We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Doubletree Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily
Ranked #43 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay at Doubletree Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great views of the bay and a large room. Seems a bit older but overall a good place to stay. Attended a conference at the Hilton that can be accessed by a sky bridge that links the hotels. Also plenty of places to eat in attached retail space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bill R, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the conference you were in town attending. We appreciate that you took the time to review the hotel and do hope that you'll choose to stay with us again next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice property with clean rooms and nice entry and lobby area. Has shopping area on main floor with stores, doggie spa, restaurants and mini deli/convenience store. Stayed in 2 bedroom condo with wall of windows, beautiful view and nice amenities. Housekeeping was perfect. Fast elevators. Like location, was close to public and free transportation across the street (trolley) and a couple blocks away (people mover). Easy to get around. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEDebK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
NEDebK, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy some of the amenities in the building. We hope that you'll stay with us again next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Useful stop before/after a cruise .Location is excellent for port and for airport so widely used by people for short stops. Bus depot is round the corner (for those with no car), so easy to get to the shops and sights of South Beach for a stroll along the beach and beach cafes...(wide choice).
Service is excellent, rooms are OK ..probably need a refurbishment soon, so don't pay top dollars.
Breakfast a bit hit or miss depending on the number of conventions staying at any one time. Hot food IS on order though they don't seem to advertise it...pushing you to the buffet and some tired offerings...Pool setting and location is good but an upgrade is now needed...
It does the job, but it is not Miami Beach...

Room Tip: Forget the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wemyss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
wemyss1, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the excellent service you received and also regarding our need for room improvements. We have finished one project and will begin working on another upgrading of the rooms project very soon. We hope that you'll come back and see us again after our next renovation project is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The furnishings are "falling apart" - this hotel is in a bad need of refurbishing. Room service arrived late - only 1/2 order was sent. I traveled on business and expected to get a good night sleep before my next day of full day meeting, not in this hotel. There was a party going on in a private room from about 12:30 - 2:30+ AM, no amount of banging on the wall was going to quiet the party.

Room Tip: My double queen was a nice size and had a sofa bed; however the room was a bit dirty and badly "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Frequent T, sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the room service issues, they are an outsourced operation and we have spoken with them about making sure the service time improves greatly. We are also in the process of beginning renovations in hotel rooms to replace soft goods and some of the furnishings as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just like the title says "comfortable and clean". This hotel was booked for a night just before a cruise. I found it rather expensive for the area that it is in. Everything is a good half hour walk to the markets, restaurants. And I was never able to get internet in the room (had to pay) called down they sent a tech up and still wasn't able to get me to connect. Was told to give the provider a call or use the computers in the business room. You would think at 300 a night, they would at least include free internet in the hotel room.
Other then that, the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. It was nice to have a balcony to sit and have a coffee and a smoke in the morning without leaving your room. Check in was extremely quick, which is great after flying for hours. You just want to get into your room and relax. All the staff were friendly and happy to help. The pool is on the roof top, it is clean, and heated. They also have four hot tubs that is located off to the side and away from the pool for some quiet time away from the kids playing. The restaurants on site were very good, and reasonably priced. a small shopping area is attached to the hotel where you can get some munchies and drinks and bring it back to your room. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Jace898, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your remarks regarding our staff. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room as well. I apologize for the issues you experienced with the internet not working properly in your room. I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

first of all the hotel is in a massive apartment complex titled "the grand" this hotel/condo combination was not a good idea from the start and cause inconveniences to both the permanent residents and the hotel guests, also it is combined with a massive noisy mall which i will talk about later. first the room was not ready on time which wasn't a big deal but we noticed that the decent lobby for "the grand" was not the hotel lobby and the hotel lobby was little more than a small room with a desk, when we went to our room we noticed that the hotel only occupied the first four floors on top of the large mall of the building while "the grand" occupied the tall tower so my high floor request was a bust, it was also interesting how there was a Bidet in the bathroom the first time i have ever seen one, but at night there was a large party event below our room with sent a constant loud beet into the room because we were on the lowest hotel floor this kept us up until 1 am when the music stopped, we were also a little late for our cruise the next day. the pool was on the skylobby 10'th floor which was also combined with "the grand" thats right you share the pool! but the view was even better than our room we also peeked into the condo atrium and it was way nicer with fountains and everything, over all not an enjoyable pre-cruise experience will look for other hotels in miami next time.

Room Tip: ask for 9th floor the rooms are taller and feel bigger also the view is better, most rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterPaulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
CarterPaulson, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay with us. We are always striving to improve our service and please our guests but unfortunately somethings we cannot control. Yes, the hotel does share the building with condo residents and we do share the pool and fitness center with the residents as well. For the most part, there arent any major issues but I do apologize for the loud noise that kept you up late and not meeting your expectations. I wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My Husband and I recently drove to Miami to cruise for ten days and decided to take advantage of the park and cruise program that the Doubletree offers. We spent one night there. Since parking at the cruise docks is $20.00 per day, this was a deal! The room was beautiful with wall to wall windows overlooking the inlet and check in was easy and efficient. Upon completion of our cruise, we took a taxi over to the Hilton and our car was brought to us in less than ten minutes. They did not charge us to take us to the cruise dock either. We highly recommend the Doubletree hotel and the park and cruise program that they offer.

Room Tip: corner suites have wall to wall windows and two beautiful balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pudge2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
pudge2028, very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our park and cruise package. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Grand Suites. We hope that you'll choose to come back and stay with us for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,832 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Conrad Miami
#8 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing