We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 129 hotels in Miami
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for seminar this weekend. The AC in out first room didn't work. They immediately moved us and upgraded to a port view room with a large open shower at no additional cost. Security brought us new keys. Took them all of 10 minuets. Great friendly service throughout entire hotel. Hotel connected to a small shopping area for economical snacks, lunches and breakfast. Primos is best resturant.

Negatives: no free shuttle from airport. Parking 30.00 a day. Lots of walking to get around hotel. Meeting rooms were ice cold.

Positives: one most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Nice view. Lunch at hotel with seminar was exceptional. Trolley to mall close by for shopping. Choclate cookies upon arrival. Large room.

If at all possible fly into fort Lauderdale. Miami International is one big pain in the rear. You will need an hour almost to return rental car and walk to your terminal. That's before you check in and go through security.

Nice hotel for a seminar but I don't care for the traffic and so many people in one place. I much prefer the Gulf.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
scott1102, thank you for your comments regarding the great service you received. Always nice to hear that, also glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments about the hotel and staff. Safe travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    320
    140
    90
    57
See reviews for
281
264
51
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were fortunate to have booked a large suite with a bay view so our room was huge if a little dated. The view was amazing. The hotel itself is in need of renovation and is shabby in areas. The rooftop pool is very nice. We ate in the little Italian restaurant below which was very good. Also the free trolley bus stops outside the hotel and was very good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Donna0209, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your bayview room and thank you for your comments as well. We are going to be replacing the carpeting in the majority of the hotel rooms that have not received it as well as replacing some of the decor in the rooms. Hopefully you'll be able to come back and experience it once we are finished with everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am a Hilton Diamond member and recently had the displeasure of staying here. A total rip-off for $235/night. The rooms are small. The counters in the bathrooms are designed for very short people. I had to bend down to reach my toiletries. The fan speed on the air conditioning cannot be adjusted. It only works on a high speed in auto mode. When it is on it blows on you in bed. When I checked in the room light and a lamp didn't work. Housekeeping didn't leave shampoo in the bathroom. The hallways need to fixed up. The paint is scrapped in many places and there are many patches on the wallpaper.

I left my business card with the front desk and asked the manager to call me. He has not had the courtesy to do so. I moved to the Hilton across the street for my second night in Miami. It is a far better choice.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
ctlakehouse, thank you for being a HHonors Diamond member and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are going to replace the wallpaper in the hallways as it has taken quite a beating over the past few years. Again, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself but thank you for your comments as we are always striving to improve our hotel product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed recently in Miami for the BCS, had a reservation at the Hilton, but after reading the reviews at the Doubletree, decided to switch reservation. As a Diamond member was upgraded to a two bedroom with 2 and a half bathrooms, kitchen fully equipped, dining and living all in a corner with down to ceiling glass with a beautiful of Biscayne bay. Downstairs you have restaurants, bar and even a mini market with everything you need and if you want to shop for groceries, you have a Publix two blocks from the hotel!

Room Tip: do not stay in room 3657, the have coin operated washers and dryers that are loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
MiaMobile, thank you for being a HHonors Diamond Member and for choosing to stay with us for your trip to Miami. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your condo and hope that you enjoyed the BCS game, we hope that you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I didnt expect terrific service after the first phone call to them took 15 rings before someone answered. The answers to my questions needed to be prodded out of them, rather than answered quickly and expanded. BUT>>>

We had a very nice 2 bedroom condo with a living room, dining room and full kitchen, 2 full baths. TVs in the Bedrooms were old, but there was a plasma in the living room. Overlooking the bay and park, unit 4136. Clean, contained all of the amenities. Close to a park that has 2 public tennis courts ( that were empty most of the time), 2 sand volleyball courts and a basektball court. The building is VERY pet friendly and the restaurant was pretty good too. Overall a very pleasant experience, I'd return again, but anticipate so so service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Phil M, thank you for staying with us and for your review of the hotel. I'm very sorry to hear about the service issue you experienced during your stay with us. I've mentioned this to my front office manager about the number of rings before your call was answered. Again I apologize for this but I'm glad to hear that you did enjoy the condo you stayed in while with us. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a few days over Xmas and went to a Heat game with the 2 boys. It is a perfect location to see a game and the 2 bedroom suite was spacious and luxurious. We left one of my son's iPad behind which was found by the housekeeping department. I want to single out Mariano who arranged a FedEx of the item back to me. The honesty and. Integrity of the staff only enhanced the visit. Sobe is only a short cab ride away and the facilities were outstanding. I would definitely return. Wonderful spot and views

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Johnnyboyz, thank you for your comments regarding Mariano and the rest of our staff. I'm so glad to hear Mariano was able to assist you in getting your son's iPad back to you after leaving it behind. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our room on the 9th floor was nice....not the view, but the bed was great. Shower, towels...very nice. The carpet needs to be replaced quickly. The room had a big flat screen TV and the room looked updated (except the carpet). The pool and 4 large jacuzzi/hot tubs were the best! I didnt care for the fact that this hotel is connected to a condo that is primairly made up of older couples who walked their little dogs all of the time. The hotel is in a quiet area...you needed to take a cab, bus or free trolley to see the sights. All of the people who worked there were very nice. The area is very multicultural...people were very helpful and full of ideas on the best places to go to. There is a great little sushi place next to this hotel...open til 3am. GREAT food! Ate there 3 nights in a row! The A/C was loud and woke us up a few times each night. 2 days the ice maker on our floor did not work. We did have a coffee maker (Wolfgang Puck) and fridge in our room. Would of liked a microwave. The view was bad. I like to be able to open windows and let fresh air in...they were doing some type of construction...we looked at old balcolny with old planters.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Kimberly574, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of the hotel. I apologize for the loudness of the a/c in your room, I hope it did not disturb your stay with us too much. Regarding the opening of windows in the rooms, we are almost done with a renovation project to provide accessible balconies to most of our deluxe room types. Hopefully you will stay with us again so you can experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.