We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel/condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Huge hotel/condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nicely decorated large room with bidet. Our balcony overlooked the boat harbor, but they could use a good cleaning. The hotel has a shopping mall!, doggy daycare and a few restaurants. Primo's restaurant on the main floor near the entrance was excellent the night we went. It is very nice and Italian. The hotel has a nice large outdoor pool and 4 hot tubs, and sits on the edge of the boat harbor. It also has a spa and a nicely sized gym. We took the "Hop on Hop off" bus tour of Miami which was great! We took one that showed us Miami downtown and the other was South Beach.

Room Tip: We had a long walk from the elevators to get to our room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    387
    171
    105
    62
See reviews for
336
319
61
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I checked into the Doubletree Biscayne Bay for a 5 night stay during a business trip. The front desk staff were courteous and nice, but the hotel was standard at best. I was originally told the hotel was oversold and that I was on a waitlist since I booked through Expedia. After a call to Expedia, in which they told me they would contact the hotel, a room became available in about 10 minutes. The standard room was a little small, but the balcony was nice. The furniture was a little worn and starting to show it's age. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I had to call twice because housekeeping did not clean my room, even though I was gone each day from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm. Room service was on time, but the food was not very good, and the service did not include a glass of water or a roll with the salad. The coffee mugs provided do not fit under the coffee maker. Coffee and toiletry items were not replenished by housekeeping. The hotel takes up a few floors in the condo building, so the pool and fitness area are shared by condo residents, which made both areas quite crowded at times. There is a nice galleria attached to the hotel that has some shops and restaurants, which were quite good and reasonably priced. The hotel was in a good location right on the bay, but the hotel staff were not very helpful in providing information on restaurants, nearby attractions, or transportation options. I could hear every little thing in my room--people on their balconies, people in the hallway, planes going by, etc., which made it hard to get a good night's sleep. There was a water leak on the 7th and 8th floors which made everything a little musty. Two of the three computers in the business center were not working. I had no big problems with the hotel, but with all of the little things that went wrong, I will not stay here on my next trip to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here prior to a cruise. Very clean. Good location. Good views of the bay from balcony. Friendly staff. Try a sandwich from the deli on first floor. If you have time before or after a cruise, the Big Bus company nearby offers 1 1/2hour tours of Miami or Miami beach

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my second stay at the Doubletree Grand on the Bay. I love this place. Metro-mover rail and Trolly bus stops near the front door -- both free ways to get around downtown. The main desk staff was warm and welcoming on every shift. The view of the bay and the port is amazing.

TIP: ask for a room as high as possible (8-9-10) for the best view of the port and cruise ships.
TIP: pay the extra$ for the bayfront balcony room (vs. the cityview)

Our bayfront balcony room was incredibly spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The room furniture is outdated but functional and clean. I love the mall on the lower level with the minimart, deli, Starbucks, and sports bar. We walked over to the connected Marriott hotel and had lunch on the waterfront -- also very good.

We arrived to the hotel very early (11am) after getting off our cruise ship ($13 taxi fare form the port). I expected our room NOT to be ready and I expected to have to wait. I didn't care because the pool area is SO fantastic. It was a beautiful, warm day and we just hung our by the pool for a few hours. The front desk staff said our room should be ready in "a couple of hours - around 1pm" But at 3PM our room was still not ready. Apparently there was a housekeeping crisis on another floor in the building which caused the delay in our room being ready. The staff appologized profusely, but I was tired and getting annoyed, thinking about how much I was paying for this room that I was only going to be in until 5am the next morning, due to an early flight. When I mentioned to the front desk staff that it really was a shame that I was paying so much to stay in my room for only 12 hours, she came up with an open room quickly. I was very happy with the room, once we were settled in. I was even more happy when the manager called my room and told me they were going to SIGNIFICANTLY discount my room charge for being so patient during their "housekeeping crisis." $$ discount always makes me happy.

Kudos: front desk staff, pool and hot tub, large clean rooms, great view, warm cookies

Downers: room not ready when promised and one homeless man begging for money at 5am when my family was getting in the taxi to leave ( I hope he enjoyed the Doubletree cookies my son gave him).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my third stay in the last three years. Friendly and very helpful service. We got a free room upgrade to a suite in the upper level with balcony and great view to the Biscayne Bay. The only thing to complain about is the wifi which costs $10 per day and device!

Room Tip: Rooms with Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Roger H, thank you for being a repeat guest and for your review of the hotel. Glad to hear that you were able to get an upgrade and enjoy the view of Biscayne Bay. I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Flew into Miami a day earlier than planned due to a storm and couldn't get into the Hilton Downtown (where our meeting was) so stayed here for one night. The Doubletree is on the bay and the Hilton is one block inland. I liked the Doubletree better. The room was comparable but the view was much nicer and the feel was more elegant and personable. Part of the buildining is the hotel and part seems to be condos. There is an adjacent mall which had five restaurants all of which seem to be associated with the Doubletree. One, Casablanca on the Bay, was right on the water with great views, outside seating and a great menu. I liked it so much I ate three meals there. The breakfast was really good and a bargain compared to most hotel breakfasts. The workout room was well equiped. There is a park next door and the walking was easy and felt safe. There was easy access to the metro mover which gave free transportation down to the river and bayfront area. You can catch a $2 bus to South Beach just half a block away. Actually I walked to the beach as the causeway goes right by the hotel. I will definitely stay here prior to our next cruise out of Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Paradocs22, thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm happy that you were able to stay with us as a room wasnt available at your original hotel. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and were able to experience Casablanca's which is a great restaurant within the building. Looking foward to having you back for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good location!Great service!Located across Galleria Mall and one block from the beach having a Marina in the backside!Perfect!Stayed a week and it seemed only one day had passed,time flew.Strongly recommend to anyone visiting the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Marita M, thank you for staying with us and I'm glad to hear that you really enjoyed your week long stay. I hope your next visit to Miami you choose to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.