We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer From $169
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Va
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an interesting hotel/apartment. It does need updating, but I loved the retro atmosphere of the hotel. It reminded me to older hotels in NYC. But they need to change carpets, scratched furniture and work on the shower walls. The staff was excellent and the rooms were very clean. What I liked, was the little mall attached to the hotel. You can get all sorts of meals. The shops were good, also. What I didn't like about the hotel was that since we are HH Diamond members, we get a free breakfast. The restaurant they suggested was horrible. I think they could set up a little room in the hotel to serve a European type breakfast or be more specific that there are other restaurants in the little mall who honor the breakfast.

Yes, I gave it only 3 stars for the reasons stated, but I would return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    416
    195
    113
    70
See reviews for
364
349
64
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here one night and one night at the Hilton Miami. The DoubleTree was better by far. The room I received had a spectacular view of the water. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and large.

The gym is on the Gallery Level, which is an actual 3rd party fitness center. Has everything you would need. The Gallery Level is all marble, where as the hotel floors and rooms are a bit outdated (but clean). IE - carpets have some pulls and show wear and tear.

As a Hilton Diamond member you get a breakfast voucher that you redeem at a few restaurants choices adjacent to the hotel. I tried the Italian place and it was fine...nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel itself needs updating the rooms are a little worn but the staff was great and the views of Biscayne Bay were breathtaking! My room was clean. The outside area was noisy but there were many conventions in town.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

STAY AWAY FROM THE GRAND at Doubletree if you are looking for a condo rental in Miami.

We had a short term rental on the condo side and the entire thing was terrible. The "upgraded furnished room" was a dump with Mis matched furniture thrown together and nothing worked. I'm attaching pictures of what this "luxury" 3500 per month unit looks like.

Management at The Grand is frightening. Typical Miami. Rude. Dishonest. Deceptive. Especially Eduardo Goldbaum. He is the Liason for the building that obviously wanted to be somebody important in his life so he pretends to be some sort of cop and president all at once while he is a low level administrative person. Horrible person. Our car was hit and he did nothing about investigating it. When we complained to his boss, he "started a file" on us, as if he was the CIA or something, and indicated that we caused a hit and run as opposed to us being victimized. He's just a scum bag and a liar.

Room was old and filthy, had bed bugs, lights didn't work properly, cabinets falling off. It's just a mess and the building and its workers, especially Eduardo Goldbaum, are really bad people that give the nasty miamians a worse name. Google Pierre Heafey, their boss, and realize the apple doesn't fall far from the tree....

Notice the holes in the walls, the exposed light bulbs due to no fixtures, the lack of a thermostat so they use DUCT TAPE as a thermostat control and the 1970s blood stained mattress in the pics.

Stay away

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights post cruise in March 2015. The hotel is a few floors in a larger building. There is a lobby area which joins on with the nearby Mariott. The hotel is on the bayfront and the views are good but the balcony is tiny and almost unusable. Hotel has no food. Breakfast is a voucher to use in the eating places in the Mall- was OK but only ok. There were a number of independent restaurants in the complex some good, some not so.The hotel was changing over TV suppliers while we were there and there was a lot of noise and some guests had no TV for spells.

We were originally allocated a room on the 6th for which was a mess. Doors falling off cupboards. Went back to reception and asked for another. These rooms were supposed to be the best rooms - junior suites but they were disappointing.

We return to Miami next year and will not stay here - enough said..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel location is terrible nothing in the area s far as night life. After 11-12 o'clock theirs nothing to offer. The front desk could give no suggestion couldn't give actual information on proximity of near by areas. I was told this location was on the beach in the heart of night life this was total deception on Hilton's part. The employees was totally unconcerned. The engineer was the most pleasant person I came in contact. the room phone didnt work the manager basically told me it was me and not the phone. the Engineer came to the confirmed the phone wasn't working properly.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

DON'T let them "upgrade" you to the condo/residences wing. There is no "guest experience" (such as a bedroom alarm clock) and all hotel services are imported from a seperate section of the building. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.