We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 130 hotels in Miami
bolivar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miami 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Doubletree Hotel is offered on our Royal Holiday plan. It is a really nice hotel, but I was late booking the reservation so we we had some construction outside our window. The hotel has access to a mall with a few shops and restaurants, so meals were handy. It is also close to the free elevated train, so travel is fairly easy to Miami Heat's arena, Bayside Market, and Mary Brickell Village. The trolly ride home was free, as well.

Room Tip: During 2013, try to avoid the section where workmen are redoing balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
alicetope, thank you for your review of the hotel. I apologize for the work that obstructed your view from the hotel room, the work project is completed so next time you'll have an unobstructed view from your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    312
    130
    85
    56
See reviews for
264
258
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed overnight for a cruise leaving the next morning and were very pleased with the hotel and accommodations. The check-in staff were very prompt and professional and our room was neat and very clean with a very comfortable bed and gorgeous view of the bay. Our room was very quiet and the hotel is very convenient to the Port of Miami as well as many restaurants and bars. We definitely benefitted from having the extra sink and vanity area outside the bathroom, in addition to the full sink/vanity in the bathroom. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jenn R, thank you for your review of the hotel and for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed your hotel room. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got married this weekend on a cruise leaving out of the port of Miami. We stayed at the Doubletree on Friday night. We had a large group and had reserved/held 20 rooms well in advance with their group sales department.
The sales dept did a wonderful job, especially Jessica Rosario and Ajla accommodating our guests. They arranged for a shuttle service to take 38 of our guests to the port at a reasonable rate and offered to provide them with breakfast vouchers also at a good price.
We had a beautiful bay suite overlooking the marina and we could actually see the cruises ships arriving to the port. Not only did the sales dept upgrade our room for the evening they also upgraded several of our guests.
Service was very responsive. A lamp blew over because we had both patio doors open and the bulb broke. We called and they immediately had a team up clearing the broken glass. We were very impressed. They didn't get upset or complain. They cleaned it for us and went on their way. Great service.
The only negative was a super long wait for room service the morning of departure, a few of our guests actually had to cancel their order due to our time constraints. The dinner waiter also gave us a hard time about splitting up the check, told us gratuity was not included when it was on the checks and generally gave mediocre service.
I like to be honest on trip advisor but overall for having as large of a party as we had everyone was extremely happy about their stay. The room was in great condition and we heard from our families that their rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
fultonc, congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you as well for your kind remarks about the sales department and Jessica and Ajla. I do apologize for the poor service you received while waiting for breakfast in the morning. We are working with the management company of the restaurant to rectify their service issues. We do hope that you'll choose to stay with us while in Miami again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEVELAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

With the exception of the pricey parking, This Hotel was simply amazing! Beautiful views from almost any room in the hotel. 5 Min from south Beach! can we say yaaay!! The bathroom has a bodai (yessss) But the staff is better than the room.....that came with 55inch LG Tv. (YESSSS REALLY) Cathedral ceiling...Spacious room comes with a fridge. Microwave $10 (ugh) Very Large Balcony....Love this Hotel! I hope I spell her name right. Customer service rep. Jachill I believe...Went up, Up, Up, and Above, to help us celebrate Our 10th Anniversary! She Rocks seriously

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is just so-so, room service not great, but comfortable bed and nice view of the bay. However, the nightclub or whatever it is at the hotel is SO LOUD that my room is literally shaking from the bass in the music. I called security and was told this goes on until 11pm (this on a weekday night). Given that DoubleTree caters to business travelers, this is completely unacceptable. There needs to be significant soundproofing done in order to make this a hotel any business traveler could stay at unless you are deaf.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
AMS37, thank you for staying with us and for your review. I do apologize for the event that you was very loud. There is a new restaurant that opened up and had a grand opening, which was the cause of the loud music you heard. I apologize again and assure you that this was a one time event as we do not have a night club within the building. I do hope that you will give us another chance to make up for your less than perfect stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Good location for arena, Adrienne Arshe Center, Bayside shopping, and port. Easy access to causeway to Miami Beach. We had a view of Biscayne Bay.
Room and bed were fine. Clean. Expensive area to stay in.
Hotel dining not so great.
Hotel is part of a complex with an apt. Bldg. Concierges were very helpful.
Altogether it was fine but should be for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
natalie8381, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your time and will choose to stay with us again next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for seminar this weekend. The AC in out first room didn't work. They immediately moved us and upgraded to a port view room with a large open shower at no additional cost. Security brought us new keys. Took them all of 10 minuets. Great friendly service throughout entire hotel. Hotel connected to a small shopping area for economical snacks, lunches and breakfast. Primos is best resturant.

Negatives: no free shuttle from airport. Parking 30.00 a day. Lots of walking to get around hotel. Meeting rooms were ice cold.

Positives: one most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Nice view. Lunch at hotel with seminar was exceptional. Trolley to mall close by for shopping. Choclate cookies upon arrival. Large room.

If at all possible fly into fort Lauderdale. Miami International is one big pain in the rear. You will need an hour almost to return rental car and walk to your terminal. That's before you check in and go through security.

Nice hotel for a seminar but I don't care for the traffic and so many people in one place. I much prefer the Gulf.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
scott1102, thank you for your comments regarding the great service you received. Always nice to hear that, also glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments about the hotel and staff. Safe travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.