We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel mini suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 130 hotels in Miami
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel mini suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in a mini suite at this Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay in January 2012. The hotel is hard to find as the signs are not clear. Only has valise parking. Rooms are huge and luxurious. I really object to paying top rates for hotels which then charge extra for wifi and parking when cheaper hotels and Hampton Inns do not charge and also give you a free breakfast. I had to move rooms away from the loading dock ramp to the adjacent apartment building as the noise from delivery trucks never stopped. Once in the new room all was good.

Room Tip: Do not take a room above the loading dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello cad307, thank you for your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor and for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our spacious condos during your stay with us. We hope to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    312
    130
    85
    56
See reviews for
264
258
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked this hotel to be close to the boat show in Miami, not realizing that the majority of the show was on Collins Ave and the Convention Center. The transportation to the other boat locations was very good, so we were happy about that. There are a few restaurants nearby, but the majority of the time we took a cab back to South Beach. The hotel room itself showed wear and tear but was roomy and plenty big. We were on the 6th floor overlooking the bay with a corner unit. The view was nice, but an upper floor would have been better. Several things regarding the room were definite problems. First was the annoying hum of the air conditioners at night. This was not just a standard air condition noise; it was very loud and you could feel the vibrations while laying in bed. Obviously, not a good night's sleep. The second issue we had is that our toilet would not flush even toilet paper without a plunger. This was again annoying considering the amount of money we were paying for this room. There are so many other places to stay, I would not spend my time in Miami at this hotel. We usually love Hilton Hotels so this was a major disappointment for us. The only positive I can say is that the bed itself was comfortable (while laying awake listening to the air conditioners) and the cookies were good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi cincyhome, thank you for staying with us during the Miami Boat Show. I apologize for the mis information you may have received as we only have the powerboat portion of the boat show at the Sea Isle Marina behind the hotel. Happy to hear that the transportation was good in getting you to the other sections of the boat show. We are in the process of installing new a/c units as well as other amenities being changed in the hotel rooms. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make up since you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked a king bay view room with a balcony. We had phoned the front desk two or three times, prior to our arrival, to request an early check in as we had a conference to attend. As a silver level hilton honors member, this has never really been a problem. We were told that they were not fully booked the night before and an early check in would be possible. When we arrived, the girls at the front desk recognized us by name and immediately apologized stating we could not have a room early as promised. This really wrecked our plans and we had to roam around for hours. Unfortunately, the pool was closed so we could not hang there and the hotel itself is kind shabby. I ended up hanging out at the Hilton across the street and, if I had known better, would have stayed there as well. The hilton said they would have given me an early check in without such an ordeal as encountered at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello Jerseyker, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to get an early check in to your hotel room. Since early check in is always based upon availability I apologize again for you being promised we could accommodate the request. I've informed my front office manager about this in hopes of preventing a similar situation in the future. I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Poor service from reception to departure. Rooms are equipped with old furniture and noisy air conditioner with ripped carpet and holes in doors where a hook should have been there for towels. Housekeeping skipping room for service. Worse part is: if this is what a Diamond HHonors gets wonder what the general public gets?

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi Grandexplorer, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of changing carpeting in all of our sleeping rooms, as well as revising other features of the rooms. I hope that you will give us a another chance to change your negative impression of the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here recently and one other time a few years ago. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. There are rooms available with oceanviews that are affordable for the downtown location. This is a great pre-cruise location and it close to the Bayside shopping facility. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hello Adriene H, thank you for your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have used us on more than one occasion for a pre cruise stay. Hope to have you back before your next cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Booked a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo and it was just what we needed for two couples.
Beer/wine downstairs in the shops ($$$$).
MetroMover not far (1 block) which takes you to Bayside Market where you can grab a bite to eat and get some souvenirs if you wish.
Doubletree exceeded my expectation for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi lorijeannj, thank you for the positive TripAdvisor response and for staying with us. Happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our large 2 bedroom condos for your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. Its always nice to hear that our staff did a good job of making you feel welcome. Thank you again and hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for the last two years while attending the Miami Boat Show. For both visits, we stayed in a one bedroom condo with a great view of Biscayne Bay. These units are much more comfortable than a traditional hotel room and come with a large balcony that permits outdoor dining with a gorgeous view.

The Sea Isle Marina portion of the boat show is right out the back door of the hotel, and the bus over to the Miami Convention Center leaves from the Marriott which is right next door.

After a long, full day of pushing to see as much of this enormous boat show as possible, the Doubletree is a very convenient hotel to come home to.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an upgrade to a one bedroom condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi RichmondRoadtripper, thank you for staying with us for the International Miami Boat Show. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your 1 bedroom condo during your stay and got to take in as much of the show as possible whether right downstairs at the Sea Isle Marina or the separate venues. Hope to have you back with us again for next years Boat Show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.