We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave lots to be desired...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Karlo Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karlo Bakery
1242 Coral Way, Miami, FL 33145
(305) 858-1080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,435 of 3,659 Restaurants in Miami
Restaurant details
Coral Gables
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Leave lots to be desired...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have seen this place packed and busy, now you walk in its empty. The girls behind the counter have no respect for the customers, never smile, never in a good mood. A bakery should have all baked fresh goods at the time they open. Not this place! What happened to baking during the night for the customers? They open the doors and there are no breads on the shelves. You can see all the sweets and cakes from the day before, that never sold! I asked for a baguette with eggs and cheese and she went back and never came back... The owner should make sure the staff is helpful and nice and that they have products to be sold when they open.the business is going down by the day. Terrible, DO NOT recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great guava pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went in for a quick snack/breakfast. My friend had a potato omelet which was more like a slice of quiche. Delicious. I had cafe con leche (average for the area) and the best guava pastry I have ever tasted. It was so loaded with guava that at first I thought that they had made a mistake and given me a ham sandwich. Service was very slow and not the friendliest but I will return for more of their delicious pastries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I tried several desserts to go and share at home and they all were good. Strawberry mouse, Tiramisu, Tres Leches, The location was easy to find. Service was a little rushed, seems like the attendant was in a hurry to go home. Thw spinach pie was good too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favorite pastelitos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Love these pastelitos. The guava ones are great! But my kids and I are crazy about the apple ones! OMG! They usually don't have too many and we end up buying whatever they have. Their breads are yummy, especially the "pan campesino" mountain bread. Will also sometimes pick up a turkey and cheese sandwich on croissant that is good for a quick bite. Love their cafe con leche, cortaditos. We used to buy the tortilla a lot (Spanish omelette) but last time we hot a piece it was a bit fishy. Weird. Speaking of fish... They have good fish croquetas. Pardon the Spanglish. If you're visitng Miami or are a local and have never been to Karlo's please give it a try. Oh... Their cakes and other pastries are all great too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have a coworker that has brought Spanish Omelettes from this bakery, so we took a ride to Miami and decided to buy a few slices of Sausage Spanish Omelette. Needless to say I am a little disappointed. It did not have any taste.

We also had their bread and that was delicious. I have never tried any of the pastries, so I cannot comment on that.

The staff is super friendly.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karlo Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Karlo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karlo Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.