We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good room layouts, terrible location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, good room layouts, terrible location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

As a long-time HHonors member, I want to start out with the positives. The staff at this hotel --from the front desk to the parking guys to the housekeepers -- are tremendous. My room was also good -- a junior suite with a little balcony. Over the loading dock and with no sun at any time of day, but since I booked a smoking room I can't complain. Acually greatful I was able to book a room that permitted smoking close to my meetings in Miami Beach.

But the property is very very tired. The rooms are dark and dated, with beat up furniture and old carpeting. The exception is the beds -- they are fresh and comfortable, and even this smoking room does not smell. Even so, from the decor you'd think you were in an airport hotel. Not good. Needs updating badly.

The worst thing is the locaton. There is nothing within walking distance of this hotel. The shopping area connected to the hotel is gruesome, dark, and a little creepy. There is a deli, but it's also not very appealing. You really need to get in a car to get anywhere you'd probably like to go, thereby incuring addtional parking fees (and parking here is pricey -- $29/night) and the inevitable Miami tolls. BTW, keep in mind that when they tell you the "hotel across the street" charges the same for parking, they're refering to the Hilton, part of the same chain.

In short, I'm disapointed in the property but very satisfied with the service provided.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello deborah n, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff at the hotel, I appreciate that very much. Regarding your comments about the hotel room, we are in the process of installing new carpeting and changing some of the soft good materials as well. We hope to be finished by the end of the summer which will provide us with an almost new hotel room product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    344
    152
    95
    57
See reviews for
304
280
55
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hilton Doubletree was very good. Clean, convenient, great staff, rooms are amazing, views on the harbor side are incredible. The hotel is almost perfect, just a couple of things that were at fault, but they are minor. There are no fridges in the rooms. I wanted a drink of water, none there, but I went and bought a bottle but couldn't chill it. The maids were coming around at 7:45am to clean the rooms, a little annoying. Lastly there is no breakfast facility, and so your only choice around are a couple of very very average cafes in the lobby retail area. That was the biggest disappointment. Apart from that it was perfect. I would definitely stay again and great value for money compared to what you get in South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi denirokeane, thank you for your review of the hotel and for staying with us as well. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and regarding the minor issues you addressed. We've actually taken care of recently. We just had mini refrigerators installed in all of the hotel rooms. Also, another breakfast venue just opened up which has a full breakfast buffet each morning open to hotel guests. Now we have three options for breakfast for all hotel guests and condo residents as well. We hope you'll come back to enjoy these new features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here for a night before a cruise. We had a King Bay-view room and it was exactly as expected. Large room, comfy bed. Balcony overlooking the marina. We took the people mover to Bayside and had an awesome night out. There is a small "mall" attached with some shopping and a grocery store where we could stock up on items for the cruise (booze too!) Cab ride to the port in the morning was about $12. Would recommend this one to anyone needing a room before a cruise.

Room Tip: Bay-view rooms have a nice view of the marina and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi Jaasond, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us the night before your cruise. Hope you had a great cruise and hope to see you back before your next cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in a mini suite at this Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay in January 2012. The hotel is hard to find as the signs are not clear. Only has valise parking. Rooms are huge and luxurious. I really object to paying top rates for hotels which then charge extra for wifi and parking when cheaper hotels and Hampton Inns do not charge and also give you a free breakfast. I had to move rooms away from the loading dock ramp to the adjacent apartment building as the noise from delivery trucks never stopped. Once in the new room all was good.

Room Tip: Do not take a room above the loading dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello cad307, thank you for your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor and for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our spacious condos during your stay with us. We hope to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked this hotel to be close to the boat show in Miami, not realizing that the majority of the show was on Collins Ave and the Convention Center. The transportation to the other boat locations was very good, so we were happy about that. There are a few restaurants nearby, but the majority of the time we took a cab back to South Beach. The hotel room itself showed wear and tear but was roomy and plenty big. We were on the 6th floor overlooking the bay with a corner unit. The view was nice, but an upper floor would have been better. Several things regarding the room were definite problems. First was the annoying hum of the air conditioners at night. This was not just a standard air condition noise; it was very loud and you could feel the vibrations while laying in bed. Obviously, not a good night's sleep. The second issue we had is that our toilet would not flush even toilet paper without a plunger. This was again annoying considering the amount of money we were paying for this room. There are so many other places to stay, I would not spend my time in Miami at this hotel. We usually love Hilton Hotels so this was a major disappointment for us. The only positive I can say is that the bed itself was comfortable (while laying awake listening to the air conditioners) and the cookies were good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi cincyhome, thank you for staying with us during the Miami Boat Show. I apologize for the mis information you may have received as we only have the powerboat portion of the boat show at the Sea Isle Marina behind the hotel. Happy to hear that the transportation was good in getting you to the other sections of the boat show. We are in the process of installing new a/c units as well as other amenities being changed in the hotel rooms. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make up since you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked a king bay view room with a balcony. We had phoned the front desk two or three times, prior to our arrival, to request an early check in as we had a conference to attend. As a silver level hilton honors member, this has never really been a problem. We were told that they were not fully booked the night before and an early check in would be possible. When we arrived, the girls at the front desk recognized us by name and immediately apologized stating we could not have a room early as promised. This really wrecked our plans and we had to roam around for hours. Unfortunately, the pool was closed so we could not hang there and the hotel itself is kind shabby. I ended up hanging out at the Hilton across the street and, if I had known better, would have stayed there as well. The hilton said they would have given me an early check in without such an ordeal as encountered at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello Jerseyker, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to get an early check in to your hotel room. Since early check in is always based upon availability I apologize again for you being promised we could accommodate the request. I've informed my front office manager about this in hopes of preventing a similar situation in the future. I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Poor service from reception to departure. Rooms are equipped with old furniture and noisy air conditioner with ripped carpet and holes in doors where a hook should have been there for towels. Housekeeping skipping room for service. Worse part is: if this is what a Diamond HHonors gets wonder what the general public gets?

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi Grandexplorer, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of changing carpeting in all of our sleeping rooms, as well as revising other features of the rooms. I hope that you will give us a another chance to change your negative impression of the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.