs, a good size and well equipped fitness center and a business center, where the Internet can be accessed free of charge. In room Internet is for a charge. The staff was very friendly, we enjoyed our stay and would consider the hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneer, Ca.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This is such a beautiful hotel, the atrium was my favorite place to be, so relaxing. We got in too late for the free drinks, but my sister and her husband said it was great, I know the free breakfast was outstanding. Every staff member was friendly and helpful, the best was Tamera, we called her the cruise director because she made sure everyone was having a good time, she was just great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Miami Airport

Address: 3974 NW South River Drive, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Miami Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites mediterranean style hotel featuring 318 spacious two room suites. This 10 story deluxe hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, 2 hour Manager's Reception nightly, round trip airport transfers and Hilton Honors Points & Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.