We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are there for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer From $169
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are there for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good location for arena, Adrienne Arshe Center, Bayside shopping, and port. Easy access to causeway to Miami Beach. We had a view of Biscayne Bay.
Room and bed were fine. Clean. Expensive area to stay in.
Hotel dining not so great.
Hotel is part of a complex with an apt. Bldg. Concierges were very helpful.
Altogether it was fine but should be for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
natalie8381, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your time and will choose to stay with us again next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    416
    196
    113
    70
See reviews for
366
349
64
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for seminar this weekend. The AC in out first room didn't work. They immediately moved us and upgraded to a port view room with a large open shower at no additional cost. Security brought us new keys. Took them all of 10 minuets. Great friendly service throughout entire hotel. Hotel connected to a small shopping area for economical snacks, lunches and breakfast. Primos is best resturant.

Negatives: no free shuttle from airport. Parking 30.00 a day. Lots of walking to get around hotel. Meeting rooms were ice cold.

Positives: one most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Nice view. Lunch at hotel with seminar was exceptional. Trolley to mall close by for shopping. Choclate cookies upon arrival. Large room.

If at all possible fly into fort Lauderdale. Miami International is one big pain in the rear. You will need an hour almost to return rental car and walk to your terminal. That's before you check in and go through security.

Nice hotel for a seminar but I don't care for the traffic and so many people in one place. I much prefer the Gulf.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
scott1102, thank you for your comments regarding the great service you received. Always nice to hear that, also glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments about the hotel and staff. Safe travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were fortunate to have booked a large suite with a bay view so our room was huge if a little dated. The view was amazing. The hotel itself is in need of renovation and is shabby in areas. The rooftop pool is very nice. We ate in the little Italian restaurant below which was very good. Also the free trolley bus stops outside the hotel and was very good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Donna0209, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your bayview room and thank you for your comments as well. We are going to be replacing the carpeting in the majority of the hotel rooms that have not received it as well as replacing some of the decor in the rooms. Hopefully you'll be able to come back and experience it once we are finished with everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am a Hilton Diamond member and recently had the displeasure of staying here. A total rip-off for $235/night. The rooms are small. The counters in the bathrooms are designed for very short people. I had to bend down to reach my toiletries. The fan speed on the air conditioning cannot be adjusted. It only works on a high speed in auto mode. When it is on it blows on you in bed. When I checked in the room light and a lamp didn't work. Housekeeping didn't leave shampoo in the bathroom. The hallways need to fixed up. The paint is scrapped in many places and there are many patches on the wallpaper.

I left my business card with the front desk and asked the manager to call me. He has not had the courtesy to do so. I moved to the Hilton across the street for my second night in Miami. It is a far better choice.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
ctlakehouse, thank you for being a HHonors Diamond member and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are going to replace the wallpaper in the hallways as it has taken quite a beating over the past few years. Again, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself but thank you for your comments as we are always striving to improve our hotel product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed recently in Miami for the BCS, had a reservation at the Hilton, but after reading the reviews at the Doubletree, decided to switch reservation. As a Diamond member was upgraded to a two bedroom with 2 and a half bathrooms, kitchen fully equipped, dining and living all in a corner with down to ceiling glass with a beautiful of Biscayne bay. Downstairs you have restaurants, bar and even a mini market with everything you need and if you want to shop for groceries, you have a Publix two blocks from the hotel!

Room Tip: do not stay in room 3657, the have coin operated washers and dryers that are loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
MiaMobile, thank you for being a HHonors Diamond Member and for choosing to stay with us for your trip to Miami. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your condo and hope that you enjoyed the BCS game, we hope that you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I didnt expect terrific service after the first phone call to them took 15 rings before someone answered. The answers to my questions needed to be prodded out of them, rather than answered quickly and expanded. BUT>>>

We had a very nice 2 bedroom condo with a living room, dining room and full kitchen, 2 full baths. TVs in the Bedrooms were old, but there was a plasma in the living room. Overlooking the bay and park, unit 4136. Clean, contained all of the amenities. Close to a park that has 2 public tennis courts ( that were empty most of the time), 2 sand volleyball courts and a basektball court. The building is VERY pet friendly and the restaurant was pretty good too. Overall a very pleasant experience, I'd return again, but anticipate so so service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Phil M, thank you for staying with us and for your review of the hotel. I'm very sorry to hear about the service issue you experienced during your stay with us. I've mentioned this to my front office manager about the number of rings before your call was answered. Again I apologize for this but I'm glad to hear that you did enjoy the condo you stayed in while with us. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a few days over Xmas and went to a Heat game with the 2 boys. It is a perfect location to see a game and the 2 bedroom suite was spacious and luxurious. We left one of my son's iPad behind which was found by the housekeeping department. I want to single out Mariano who arranged a FedEx of the item back to me. The honesty and. Integrity of the staff only enhanced the visit. Sobe is only a short cab ride away and the facilities were outstanding. I would definitely return. Wonderful spot and views

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Johnnyboyz, thank you for your comments regarding Mariano and the rest of our staff. I'm so glad to hear Mariano was able to assist you in getting your son's iPad back to you after leaving it behind. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.