We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Regency Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Regency Hotel Miami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Northwest Lejeune Rd, 1000 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Car and Room Package
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Torbay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Picked hotel as a one night stopover after our cruise. It offered free shuttle to and from the Dolphin Mall which we found a great feature. They were nice enough to store our luggage while we spent the day shopping. We had time to eat breakfast in their restaurant before we left for the mall. Shocked to find a local critter on the tablecloth while eating. They offered us our breakfast for free but we were somewhat turned from the hotel as you could imagine. A little nervous to see what our room would be like. (all other hotels were booked because of the music festival) Clean but dated and the air conditioner was extremely noisy. As well there was no water pressure, not even enough to rinse your toothbrush in the sink or get all your shampoo out of your hair. Teenage daughters were not impressed. No familiar restaurants nearby so we asked for help with ordering out. They told us to use the phone book by the payphones of which there was none so we decided to use our room phone book but discovered there wasn't one in our room either. I called down and was told that we would have to come down to use the phone at the front counter. Almost like they didn't want us to be able to order out so we would have to use their restaurant to eat. Shuttle service to the mall and airport was on time and friendly but other than that not what we expected for a $200 a night room. Pick another hotel and get a taxi to the mall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    201
    76
    35
    23
See reviews for
152
129
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The free shuttle from the airport and to the cruise port make this the perfect place to stay if you are flying in to Miami the night before you cruise. The hotel is definitely older, older carpet, older grout between the tiles, but I didn't notice any glaring dirt. I have to admit I'm not that picky about these things.

The pool is really nice and my mom and I were the only two people laying out. They have some very comfortable lounge chairs and the weather was beautiful. The staff was lovely and helpful. I guess we lucked out with the shuttle, we only had to wait a few minutes and we were the only ones in the van.

One negative thing: We decided to go into South Beach for dinner. Roberto at the front desk recommended someone to drive us into the city. He told us it would be $30 each way. He gave the driver our room number (which I wasn't thrilled about) and asked him to pick us up at 6:00pm. The driver (Jorge) called us in the room to tell us he was going to be late. He ended up being 30 minutes late. When we got in his cab he told us it was going to cost $30 each way, $60 round trip. He wanted us to pay the full $60 in advance and call him 40 minutes before we wanted to be picked up. When we told him we just wanted to go one way, he got upset with us and told us that would cost $35.00 This was a very uncomfortable situation. My advice is to use a regular cab.

If you go into South Beach - try Joe's Stone Crab and sit outside (you will have to wait about an hour to sit inside). You can get the crabs, spinach, hash browns and key lime pie on the terrace and you won't have to wait for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

First problem they have is the shuttle service. They have 2 busses and a van and they opt to use the van. Thanks to the Crown Plaza next door for letting us use their shuttle bus, as the Regency made people wait an hour because the van was full.The staff is very rude and they look at you almost feels like they are racial profiling. The rooms are not clean just look neat. The ironing board smelled like fried food. They have extension cords all over the place. As for the gym nothing works. Alot of false advertising here. Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Extremely clean, strategically located and engaging staff makes the Regency a supervalue.

Pay the extra few dollars for the Regency Club . rooms. Shuttle to the port of Miami very convenient .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Upon arrival at airport we called the hotel who said the shuttle ran each half hour. After 35 minutes we called again, only to be told it was on it's way. 10 mins later it arrives full and told another was being sent, After another 30 min, we booked a taxi... the hotel is only 10 mins away!!! The check-in staff was clueless and didn't know about the breakfast/drinks which were to be included with the room charge. The pillows on the bed smelled of body odour from the previous guest(s). The door to the patio had clear evidence of a previous break-in. The room was dated. The positive was excellent hotel staff and shuttle driver during the next day. And the free breakfast was much better than many hotels.

Room Tip: Check-in during the day time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel many times, but never wrote about it. I live in Orlando and go on business as well as pleasure. If I go on pleasure to take a cruise, they offer free shuttle to the airport and cruise port. Free shuttle for my wife to the malls and I go golfing. Very close to everything without the parking charges of Miami Beach Hotels. One of my favorite restaurants in Miami is La Carreta and there is one less then 5 miles away, The Versailles (also Cuban) right across the street from La Carreta. They have a very good restaurant on property to do your breakfast meetins before hitting local clients, excellent bar, very cozy, Staff is knowledgeable and very helpful.

Bayside is a 10 minute drive, as is downtown.

Excellent for vacation and business, a rare commodity, I never stay in any other hotel anymore, but the Regency by the Airport on LeJune.

William

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel appears nicer in the pictures than it really is, but overall its nice for the price you pay (I paid half off on Orbitz.com). We chose this hotel because we arrived to Miami 1 day before our cruise and this hotel conveniently provided free transportation from the Airport and free shuttle to the port. We had a party of 8 people so that saved us $10 on shuttle for each person and about $50 on cabs from the Airport. The staff is very friendly and very patient. I was not able to print out my Carnival boarding tickets in the computer lab, but the gentleman at the concierge desk was kind enough to print them all out for me free of charge. We were recommended the Columbian restaurant across the street, but the food was not very good so I do not recommend it.
We also paid $25 for a cab to take us from the Hotel to South Beach and it was amazing. We went in the evening and they were having a street festival with lots of food :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Miami

Address: 1000 Northwest Lejeune Rd, 1000 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Hotel Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel features 174 spacious guest rooms on 6 floors. Having recently undergone a half-million dollar renovation, the property features two deluxe suites, thirty six Regency Club rooms, thirty four premium Regency rooms, and one hundred standard rooms each with private balcony.With a distinctive boutique ambiance, the Regency is a leading choice amongst Miami hotels. Our personalize service; attention to detail, fine dining and independent mind set differentiate us from our competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regency Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.