We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel-great last minute deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel Miami

Save Saved
You added Regency Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regency Hotel Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Northwest Lejeune Rd, 1000 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Car and Room Package
Ranked #40 of 129 hotels in Miami
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Solid hotel-great last minute deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was a great bargain for a last minute deal. They have airport pickup and the staff went out of its way to get me checked in early. Also, a casino was within walking distance (1 mile) and a great Latin restaurant (Latin Cafe 2000) was just down the street. Even though it was close to the airport did not have too much noise. Older hotel but it had a great A/C wall unit. Had a decent pool area, restaurant and bar. Everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    184
    74
    34
    23
See reviews for
140
124
60
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were given a voucher by American Airlines to stay here because of a cancelled flight. We waited a good 30 minutes for the hotel shuttle while others for better hotels passed us 2 and 3 times in that time period. The hotel is dated and doesn't really feel clean. The staff was nice enough, particularly the fellow who seated us in their restaurant. The food was not very good. My pasta dish had a top layer of whole rigatoni (was supposed to be penne) with all the broken up overcooked stuff underneath. I ordered rasberry creme brulee for dessert. It came without rasberries. They seemed to be out of a variety of ingredients. The bar had no mint, gingerale, etc. The waitress in the restaurant had no sense of urgency whatsoever. No butter to compliment the slightly stale bread either. I heard every table ask for it. The beds are not made up with blankets, just a sheet. Blankets are in the closet. The pillow sham had visible staining and something stuck on it and the bathroom door looked grimey where people's fingers naturally shut the door when not using the handle. There was also streaks of dirt as if someone had smeared something onto the door. The airconditioner was soooo loud it was hard to sleep. We didn't bother asking for another room as the hotel was evidently full and had to turn away the stranded passengers that AA kept sending.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Regency was a pleasant surprise given the feel and service of the typical airport facility. It provided all the amenities one needs, but each at a higher level than expected. First, the price was just right. To be able to stay over in the expensive Miami area at such reasonable rates is great. Second, the ample and well appointed lobby opens to both a great central bar and a full service restauarant with really unexpectedly delicious food. Third, the outdoor landscaping around what has to be newly designed and built pool really has the look and feel of a four star hotel in Miami Beach. If you come with kids or just on your own as a business traveler (like me) and you don't have the time or interest to deal with all the SoBe hooplah, the pool area is a great respite, to have a beer, take in the sun and be in peace. Finally, the staff were warm, service oriented and efficient. This is my new Miami tavel hotel, for certain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night before a cruise in March, 2012.

Positives: room was clean and restaurant next door was decent

When we checked in, they tried to get us to pay for the shuttle to the pier which had been advertised as free. They begrudgingly gave us a voucher.

We were given a key to a room that was occupied. Fortunately, the person had a "do not disturb" tag on the door and we knocked. He told us he had the room until 6 p.m. The people at the front desk acted surprised and gave us another room.

Very noisy at night--planes flying over, club downstairs, air conditioner

We attempted to use the fitness room the next morning. All the equipment was broken. When my husband complained upon check-out, they were not the least bit interested.

We're shocked this place has so many good reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMiguul, General Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I’m very sorry to hear of your disenchantment with the Regency Hotel. The error in assigning your room is unacceptable, as was the insensitive response from the clerk on duty. Regarding the shuttle to the port, our website clearly states there is a fee. The majority of our guests feel the $10 per person is quite reasonable, and far less expensive than a cab. As for the noise, our proximity to the airport inevitably lends itself to a small level of sound penetration. We do not have an operating club, so I cannot answer this complaint.

Thank you for your observation regarding the cleanliness of the property. This is a common bond in much of our feedback from guests.

Should you allow us to welcome you back, I feel certain that you will leave with a much better impression. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had a very bad experience with American Airlines and the Miami Airport. Needless to say they did not let us on our flight home. We asked where we might stay overnight at a decent rate. We were directed to the Airport Regency where we received a distressed passenger rate. The night staff was friendly and put us in room 630. The room was clean and everything worked well. The shower had good water pressure too. The shuttle going to and from the airport was on time running every half hour. Even though this was a hotel stay we didn't plan on, it was a clean and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

In a very mundane area of Miami, the Regency Hotel is a standout. A resort-style pool, clean and comfortable rooms and a friendly staff make it the airport area's hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Picked hotel as a one night stopover after our cruise. It offered free shuttle to and from the Dolphin Mall which we found a great feature. They were nice enough to store our luggage while we spent the day shopping. We had time to eat breakfast in their restaurant before we left for the mall. Shocked to find a local critter on the tablecloth while eating. They offered us our breakfast for free but we were somewhat turned from the hotel as you could imagine. A little nervous to see what our room would be like. (all other hotels were booked because of the music festival) Clean but dated and the air conditioner was extremely noisy. As well there was no water pressure, not even enough to rinse your toothbrush in the sink or get all your shampoo out of your hair. Teenage daughters were not impressed. No familiar restaurants nearby so we asked for help with ordering out. They told us to use the phone book by the payphones of which there was none so we decided to use our room phone book but discovered there wasn't one in our room either. I called down and was told that we would have to come down to use the phone at the front counter. Almost like they didn't want us to be able to order out so we would have to use their restaurant to eat. Shuttle service to the mall and airport was on time and friendly but other than that not what we expected for a $200 a night room. Pick another hotel and get a taxi to the mall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Miami

Address: 1000 Northwest Lejeune Rd, 1000 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#23 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Hotel Miami 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel features 174 spacious guest rooms on 6 floors. Having recently undergone a half-million dollar renovation, the property features two deluxe suites, thirty six Regency Club rooms, thirty four premium Regency rooms, and one hundred standard rooms each with private balcony.With a distinctive boutique ambiance, the Regency is a leading choice amongst Miami hotels. Our personalize service; attention to detail, fine dining and independent mind set differentiate us from our competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Regency Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.