We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hilton Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Kinnelon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Double Tree Hilton Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was definitely a 5 star hotel, for me and my family. We rented a two bedroom condo, equipped with all the appliances and comforts of home. The housekeepers did an amazing job every day, as did the workers, at the front desk and the concierge. Publix supermarket was 1/2 block away, which was a PLUS !!! This hotel was a short drive to the beaches and the South Beach area. I would. def. recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    368
    158
    99
    59
See reviews for
316
298
58
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the amenities and service provided by this hotel. I selecetd it because I am an Hhonors member and it was in the vicinity I wanted to be. Now that I have stayed there, I would return over and over. It was a truly excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel suffers from an identity crisis. It's trying to be too many things to too many people, and not performing well for any sector. The rooms are old, tired, smelly, and with air-conditioners so noisy it's difficult to sleep. The staff is curt, disinterested and unfriendly, and the food is, at best, average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are in the process of renovating the hotel room a/c units I do apologize for the issues you had during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotels staff was very accommodating and very helpful they went above and beyond to make my stay great especially the night audit lady ( i apologize i forgot her name) made sure i was well taken care of . The room looks like it was just remodeled , and was very nice the only downside was the television it seemed not to be connected correctly as most channels did not work and the ac was quite loud sounding like when you first start your car in like 30 second burst or perhaps an old refrigerator that makes the humming noise overall nice and very close to restaurants i will stay here again

Room Tip: I woud recommend a room on the bay side of the hotel as these are quiet but you will have to do the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night because we checked out early ,it was that bad. The first Impression was really nice , the outside of hotel , so I went to check in was given the keys. took the elevator, the room smelled so bad , i called the front desk and she said she can send someone up. The bathroom toliet had mold all around the base. the ceiling was bubbling. So the agent arrived 15 minutes later and says ewh! this is hot and smuggy, the floor appears to have a leak! , i can change your room. Mind you the room change was on the lower floor but, when we got out the elevator we walked around 4 corners to reach the room , we passed 40 doors to get to the elevator. I complained and checked out early the next morning. The second room was not better except it had it had dirty tiles, I sheet had dirt marks on them . so we slept in the other bed. i went to use the iron the next moening . all the setting buttons were broke off, lol . I am done with the DOUBLE TREE BRAND HILTON SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES.

Room Tip: Do not Stay Here, Take the reviews Seriously as I did Not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us, I do apologize for the issues you had and wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Spent 5 days / nights at this property. First impression - dark and dated: everything seems to be brown and there's very little natural light in public areas. Room was actually good - large size with good desk and comfortable bed. It was clean and everything in my room worked (although a friend had a lot of trouble with his TV). I like the sliding balcony doors that allow fresh air in, but it's noisy. There's a 3 AM garbage pickup so you hear the reversing beeps and loud bangs of trash dumpsters and truck (I was on the 8th floor). The air conditioning in the room was very loud. Normally I wouldn't use it but Miami in August is hot and humid so the AC is a must. This ruined what would have been a good sleep in a good bed.

Elevators were quick although the arrow on the key-card was tiny and barely visible without reading glasses on. It took me a few attempts to realize that a small heart shaped picture on the other end of the card wasn't the arrow - I had been inserting the card upside down because of that. This hotel has no restaurant of its own but is attached to a condo, another hotel and a small shopping mall. Again, the color scheme of it all all was very dark to me, giving a dreary impression. By the end of one day there I was ready to leave and but for meetings in the building, I would have switched to another hotel.

Front desk staff was friendly but obviously not into their work or understaffed. Several calls to the front desk went unanswered, an experience one of my friends also had. The printer in the business center only worked if you used the local computers. The email print facility didn't work at all and error messages on the printer led me to believe it just wasn't working. That didn't change for 3 days.

Overall - not impressed. This place is well past its prime. I think this is my last stay at a Doubletree. It would seem to be Hilton's version of putting an old hotel out to pasture.

Room Tip: The higher the room number the further from the elevator and the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good location and service. Nice view,clean sheets and bathroom. This is not a new hotel, furnitures were a bit worn and air condition not too quiet . Overall it was good for the money I payed and will probably stay there next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.