We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Doubletree with Bay View Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Doubletree with Bay View Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Decent clean rooms. We had a room with the Bay View. Very close to Miami Beach. 20 minutes from University of Miami. We flew into Fort Lauderdale and the drive to the hotel was not bad - 35 minutes or so. Several choices for food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Rajan613, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I do hope that you enjoyed your time with us and that you'll choose to return for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    331
    144
    93
    57
See reviews for
291
269
54
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed for one night and I enjoyed my time there. The staff was great and it was in a great location. There is also a nice sushi restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was great as well and nicely priced. I didn't get to check out the gym and pool area but my friends said it was great as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Catrice J, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My bf & I decided to stay at a Suite for one night before we left Miami. The view and suite was amazing! With a luxurious feel, from the bathroom to the bed and balcony view we were extremely satisfied. The pool was also great with a beautiful view of the bay and yachts. the hotel has a ground floor with many shops and spas. I highly recommend this place and I will definitely come back to Doubletree. Me and my obsession with suites. ♥♥

Room Tip: Choose a suite! Best experience for your stay, guaranteed cleanliness, spacious, ultimate sleep qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
softembrace, thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the suite you booked as well as our pool. We look forward to having you back with us for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a truly horrendous experience with this hotel, staff pretty much either totally ignore everything you say or deny you even told them there was an issue, even though there are 3 of you there as witnesses! Terrible clean in the bathroom and the furniture in the bedroom looked banged up, dilapidated and we all said (there were 3 of us staying in two rooms) that it almost felt like the upkeep just hadn't been bothered with and that the place had just been let go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Rich T, I'm sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are in the process of making major changes to the hotel rooms & interior hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

So, while on vacation in Florida we decided to take a road trip down to Miami having never been before. After a little search on TA and previous experience of the DoubleTree brand from Hilton, we decided it would be a safe bet. Unfortunately, it wasn't great and we left feeling quite unhappy.

Location:
Let's start on a positive - it is right in the bay and literally takes just 20mins (by cab costing about $15-20) to reach Ocean Drive. not much in the immediate area - a lot of construction work, but we were assured it is because they are redeveloping the area - fine as our needs were mainly South Beach.

Rooms:
Seemed perfectly pleasant upon first glance, TV - coffee - bay view and a balcony all great features. Then you start to notice the general upkeep isn't necessarily that great including some tired looking furniture and peeling wallpaper.

Air conditioning:
Odd thing to highlight but we had to turn it off totally just to get some sleep - either it was broken or the oldest unit - making a horrible noise. Even after complaining, nothing was done to even attempt fixing it.

Service:
Another thing that let the hotel down was the level of service that was provided - it seemed that generally anything beyond a simple greeting and performing checking in duties seemed a big ask. These bad experiences included a general 'not-my-problem' attitude and even hanging up on us during a phone conversation, about an issue with the room next door having a party.

Altogether - we would not stay here again - as convenient in location as it is, there are plenty of hotels in the same area to choose from. That said, the beds were VERY comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Things to look out for... - Valet parking always a convenience - but at $30 a day be sure to budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Marcus L, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us however I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Miami. We're always in the process of trying to improve our hotel and are working on improving the rooms as well as other areas of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is typical Doubletree with the arrival cookie. Most staff were helpful. Rooms are nice. Shares building with condo development so lots of traffic. Parking as in any city is high$29/day. Great pool AC was very noisy and difficult to control

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
travelling4fun18, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your DoubleTree welcome cookie as well as your stay with us. I hope that you choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, room was clean and bedding was comfortable as well. I liked that the shower and sink areas were separate and very nice looking. Only complaint was the a/c was loud and it blew right on to you as you lay on the bed, and obviously I don't know if all the rooms were like that. There was no way to redirect the air flow but other than that it was all good. The lobby area was very nice and has shops, restaurants, a deli good for breakfast and some fast food, bar areas and spirits. If you never went outside you would have everything you needed right within. There is a Publix Supermarket a block away which adds to convenience We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.